We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off 3 nite Min. Stay
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
U.k
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have recently come back from a 3 week holiday in costa rica and stayed at hotel santo Tomas on 3 separate occasions and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of San Jose, and is close to the city centre. The hotel has a lot of character and has all the amenities of a modern hotel, swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, and free wi-fi all over the hotel. The rooms are clean and very reasonably priced. Tomas was extremely helpful and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. I have too give a special mention to Maurico the hotel manager who made our stay, his friendly and helpful manner is a credit to the hotel, I would give this hotel a 5 star review and would definately stay there again. Lee & Craig u.k (aka Wayne Rooney & dr Watson)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
A big shout out to Lee & Craig, All right guys , it was great having you both here and seeing you return each time and hearing your travel stories. That's always a great time ! Your review is most outstanding and I genuinely appreciate it. I have made sure that all of the staff including Mauricio have seen your comments and they send a hearty Thank You as well. Come on back in the future for stories and travels to be continued . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    250
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
112
287
121
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you need (or want) to be right downtown San Jose, this hotel is for you! It is located in the center of the hustle and bustle, but once inside the property, you wouldn't know it. Thomas was extremely helpful for directions and information. We enjoyed the hot tub and the breakfast was good. The price was right, too!

Room Tip: We had room 33, which was quiet and on an upper floor, away from the street. It seemed to be a newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Bongos Travels: Hey I love that name too cool. Thanks for the fine review and you are correct the newer rooms are in the new second floor section and are just a few dollars more and a great value. Thanks so much for that comment, along with the hot tub, breakfast and price being right!
Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

During my stay of 8 days in San Jose, it was a perfect location, friendly and helpful staff. No window in my room, which did not matter, since I was gone during the day. Breakfast was good and the chicken soup great. The staff went out of their way to help you. I felt safe in the neighborhood. Close to ATM and Supermarket. I highly recommend it. A great deal for a medium price.

Room Tip: Know what your needs are b4 you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Britt, Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your 8 days in San Jose and we were able to assist you with your tour planning. You are right Manuel makes some really good fresh chicken soup. Hope you return in the future . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed at a number of hotels at this price and Santo Tomas is by far the best. Location is great and security is taken seriously. I loved the hot tub and pool. We had it all to ouselves for almost an hour. Very romantic. The hotel has a lot of character and is well looked after. We missed the supper buffet because they close it on Mondays but I have been told that it is amazing. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good also. Our room didn't have a window either but we enjoyed sitting the night away out at the poolside patio. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: I noticed rooms with balconies overlooking the pool. next time, I am going to book one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hola Roberta and Gary ! Very nice you were able to enjoy the Hot Tub, something most hotels in San Jose don't offer. Please come back sometime to enjoy a nice dinner with Carlos and Manuel. Your comment about us being the best hotel in the area for the price is exactly where I want to be. Thank you for that. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for about 8 hours after a late flight getting in around 10pm and an early bus leaving at 6am. They were accommodating and friendly. We asked about packing a box breakfast for the am, which didn't happen. But, we did get a plate of fruit left for us to eat before we left. It would have been nice to offer a free cup of coffee, but there was a coffee machine and it was good.

We thought this was 5 blocks from the bus station, but in fact, the Mepe buses to Puerto Viejo had moved and we had to take a $4 US taxi to get to the station.

I'd recommend staying here. There was a fan, didn't need AC, and the hotel folks were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Gringatx, Thanks so much for your review. You are correct about the coffee machine being good. It is Italian made and well you know how those Italians are about their coffee. The machine grinds the fresh Costa Rica beans when you select your beverage, there are around 10 different one to choose from, nice to hear you enjoined it.
Again Thank You Safe Travels. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is on very good posotion, one block from Manzan park. Walking zone is close. The aria seems to be safe. Aniway you can park your car on the hotel parking, behind the close doors. Stuff is ok, breakfast good enough but nothing special.
Some rooms does not have a window, so if you mind, ask. Our room had, but also had a bad smell. Bathroom could be refreshed.
All in all good value. We would not mind going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Andrejjericevic, Thanks for the review, I apologize about any unpleasant odor you experienced. I have spoken to my cleaning staff and checked all rooms. We do have safe , covered , secure off street parking available. Wonderful to hear you will return. Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

hotel Santo Tomas is one of those "could this be?" experiences. From the street, it's just some wrought iron gates. Inside the front door, it's warm and inviting, with excellent staff greeting you and a pleasant lobby. Then you begin wandering corridors inside --- there's a nice smaller swimming pool, a jacuzzi, a nice restaurant/bar area, and several very nice sitting areas when you want to be outside your room. We rented a Superior Plus room, upstairs, paid about $ 78 including taxes. It was a very nice room, very thoughtfully laid out. My wife loves a dresser with mirror outside the bathroom --- had that. i like a larger shower with higher shower head --- had that. I like a lockable space for money or passports --- had that. Comfortable queen bed, nice bathroom, very clean --- had those too. I know that some people like the Marriott experience --- expensive, plastic, "just like the United States." For the rest of us, this is a great place. It's only about 5 blocks to the center of the city, several good restaurants nearby (don't miss Cafe Mundo!!) I needed three more nights of reservations later in our trip, and I made them here.

Room Tip: The "upstairs rooms" of Superior Plus are quiet, beautiful, have great bathrooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola Dave ! WOW your title I love: “Lower-medium price, high quality” I think that is exactly what most clients are looking for , what with today's economy. You description is I think spot on and creating a memorable Costa Rica visit is what we are about. Again Dave thanks so much for your outstanding review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.