We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guaranteed a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #9 of 85 hotels in San Jose
toronto ontario/samara costa rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“guaranteed a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

we always stay at Hotel Santo Tomas when passing through san jose: the hotel is in a good central location and the premises are safe, clean and well equipped. the staff is always friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hola Smashley12- from Toronto/Samara, Hey you've got the best of two wonderful places in the world. I genuinely appreciate you being a repeat customer and nothing speaks higher than a recommendation by a single female in reference to the hotel being , Safe, Clean, well equipped along with friendly and accommodating staff. That is exactly what we are supposed to be doing. I'll be thanking you in person in the breakfast area upon your next visit. Please tell me it is you as I can't tell from your Trip Advisor ID. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    211
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
222
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The property itself, looks to have been at one point a private residence, the rooms are quite large with very high ceilings with large comfortable beds. The room fixtures were in good repair, however the tiled floor was showing its age. The Wifi signal in the room was good, although somewhat unstable near the pool area. As we arrived late in the evening and had no place to go, were won over by the extremely nice and courteous staff who did whatever they could to make our stay a pleasant one, and in fact were the determining factor in choosing this hotel. I especially commend the young Costarrican receptionist with the spiky hair for being efficient and anxious to please. The amenities are par for the category and type of hotel and the location was right in the middle of everything within minutes of Parque Morazán and the pedestrian only streets. The decor is of a different era, which is fine although I found the breakfast nothing special and the pool rather small. I did not use the spa, but could see that it was located above the pool. The gym was decent, definitely a bonus. We visited about 4 hotels before deciding on Santo Tomas and felt that it provided good value. We did not have any problems with outside noise leaking in and had a restful experience. Most hotels of this size i.e. small do not have parking. Santo Tomas does have parking for an extra fee which is fair considering the very narrow streets and general hubbub. All in all, we are gratified that the ownership and staff hold customer service very highly and would not have any qualms about staying again in the future. We would also like to thank the owner for his attentiveness and for taking the time to personally accompany us to the right freeway exit. I would like to stress that all things remaining the same, it is the details that end up making the difference. The staff of the other hotels we looked at would do well to follow the example of Santo Tomas. A sincere welcome and can do attitude can often do more than a big pool!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hola Chachalaca in San Marcos, WOW that's a very comprehensive review, with many outstanding comments , Thank You ! I like and really enjoy , being a host and it's my pleasure to assist our clients in having a positive Costa Rica travel experience. Again Thank You , Hope to see you again on your return to Costa Rica Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in San Jose. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful from management & front desk to cleaning staff. Thomas upgraded my room. It was huge, very clean and comfortable. After travelling very basic for a few weeks, this was very welcome and the hot fast shower wonderful. I do prefer a room with a window to the outside and mine was internal, but that would be only negative comment. Garden area is pleasant and a nice surprise in a rather dirty city. Location is good; an easy walk only a few blocks from the city centre and with a nice park around the corner. Im staying here again on my last night in Costa Rica after travelling the country.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
HI Christine, Great to know that you are coming back to the Santo Tomas after your travels. Many clients use us just for that , we do have free baggage storage and turn around laundry service, wash and fold in about 4 hours. We charge a very reasonable price per kilo/ 2.2 lbs and we are happy to help. Lots of clients also start their trips off with a couple of day tours out of the hotel, it's a nice way to adjust to the change of country and culture.
Again Thank You so much for the fine review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: full of amenities such as a pool and hottub, delightfully clean rooms, and quiet sitting areas. But Hotel Santo Tomas's greatest strength is its personnel. We felt truly at home because Anthony, Mauricio, everyone manning the front desk, all of the housekeeping staff, and even Tomas himself, answered our questions, offered suggestions and made us feel that they had our best interests at heart. We adored Carlos, the bartender, who is totally charming in the best Tico tradition, and we ate two lovely dinners in Restaurante el Oasis. Don't miss the cerviche!

Room Tip: We loved the breeze from the balcony!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Ellen, Wonderful , great review you posted for us. It is very short , concise and covers many important items that travelers are looking for in a hotel. Thank you very much for the kind words about my staff especially , I will make sure for them to see what you have written. And you are correct about the ceviche, Manuel our chef makes it fresh when you order it! Again Thank You so much Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything you need to arrive and leave San Jose well...a good breakfast, helpful staff, big rooms, clean areas, a pool and cuzzi (you will be on display as it is in the center of the place), dinner on site and it is located in a good area. The owner is friendly and aims to greet everyone and share the special pieces of the hotel that may be overlooked at first...this includes art work and general cool ceiling molding. Our room was a bit dark and breakfast ended earlier than expected (my foul), there was a lack of 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee (my personal sassy need they only had a powder mix) and I did have to pay for parking our rental car (would have been nice to have this included in our stay)....but the fresh fruit, great beds, price and feeling of safety and care outweighed any of these factors....a solid safe choice as you book

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with balconies but they only had one big bed which didn't work for me as I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hola Julesmarie, That's a new phrase describing the hotel ( a solid safe choice) I like it , tells perspective clients what to expect. Wonderful to know that you appreciated the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, sorry I can't just give away more stuff, but with rooms at around $52.00 US per night for two persons and after all expenses, well there's not much left . I am sure it is still much better than paying $20.00 bucks at the big hotels: they give nothing away! Again Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During our last 3 days in Costa Rico we stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas and experienced the most wonderful hospitality of our 5 weeks. The staff, especially Miquel at the front desk, were entirely professional and went out of their way to ensure each and every need was met. The hotel is a charming gem within walking distance of many San Jose attractions. We were provided with complimentary breakfasts, free WiFi, the rooms were ample and comfortable, the atmosphere of the building was truly an oasis that was the the cherry on the top of an extended vacation. We have no reservation in recommending this unique hotel to anyone spending time in San Jose.
The only thing we missed was a small refrigerator in our room - beyond that we can only offer praise.

I forgot to mention Thomas the proud owner and has every right to feel this way. It is evident he is hands on with the operation of this jewel of a hotel and a proud supporter of his service minded staff.

Room Tip: Next time I would select a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hola Sunset792, Wow I have had a staff meeting and shown them your comments about having the most wonderful hospitality in 5 weeks. They all send you both a big Thank You ! It's so wonderful that my behind the scenes personal get credit. The person that is serving your breakfast at 7:00 is up by 4:30 am so that they may have everything prepared fresh for the 7 am opening. I want to say a public thank you to them, the hotels wonderful staff ! Thank you for such an outstanding review and it's very gratifying to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable Costa Rica experience. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night on two occasions when we were travelling. The decor and atmosphere are charming, with lots of wrought iron, traditional dark wood and lounge areas to relax in. Our room both times was on the first floor. There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up and down an outside staircase. We managed it fine but if you had any mobility problems, this might be a problem. Our room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well. We also ate in the restaurant and found the food reasonably priced and OK - not gourmet but very acceptable. We walked out from the hotel to explore downtown San Jose and thought the location was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We were able to store our luggage whilst we went on a trip to Tortuguero, which was convenient. Overall, very good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hola Quietvoice, Great to know that you found us “Clean and charming in an excellent location” and Overall, very good value for money and Would definitely stay there again. We do have free baggage storage for our traveling guests and it is a great help to those clients going to the Caribbean side or whom have an extended time and just don't need to carry everything during their travels. You comment of excellent location is correct, especially for those older clients or anyone that has walking or breathing difficulties, as we are located before San Jose goes downhill on avenue 7. Wonderful review and Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.