We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #10 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Ellicott City,USA/Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very reasonably priced and comfortable. A good value. Rooms are large and very clean. Not luxurious but comfortable for a night or two. We stayed here the first and last nights of our Costa Rica vacation, going to the pacific in between (which was gorgeous!). Staff was nice and very helpful. The only problem was with the rental car company CR-SAVS. We rented a small SUV for the trip to the beach property where we stayed for a week. The car looked fine, but when we returned it (covered in Costa Rica dirt road dust) the rental company Rep claimed there was an area of small scratches on the rubber bumper, visable with dust in them. We would not have been able to see the pre-existing scratches in the sun, on a clean bumper, when we accepted the car. We had no problems with the car, not even a flat tire which the rep seemed surprised about (yes, the roads can be very bad--be prepared). The company is attempting to charge us $140 for several small scratches at the bottom of the RUBBER bumper of the SUV. The car was in a private space, and never left unattended during the week we had it. We are absolutely positive the scratches did not occur in our possession, and feel CR-SAVS is attempting to extort money from us. The Rep said he would call us before we left the country to let us know their position on the bumper and if they would assess a charge: we never heard from him but see the credit card charge. Think twice about using CR-SAVS for a rental car.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Connie, Your first sentence says it all- reasonably priced, comfortable and a good value! With respect to CR-Save car rental company, I have been using them for years and this is the first such incident we have had. I truly apologize that you have had a misunderstanding. I am glad to hear that the rest of your travels were wonderful and that you had a great experience here in the Hotel Santo Tomas. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    214
    50
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
224
101
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas is an old Colonial place with amazingly large & comfortable rooms (make sure that they are NOT facing the front of the hotel, as it can be a bit noisy), Once inside, you can forget that you are away from the heart of a busy city such as San Jose. It is within a walking distance of the major city attaracions and a good place to start your trip in Costa Rica. Breakfast in amazing and the staff are warm and helpful too. Great Value

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel are quieter, also the better rooms seem to be upstairs, worth paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Vivien, Great Value, I'll take that any day ! I think in today's economy that is just what most clients are looking for. We also have great day tours that we can assist clients with 24/7 for their journeys here in Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas is also a great place to end your travels as well. Especially if you are returning from the east coast and leaving the country the next day. We offer taxi service at the hotel and clients may even pay with a credit card for their airport transfer at any hour. Your comments about forgetting that you are in the heart of an active city is correct , with our jacuzzi and pool surrounded by the floral gardens and seating areas makes for a quiet atmosphere by our restaurant El Oasis. This is where we serve the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast from 7 to 9 am , restaurant open from 4 to 10pm also. Thank you very much for your outstanding review . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hi Thomas,
Thank you so much for your advice in renting a 4x4 to travel Costa Rica, it was the best advice we got the whole trip. My advice to travellers is, arrange to pick up your vehicle outside San Jose and cab it to that location and return it to an outside location and cab it back to the hotel. Driving in San Jose can be confusing. The owner is the reason i chose this hotel. He is very helpful to new travellers. This is evident by his hotel reviews. I was very happy to see that all the good reviews were true. you can't say enough about his staff. The are amazing! Helpful, friendly, well trained, and will try their best to get you anything you might need. Even a corkscrew at 11pm at night. This hotel was the best one we stayed in. Beautiful room, clean, and very safe. The pictures don't do it justice. It's full of hand made iron, nice pool and hot tub. Nice little restaurant, good food. The serve a complimentary costa rican breakfast of eggs, rice and pinto beans, toast and fresh fruit, very good. You can't beat the price for what you get! It truly is a gem in a large intimidating city. We booked our first night and last night, and that was all we pre booked for the whole trip. Based on these reviews i wanted to talk to Thomas before we booked anything to see what he thought. He's a great judge of people and what would work best for you. We had no intention of renting a vehicle do to the comments about getting around, but Thomas recommended we do just that. It was the best choice for us. Get a GPS if you do this. The hotel itself and the staff are top notch. You come to Costa Rica a stranger, but once you walk into this hotel you feel like a friend. Thats a talent I've never experienced at another hotel. We'll definitely stay here every time we return.
Thanks so much Thomas! Tell the rest of your staff they are amazing! We'll be sure to recommend you to all of our friends.
Christine and David Keller from Manitoba Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hola To The Kellers: Thanks so much for your most excellent review ! It's always nice when my staff and I know we have provided an outstanding experience for our guests. My staff checks TripAdvisor every day for new reviews and they always send a big Thank You. With respect to car rental , we suggest that you taxi or public bus into the hotel and let us arrange the rental to be dropped off in our private parking lot the next morning and return it the night before and take transport back to the airport. You save the two days car rental and some of the stress of driving. The best part of your review is that you appreciated the free hot cooked breakfast we serve. It is by the pool area , where guests enjoy happy hour from 4 to 7 pm and dinner with our bartender Carlos and chef Manuel. All of my staff is trained 24/7 to assist in tour planning and are rental along with any other service you may require while in country. Again thanks so much for the great review and recommendation !

Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice hotel and room for the price. On a busy street/ intersection so the traffic may keep you up, or wake you early. Also not in the nicest part of town.

Staff was very helpful in setting up tours for us and helping with any questions we had.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Trobkasz, Thanks for your recommendation of nice hotel for the price, this is what most clients tell me. Yes San Jose is a vibrant city with lots to do and see and we are located just four blocks from Central Avenue and to all other local attractions. We have bilingual staff on24/7/365 to assist with any type of help or planning you may require. Again thank yo for the review , Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed just one night in the hotel, after our long flight from Europe. It was easy to check in and our room contained an enormous television and was very comfortable. In the morning, we met the owner, Thomas, who made us feel welcome and had a nice breakfast (excellent juice). Our room was in the back and quiet. It was a shame we had so little time, as the pool and hot tub looked inviting. Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hola Elfweard, Definitely recommended, that can't get much better! Next time please try to take a few days to enjoy the pool and nice hot jacuzzi along with a balcony view room,many guests use us to take day tours and enjoy the hot tub at night or happy hour by the pool from 4 to 7 with Carlos our bartender. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very happy of our choice. Nice boutique hotel with a very friendly staff. Close to everything. Very convenient and affordable place to travel to take one-day tours to different directions to explore the country.
Nice breakfast. Spacious rooms. Highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Shout out to Brooklyn New York from Costa Rica, Yes we are a great location for all of the day tours from San Jose and an easy two blocks from the main highway to the east coast , a no brain er for going to that lovely side of the country. The affordable part and nice breakfast along withe Free WI-Fi help to keep us in the Top rated hotels in San Jose. Thank you very much for the nice review and safe travels. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

feb. 2013
The first look at the hotel, won’t impress you, neither the breakfast menu, but otherwise a nice hotel. Clean rooms with ceiling-fan, TV and security box. You feel very welcome at the hotel, and they are keen to provide you with the help you need. The price is fair, and it is worth every penny.
A recommendable hotel in San José.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Caspar, thanks for the review , sorry our Free Hot Cooked breakfast did not impress you. We do serve two fresh juices , coffee, tea, a fruit plate, eggs cooked to your liking, gallo pinto, a local dish of beans and rice along with toast and jam. This is what a typical breakfast is here in Costa Rica and the normal price for this would be around $8.00 US dollars in a restaurant, so it is a nice added value for a room that is only 40 euros for two persons. I will see if I can add pickled fish or some other European breakfast types of food, thanks for the info. I am glad to know that you thought the price was fair and worth every penny and that we are a recommended hotel in San Jose. Safe Travels and again a thank you from me Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.