We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, great location, friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #9 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, great location, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas - I love it! The staff are super friendly. Thomas is knowledgeable, charming and seems genuinely glad to help. The rooms are beautiful and the whole place is warm, welcoming and scrupulously clean. I meant to ask what (if any) fabric softener they use - the sheets and towels felt and smelled so good! A great breakfast, cooked fresh every time, is included in the very reasonable price. We stayed there for a couple of days at the beginning and then at the end of our trip, and I felt like I was coming home for the final few days. This is a place for travelers, and I'll definitely be going back to meet more great people from all around the world. Thanks to Thomas and his excellent staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
A big thank you from Costa Rica to Ontario ! Wonderful review and it's really rewarding to know that clients do appreciate the effort that the staff and myself puts into serving our guests. Your description of being , warm, welcoming and scrupulously clean is most outstanding! Many clients do exactly what you did using us as a base upon arrival and departing and also for taking the many day tours that are offered from San Jose. Again my thanks to you and family for the visit. Safe Journeys Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    208
    50
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
222
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I need to get dental work and the closest hotel with a good room rate was the Santo Tomas. It was rated as a 3 star and my experience is whatever the stars, they're usually less - Marriott 5 stars to me rate 3 or 4 at best. Other hotels, and I've been in at least 30 of them in Panama and Costa Rica, rarely meet my expectations.
I'm spoiled and like to be spoiled.
First, the owner is at the hotel almost every day assuring that each guest is accommodated and feels like a guest, instead of a mark. Every employee of the hotel was pleasant, although the room only had a queen bed, I was apprised of this beforehand and the bed was fairly comfortable, the room was a nice size and the shower was excellent. Give me a comfortable bed and a great shower, nice hotel employees and I am usually satisfied.
Here the employees went out of their way (or maybe it is their way) to make me feel welcome and glad to be on the property.
There's a gym to work out in, which I loved, a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, and last but not least, a coffee machine in the lobby that makes better coffee than any place in town - and this is Costa Rica, the country that makes great coffee.
If you're looking for a very clean, comfortable place to stay in San Jose, at a rate that is very reasonable, this is the place. I'll be back, as I visit Central America 3-5 times a year and LOVE San Jose.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs and thought it was the best place in the hotel although I did not stay downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola Sam ! It was wonderful having you stay with us and to see the fantastic dental work that was performed for you here in Costa Rica. At the time you were staying I think it was about 18 days , I had another 4 to 6 clients having work done as well. We are a great spot for medical stays. My staff has seen your comments and all send a warm thank you for your kind words. I love being in the hotel in the mornings with our guests in the breakfast area and assisting with what ever they require. A heartfelt thank you for the wonderful review you posted Sam. Hope to see you in the future Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were using San Jose as a pass through to Manzanillo on the Caribbean coast. We arrived and got to Santos Tomas late in the evening. The person at the desk lead us to a nice quiet room. The room was in a part of the hotel that is one of the older homes, it was nice, clean and happily quiet. Breakfast the next morning was an excellent Gallo Pinto with salsa ingles and toast. The hotel was very nice on the inside, something you would not know from the exterior. The owner stopped by during breakfast and chatted amicably with all those in the dining area. He was a warm, US expat.

For the return trip we were dropped off by our shuttle at 6:30 pm and shown to a room in the new upper floor. Very nice. The view from the balcony was great, overlooking the courtyard and pool. We decided to eat at the Oasis, the in-house restaurant. There was not much for us Vegans to choose from, but Carlos, the only person visibile, came up with a blend of vegetables in the house pomidoro sauce over pasta. It was tasty and fit the bill for us. The staff was excellent and very professional. If I need a hotel in San Jose again, i will certainly see if Santo Tomas is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Glenn, You are correct we are a great spot for traveling from west to east and vise-versa , many guest stay here just for that . We also offer free baggage storage so that you don't have to lug around all of your stuff. Your descriptions of the two different sections of the hotel are accurate and most appreciated by me. What is really nice for me is that you enjoyed the free breakfast, this represents a real cost and it's nice when clients are appreciative. Hope to see you again in the future and than you for the most pleasing review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not a cookie cutter hotel. Lots of outdoor spaces attractively sited around a landscaped pool area. Our large room overlooking a second floor outdoor seating area had comfortable beds, spacious modern bath, and charm. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was freshly prepared. We enjoyed the convenient location in walking distance to downtown San Jose and major museums. We would definitely return and would recommend the hotel to others. The art, ironwork and ambiance make this place a distinct contrast to chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola LMBReston, Hey I like that about not being a cookie cutter hotel. Instead of building all of the property just for rooms , I chose to create all of these patios, covered and open areas and terraces so that clients may have a nice environment . All of the gardens and flowers make a relaxing space to enjoy. The location is as you stated is very convenient for all of the attractions here in San Jose. The part of your review I really like is " The art, ironwork and ambiance make this place a distinct contrast to chain hotels." Wonderful that you enjoyed it so much . Thank you very much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in San Jose before. In fact this is our third trip to Costa Rica. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel that we have stayed at in San Jose. The hotel staff was very helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Len, nice, you just say it all very short , concise and to the point. Great review, look forward to your next visit and remember the best price is found on our hotel web site. Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas on Feb. 22nd, 2013. It was a great point to walk to the downtown area or relax in their pool and hot tub. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and had a very nice bath and tiled shower. The breakfast was tasty and filling with several options from which to choose. Thomas, the owner was present at breakfast and was very helpful answering questions about the area. They have a tour operations desk in their lobby to help set up day tours and travel. We didn't use their help, but wish we had as our week in other parts of the country progressed.
We really enjoyed our stay. It was like an oasis in the city. We parked our car in their guarded lot next door for $11 a day. Daytime walking around town was good. It is not advisable to walk anywhere in San Jose after the crowds thin out in the evening.
We recommend this hotel. If we return to San Jose we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. Our room looked more modern and had less traffic passing by it that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Timjan 1995, Your title “An oasis in the city” is what many clients say. Our tour desk and all front desk staff are well trained to assist clients 24/7 with what ever is required . This has always been my hotel philosophy and I make sure it is carried over to my staff. You are correct the new rooms upstairs are are great bargain. Wonderful to know you will return. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was the best place to be. Extremely friendly people make all the difference. It is safe and secure, the food is good especially the breakfast, and it is not that expensive.

I am a young female traveling alone, and I wanted to feel safe and secure. This hotel was perfect for my budget and the people I met were so wonderful, even though I stayed for only a few days

I will recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Jose for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola Evan, Great having you stay and your are correct, I train my staff to be extra sensitive to the traveling female clients . We know that you want first of all safe, clean and a friendly environment . Please come back to visit . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.