We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off 3 nite Min. Stay
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located fairly close to the city center in a less than average (?) noisy street in San Jose, this good value hotel offers clean and spacious rooms together with a nice pool area. We had a great evening meal at the restaurant and the owner Thomas was very helpful and kind!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Mikael, Nice to have met you and enjoyed a pleasant conversation. Your review is outstanding and we have many European clients do what you did , by staying a few days to adjust and just relax, recharge your batteries and unwind. We assist them with info and planning and off they go for a nice vacation. Again Thank you for the great review ! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    247
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
109
284
120
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We liked this hotel - very reasonably priced, clean, cute rooms and courtyard. We stayed in two of the least expensive rooms and found them to be fine. My husband and son ate at the restaurant and were very pleased with their meals. It is within walking distance to the city center. I think we spent $25 US in cab fare from the airport, so if you don't want to spend time in the city stay in Alajuela.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be a quieter choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola Flyonthewall! Very nice review and wonderful to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, if you have been traveling here for a while and want something other than beans and rice we are the spot! The El Oasis serves great, healthy food in a nice portion at a fair price . Happy Hours from 3 to 7 pm. Thank you for the kind words , Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice and clean hotel in San Jose. Everyone was very nice and very helpful. It is close to everything to the main attractions et the city. The restaurant was closed during our stay and we were not ablr to try it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Christiane, nice and clean hotel is something I think most travelers are looking for especially if it has a good price! Yest the restaurant is closed on Monday, but open all the other days with Happy Hours from 3 pm to 7 pm. Come and enjoy a cold piña colada in the hot jacuzzi! Great Review Thank you very much ! Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located in the city center - Close to main city attractions -
Wonderful staff - Very kind, professional, and helpful staff
I enjoyed the small details of the room and hotel (decoration, traditional furniture, different bedding style every day...) It is indeed "a wonderful hidden gem". I strongly recommend Santo Tomás.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola to Petitetrotteuse, How nice that you commented on the small details, I genuinely appreciate that . I will be sure my staff sees your comments as well. A wonderful hidden gem is as good as it gets , a Big Thank you for these wonderful comments. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a great value in downtown San Jose and our go to place when we are in the area. The workers are very friendly and helpful. It's a very well-maintained, locally operated, small boutique hotel in a good location. There are a few bars and a nice art gallery right in the immediate area. The restaurant has very good food and the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. You can't beat it! The pool and slide are great too!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola Straightup123 from Roundrock, Texas,. love your photo very appropriate for your home towns name! Outstanding review and all of my staff works very hard to keep the place spotless and running smoothly, I thank them here for that. Your comments are really concise and exact and give an excellent description of the hotel. Thank You very much for them ! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When we first pulled up outside the hotel at about 10pm on a Saturday night, we thought the place was closed down and had moved locations. But we rang the buzzer and were treated to a wonderful hidden gem of a hotel in a good location of the city. The staff were very friendly and spoke some english. They even exchanged some money for us that night since the ATMs were closed. The room is nothing fancy, but has kind of an old charm and it was clean with a huge shower. However, the shower curtain was a bit moldy and should be changed. We were there on a slow night in the low season, so noise was not an issue, but if the hotel was busy it would have been loud I think (tile floors, high ceilings, thin walls). But the architecture of the building was such that you could not hear street noise and was relatively quiet and breezy. Breakfast was really good and cooked to order. There was plenty to do and see within walking distance, including bars, restuarants, parks, markets, shopping, etc. We would stay there again for a short trip to San Jose without reservation.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 and it lacked privacy. The window looked out onto the common area and was at face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi KelPag, Great Review Thank You ! Yep looks are deceiving from the outside , wonderful to know that you really enjoyed your self's and would come again, that speaks volumes. Again Thank You from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Located downtown you are within walking distances of many museums and places
You receive a traditional breakfast in the morning
This place is worth the stay. Try it out...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi William, hey thanks for taking the time to give us a great review! Always a pleasure to have our repeat clients return, chew the fat and tell stories !!
Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.