We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount Here !
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in San Jose. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful from management & front desk to cleaning staff. Thomas upgraded my room. It was huge, very clean and comfortable. After travelling very basic for a few weeks, this was very welcome and the hot fast shower wonderful. I do prefer a room with a window to the outside and mine was internal, but that would be only negative comment. Garden area is pleasant and a nice surprise in a rather dirty city. Location is good; an easy walk only a few blocks from the city centre and with a nice park around the corner. Im staying here again on my last night in Costa Rica after travelling the country.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
HI Christine, Great to know that you are coming back to the Santo Tomas after your travels. Many clients use us just for that , we do have free baggage storage and turn around laundry service, wash and fold in about 4 hours. We charge a very reasonable price per kilo/ 2.2 lbs and we are happy to help. Lots of clients also start their trips off with a couple of day tours out of the hotel, it's a nice way to adjust to the change of country and culture.
Again Thank You so much for the fine review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    260
    64
    15
    12
See reviews for
124
298
126
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: full of amenities such as a pool and hottub, delightfully clean rooms, and quiet sitting areas. But Hotel Santo Tomas's greatest strength is its personnel. We felt truly at home because Anthony, Mauricio, everyone manning the front desk, all of the housekeeping staff, and even Tomas himself, answered our questions, offered suggestions and made us feel that they had our best interests at heart. We adored Carlos, the bartender, who is totally charming in the best Tico tradition, and we ate two lovely dinners in Restaurante el Oasis. Don't miss the cerviche!

Room Tip: We loved the breeze from the balcony!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Ellen, Wonderful , great review you posted for us. It is very short , concise and covers many important items that travelers are looking for in a hotel. Thank you very much for the kind words about my staff especially , I will make sure for them to see what you have written. And you are correct about the ceviche, Manuel our chef makes it fresh when you order it! Again Thank You so much Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything you need to arrive and leave San Jose well...a good breakfast, helpful staff, big rooms, clean areas, a pool and cuzzi (you will be on display as it is in the center of the place), dinner on site and it is located in a good area. The owner is friendly and aims to greet everyone and share the special pieces of the hotel that may be overlooked at first...this includes art work and general cool ceiling molding. Our room was a bit dark and breakfast ended earlier than expected (my foul), there was a lack of 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee (my personal sassy need they only had a powder mix) and I did have to pay for parking our rental car (would have been nice to have this included in our stay)....but the fresh fruit, great beds, price and feeling of safety and care outweighed any of these factors....a solid safe choice as you book

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with balconies but they only had one big bed which didn't work for me as I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hola Julesmarie, That's a new phrase describing the hotel ( a solid safe choice) I like it , tells perspective clients what to expect. Wonderful to know that you appreciated the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, sorry I can't just give away more stuff, but with rooms at around $52.00 US per night for two persons and after all expenses, well there's not much left . I am sure it is still much better than paying $20.00 bucks at the big hotels: they give nothing away! Again Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During our last 3 days in Costa Rico we stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas and experienced the most wonderful hospitality of our 5 weeks. The staff, especially Miquel at the front desk, were entirely professional and went out of their way to ensure each and every need was met. The hotel is a charming gem within walking distance of many San Jose attractions. We were provided with complimentary breakfasts, free WiFi, the rooms were ample and comfortable, the atmosphere of the building was truly an oasis that was the the cherry on the top of an extended vacation. We have no reservation in recommending this unique hotel to anyone spending time in San Jose.
The only thing we missed was a small refrigerator in our room - beyond that we can only offer praise.

I forgot to mention Thomas the proud owner and has every right to feel this way. It is evident he is hands on with the operation of this jewel of a hotel and a proud supporter of his service minded staff.

Room Tip: Next time I would select a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hola Sunset792, Wow I have had a staff meeting and shown them your comments about having the most wonderful hospitality in 5 weeks. They all send you both a big Thank You ! It's so wonderful that my behind the scenes personal get credit. The person that is serving your breakfast at 7:00 is up by 4:30 am so that they may have everything prepared fresh for the 7 am opening. I want to say a public thank you to them, the hotels wonderful staff ! Thank you for such an outstanding review and it's very gratifying to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable Costa Rica experience. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night on two occasions when we were travelling. The decor and atmosphere are charming, with lots of wrought iron, traditional dark wood and lounge areas to relax in. Our room both times was on the first floor. There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up and down an outside staircase. We managed it fine but if you had any mobility problems, this might be a problem. Our room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well. We also ate in the restaurant and found the food reasonably priced and OK - not gourmet but very acceptable. We walked out from the hotel to explore downtown San Jose and thought the location was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We were able to store our luggage whilst we went on a trip to Tortuguero, which was convenient. Overall, very good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hola Quietvoice, Great to know that you found us “Clean and charming in an excellent location” and Overall, very good value for money and Would definitely stay there again. We do have free baggage storage for our traveling guests and it is a great help to those clients going to the Caribbean side or whom have an extended time and just don't need to carry everything during their travels. You comment of excellent location is correct, especially for those older clients or anyone that has walking or breathing difficulties, as we are located before San Jose goes downhill on avenue 7. Wonderful review and Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havdrup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staying the last two night of our vacation, this was clearly where we met most hospitaly we really felt welcome and Tomas and his staff was very sincerly serviceminded, also english skills for staff was above previous experienced. Love the atmosphere of the building. Only comment I can come with was pool was rather cold, though it didnt stop my us...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hola Hanne, Wonderful you felt the hospitality that we try to provide . Our goal is for each client to have a memorable positive Costa Rica experience . The pool is ambient temperature and the hot tub is HOT ! Lots of families have used us over the years as their San Jose location. Hope you return in the future . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights but really didn’t spend much time in the hotel, we were very busy. We left early on both mornings so didn’t even get to try the breakfast. However, the building was charming inside and the room was nice . The staff on reception were helpful and spoke good English. There was free wifi which was useful and also a computer available to use in reception. The room was quite small and basic but fine for a short stay. I’d stay there again if I was in downtown San Jose for a short stopover.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi Gemma, thank you for the kind words and positive comments. Great to know you found the hotel charming and yes lots of my staff speaks English well. Many clients did what you did and use us for their home base for exploring . We are located on Avenue 7 at the top of the hill, so our older clients or clients that have any type of walking or breathing difficulty find us to be a super location, no big hills to trod up and down. There is great free and fast Wi-Fi in the hotel and the lobby computer is free also. Again Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#31 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.