We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #9 of 85 hotels in San Jose
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in in Costa Rica. I expected poor conditions, as I have heard questionable things about San Jose, but this hotel was clean, charming, friendly staff (the owner helped us rent a car at a phenomenal deal), the pool and jacuzzi were very nice. The location is close to lots of things in a reasonable area of San Jose (we felt pretty safe walking around and exploring). We came here in a group and we all had a wonderful experience.

The staff has obviously been trained to make customer satisfaction their primary consideration. The rooms were clean and nice, but would recommend staying in a room that isn't the absolute cheapest, as for a few dollars more you get a lot nicer and bigger room.

I would recommend this hotel, and if I'm ever back in the San Jose area would try staying here again!

Room Tip: The cheapest room is still nice and clean, however if you want a newly renovated, more spacious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hola to ILoveCostaRicaUsa, Great having you and your family stay with us and it is always rewarding to have children enjoy the pool, Jacuzzi and water slide. That was my daughter’s idea when she was 8 years old. I designed and built it and she was the first one down! You are correct ,the new deluxe rooms upstairs are a great value. And yes customer satisfaction is at the top or our list. Thank You for all of your kind words. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    211
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
222
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my third stay at this lovely hotel June 11-16, 2013. The staff is friendly and they go out of their way to help in any way possible. The restaurant food is great and attractively served. Just because it is not on the menu doesn't mean they can't fix it so just ask them. The room rates are a value and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Dr Nina, Wonderful that you keep coming back, that just says it all! Thank you so much for the great review. Manuel our chef has worked at many different hotels during his 40 plus years of service including the Marriott and Intercontinental! Great value rooms and top service is what we are striving for. Again Nina thanks so much for coming back. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Based my selection on Hotel Santo Tomas on their "home page", but really, after reading so many positive reviews, I was won over. Spent our first 2 nights and our last 2 nights here. My husband and I were delighted with the over-all presentation of the grand old mansion which merged seamlessly with the modern amenities (swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, upper level roof covered patio, restaurant) The reception staff were gracious, warm and very helpful in all our requests. The condition of HST is remarkable, from the hotel itself to the beautiful garden enclosure. It is indeed an "oasis" and a sweet retreat from the hustle of the city. We passed along to others while in C.R. our delight and satisfaction with HST and hope that this review will lead you to their doors.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade from a economy room to one that the window faces the garden enclosure. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi LauraB, What a wonderful review and thank you so much for recruiting new guests during you visit outside of San Jose. I have many clients that do just that, with all of the outdoor seating areas that we have, it makes it really nice to sit and chat over a cold drink at Happy Hour. It really is a neat old building with lots of charter. There are just not any of these left in San Jose any more. You are correct many of our clients upgrade to the deluxe rooms upstairs in the new section. Again Thanks so much. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed two different times at HST and will be back. Rooms are nice, quiet, with lots of character in the building's architecture and interesting art, maps, and photos in the halls and rooms. Staff was super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hola Zmatto, Nice, you really summed up what is important for prospective visitors to Costa Rica. A big Thank You from me. Outstanding you had a great experience here at the HST ! I will be looking for your return. Happy Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is very charming, clean, and spacious. The location seemed safe and close to downtown attractions. The staff was nice, but the "please tip" signs posted everywhere seemed too pushy. It is very noisy at night, but maybe that should be expected staying downtown. It would have been nice to have an air conditioner to drown out the city noise and the noise from other guests. Parking is secure and safe, and the drive to the airport is about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Julie, Thanks so much for your great description of what the hotel offers. Many clients have commented the same. There are two signs that say ( Please Tip for Baggage Service) One is behind the front desk and the other is going up the stairs to the second floor. As far as I know there are no 3 1/2 Star hotels in the US or Europe that carry bags or even offer the service. I found that clients were not being fair at all to my staff about carrying bags. So yes !! some people really need help with a sense of consciousness. I understand that you most likely tipped for good services rendered. The room you stayed in was an Economy room and our lowest priced. In our new section upstairs you mentioned the balcony rooms and the Deluxe Plus. For just a few dollars more a wonderful upgrade. You room at $52.00 included Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, Wi-Fi, pool and Jacuzzi, no other downtown San Jose hotel offers this, most guests find this to be a great value! We have bilingual staff on 24/7 o assist with what ever a client needs at any time. Again Thank You for the kind words Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located in old San Jose (Historical district). You can't tell from the street, but once inside, it is a pretty place, clean, and the staff is very nice. There is private parking at the hotel (for a small charge per night) and free breakfast. For birders, there are some parrots in the trees behind the hotel, and the park just south of the hotel (1-2 blocks) is full of parrots. Lots of museums in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi Econurse, Wonderful review thank you so much for the kind words. Lots of couples like you ,stay here and enjoy the sights , jacuzzi and a tasty tropical drink at Happy hours with Carlos, the bartender. We are located in the historical district of San Jose and there are many parks with huge lovely trees and lots of interesting sights close by . All one has to do is walk a few blocks , slow down and enjoy this lovely place. The hotel is also a great location for the many days tour leaving San Jose. You can find lots of information on the hotel web site. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Santo Tomas - we were in a room upstairs. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable, which allowed for great sleep. The staff is helpful, the pool slide was fun.

Room Tip: we liked the room upstairs in the back - at first we were disappointed that it didn't look out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hola LiketoTravel !! All of the mattresses in the hotel are new and top quality and seen to be just right in the hardness department. We really pride our self's on a very friendly and service driven staff. I am constantly working on this and your statement just proves that it works. I will have a staff meeting to show everyone your comments . Our location is an easy walk to central avenue, only four blocks south. Also a great location for the many day tours available. We are on Avenue 7, right before San Jose slopes downhill steeply, something important for our older clients or any one that is mobility impaired or just does not wish to climb a steep hill in the hot sun. Great Review Thanks so much ! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
Boutique, City...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.