We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and charming in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #9 of 85 hotels in San Jose
St Albans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and charming in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night on two occasions when we were travelling. The decor and atmosphere are charming, with lots of wrought iron, traditional dark wood and lounge areas to relax in. Our room both times was on the first floor. There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up and down an outside staircase. We managed it fine but if you had any mobility problems, this might be a problem. Our room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well. We also ate in the restaurant and found the food reasonably priced and OK - not gourmet but very acceptable. We walked out from the hotel to explore downtown San Jose and thought the location was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We were able to store our luggage whilst we went on a trip to Tortuguero, which was convenient. Overall, very good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hola Quietvoice, Great to know that you found us “Clean and charming in an excellent location” and Overall, very good value for money and Would definitely stay there again. We do have free baggage storage for our traveling guests and it is a great help to those clients going to the Caribbean side or whom have an extended time and just don't need to carry everything during their travels. You comment of excellent location is correct, especially for those older clients or anyone that has walking or breathing difficulties, as we are located before San Jose goes downhill on avenue 7. Wonderful review and Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    211
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
222
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havdrup
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staying the last two night of our vacation, this was clearly where we met most hospitaly we really felt welcome and Tomas and his staff was very sincerly serviceminded, also english skills for staff was above previous experienced. Love the atmosphere of the building. Only comment I can come with was pool was rather cold, though it didnt stop my us...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hola Hanne, Wonderful you felt the hospitality that we try to provide . Our goal is for each client to have a memorable positive Costa Rica experience . The pool is ambient temperature and the hot tub is HOT ! Lots of families have used us over the years as their San Jose location. Hope you return in the future . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights but really didn’t spend much time in the hotel, we were very busy. We left early on both mornings so didn’t even get to try the breakfast. However, the building was charming inside and the room was nice . The staff on reception were helpful and spoke good English. There was free wifi which was useful and also a computer available to use in reception. The room was quite small and basic but fine for a short stay. I’d stay there again if I was in downtown San Jose for a short stopover.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi Gemma, thank you for the kind words and positive comments. Great to know you found the hotel charming and yes lots of my staff speaks English well. Many clients did what you did and use us for their home base for exploring . We are located on Avenue 7 at the top of the hill, so our older clients or clients that have any type of walking or breathing difficulty find us to be a super location, no big hills to trod up and down. There is great free and fast Wi-Fi in the hotel and the lobby computer is free also. Again Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As I've seen other reviews say, this really is a bit of a hidden gem in San Jose. The outside looks a little intimidating as you approach it, but the inside truly is an oasis. The rooms are clean and perfectly comfortable. The outside spaces within the hotel are absolutely lovely, and they provide ample opportunity to meet and mingle with other hotel guests. I enjoyed the breakfast options and the bar options by the pool. Though the hotel itself is nice, I would have to say that the service was what made my stay with a friend truly exceptional. Tomas, the owner, helped us to pick our excursion for our short stay in San Jose and was extremely helpful in every way. Additionally, the front desk staff, particularly Omar, were all extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. The location is good if you like being within walking distance of attractions in the city, and basically all of the tour companies will pick you up at this hotel. The ride from the airport wasn't horribly long either.

In a slightly funny coincidence, my friend and I traveled from San Jose (and Hotel Santo Tomas) to Jaco where we participated in an excursion in which we met two other people who had stayed at the same hotel! They also had only positive things to say about their stay in San Jose at Hotel Santo Tomas. I believe the hotel was even willing to store their luggage for them while they excursioned out to Jaco for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hola Springdove42, WOW no need for me to say anything but a Big Thank You ! Your above review just says it all in a short , concise and honest manner that other travelers will find useful , I am sure. Again a heartfelt thank you from Thomas. Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is owned and run by Tomas, an American who has been in Costa Rica for many years. I have stayed there four times and love it. Staff are excellent. Great breakfast comes with your room. There is a small pool, whirlpool, and slide from whirlpool to pool perfect for adults and children. It's location is just three blocks from the Jade Museum (my favorite), five blocks from the Gold Museum (I'm not a fan of jewelry but even guys like me can appreciate the craftsmanship), and a 15 min walk to the butterfly park (small but organized beautifully). Central Market is a pleasant 30 min walk and is a GREAT place to eat, with dozens of interesting shops and small restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a balcony room that has a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
HI Robert, Thanks for the great review and being a steady return customer. The tip on the balcony room is correct , it's a great price for a great room. And yes that leisure walk to everywhere is a fun thing to do. Also all day tours travelers are picked up and dropped off right here at the hotel front door !! Again Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you again soon in the future . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the best place to stay in San Jose. They have a pool/hot tub to relax in. We stayed here one night while waiting to catch a plane back to the US. All of the staff is very friendly. Their breakfast was excellent. They have a bar and happy hour which is nice so that you don't have to go out if you don't want to. I think the price is right. I would absolutely stay here again if I had a layover in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
A Big Hola To San Diego ! Fantastic to know that you had a most EXCELLENT Stay in San Jose and that you used the pool and hot tub. Just like you did many clients toss in a few righteous drinks made by Carlos our bartender at happy hour from 4 to 7 and just chill. And thanks so much for appreciating the free hot cooked breakfast. This is a real added value to the room and most clients are happy to have it. Looking forward to your next visit in Costa Rica ! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas, and am pleased to share my positive experience.

Thomas, the owner of the hotel, is very personable. He warmly greeted me upon my arrival. I was particularly impressed that he took the time to accompany me during my walk to Parque Morazan (where I was meeting a tour group) to help orient me to the city.

His front desk staff was professional and helpful.

I found the hotel's location to be convenient, and close to interesting sites in the city.

My room was tidy, comfortable, and charmingly furnished.

The included breakfast made the morning of my checkout more convenient.

I belive that Hotel Santo Tomas offers excellent qualities at a very attractive price. If/when I return to San Jose in the future, I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hola Jtambot, Thanks so much for the nice review. I hope your tour went well and was enjoyable. Your comment of ( Hotel Santo Tomas offers excellent qualities at a very attractive price ) is something potential new guest will appreciate . Hope to see you again in the future. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.