We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a great value in downtown San Jose and our go to place when we are in the area. The workers are very friendly and helpful. It's a very well-maintained, locally operated, small boutique hotel in a good location. There are a few bars and a nice art gallery right in the immediate area. The restaurant has very good food and the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. You can't beat it! The pool and slide are great too!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola Straightup123 from Roundrock, Texas,. love your photo very appropriate for your home towns name! Outstanding review and all of my staff works very hard to keep the place spotless and running smoothly, I thank them here for that. Your comments are really concise and exact and give an excellent description of the hotel. Thank You very much for them ! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    197
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
87
210
92
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When we first pulled up outside the hotel at about 10pm on a Saturday night, we thought the place was closed down and had moved locations. But we rang the buzzer and were treated to a wonderful hidden gem of a hotel in a good location of the city. The staff were very friendly and spoke some english. They even exchanged some money for us that night since the ATMs were closed. The room is nothing fancy, but has kind of an old charm and it was clean with a huge shower. However, the shower curtain was a bit moldy and should be changed. We were there on a slow night in the low season, so noise was not an issue, but if the hotel was busy it would have been loud I think (tile floors, high ceilings, thin walls). But the architecture of the building was such that you could not hear street noise and was relatively quiet and breezy. Breakfast was really good and cooked to order. There was plenty to do and see within walking distance, including bars, restuarants, parks, markets, shopping, etc. We would stay there again for a short trip to San Jose without reservation.

Room Tip: We were in room 11 and it lacked privacy. The window looked out onto the common area and was at face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi KelPag, Great Review Thank You ! Yep looks are deceiving from the outside , wonderful to know that you really enjoyed your self's and would come again, that speaks volumes. Again Thank You from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Located downtown you are within walking distances of many museums and places
You receive a traditional breakfast in the morning
This place is worth the stay. Try it out...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi William, hey thanks for taking the time to give us a great review! Always a pleasure to have our repeat clients return, chew the fat and tell stories !!
Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stay here every time we are in
San Jose. Love the rooms and the historic décor.it is nice just to walk around and look at the hotel. Rooms not rented have the doors left open so you can see inside.This is a treat. The place is spotless and gleaming. The staff are proficient, friendly and go beyond what is required.Hotel is very secure. It is within easy walking distance to interesting shops, different restaurants, and the museam of gold.There is also a restaurant , exercise room, pool & hot tub.It is also reasonably priced for the area. We always recommend this hotel to our friends and they have been happy as well. This place is a treat.

Room Tip: Like every room we have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hola Nerdowell, Always great to have you both return and hear your new stories and adventures in Panama. You know I love what I do and I just gotta keep on polishing up the place. The wood gives off a nice glow. Looking forward to your next visit ! Outstanding review - Thank You ! Happy Trails Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Its an amazing well kept clean ....very clean and beautiful hotel the owner greeted us at the door and gave us so much information that really made the stay more enjoyable. I know when I go back to San Jose Hotel Santo Thomas will be the place to stay. I have recommended to many of my friends that have gone recently and they have been extremely happy with the place.
Love the fact they had a nice size pool and a very cozy hot tub the expansion of the Hotel has its awesome of look of San Jose.
With all honesty in my heart we stayed at The President Hotel and had to check out, the service and management were unfortunately the worst we have ever had going anywhere.

Room Tip: Make your reservation on line and you could see the size rooms that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hola Douglas, Yes that is correct at my hotels web site you get the best price on the net and great information on tours, car rental and other services as well. Fantastic review you have written and a Big Thank You from me! Looking forward to your next visit. Safe Journeys Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights and never regretted our choice. Blocks from downtown but still quiet. A charming old mansion converted into a hotel. Lots of great outdoor space. With a hot tub and pool. Never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood at night. The owner is actively involved and is genuinely interested in making sure you have the best possible trip. The bathroom has hot water and water pressure is great. Wifi was very reliable during our stay. The restaurant wasn't great or anything special, but it was fine. Two quibbles, 1. it would be nice to have a fridge in the room 2. They sell beer and water at the front desk but it's extremely expensive. Walk over to the 24 Hour store on Calle 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Ryan, wonderful review and thank you so much. Yes we are a nice quiet haven from the outside world, but walking distance to everything. Step in and enjoy old world Costa Rica charm. I am working on the restaurant and will continue to make it better. Fine is good so far but not acceptable to me. But still it is a nice convenience to have on site for our guests.
We have trained staff members on site, 24/7 to assist with, tour , car rental and travel service and to assist in any thing else a guest may need, SERVICE is what we do. The rest of your comments are just the BEST, again Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Quiet street, and unexpected accommodations. Felt secure, thanks to the wrought iron gates surrounding the property entrance. Generous bedroom and bathroom room dimensions were spotless. Stayed here our first night in Costa Rica before embarking on wide open adventures. Delicious breakfast prepared to order included with our stay served by the beautiful enclosed pool area. Meet Thomas, the owner, if you can. He will give you amazing insights and pointers!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs, but we hear that upstairs rooms are newer and quieter (ours was quiet during r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hola Kim, WOW your title is great , THANK YOU, and the rest is outstanding as well. I love being there in the morning especially and having a chat with everyone. We try to really do exactly what your title says “Best value, hidden gem in San Jose” in these days of hard times and tight money we all want a deal. Again thank you so much Kim. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.