We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the middle of town .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #9 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great spot in the middle of town .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The owner is an American expat that built it 25 years ago. He has a great knoiwledge of the area for the first timers as I was. It is not a 5 star hotel but the care and kindness of the staff is. The hotel is clean and severs a great free breakfast. I will go back !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
All Right my Man in Tacoma ! Thanks so much for the kind words and fine review . Looking forward to your return and we will keep it clean along with the 5 star service. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    211
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
222
99
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

As a single woman traveling, I was a little nervous of taking off and coming to Costa Rica. The staff at hotel Santo Tomas took all of my fears and hesitations away. Ricardo"s warm welcome and happy personality immediately set me at ease. Doris helped me through a tour mix up and made sure that I was both taken care of and able to go on the tour... THANK YOU! Tomas the vibrant owner who created the hotel has a personality that naturally draws people to him, thorough knowledge of the country and a willingness to share it to make travelers stays both easy and fun.
The food in the restaurant was always fresh and delicious. My only warning is that the servings are big so you had better come hungry.
My room was always clean and obviously well cared for. People here clearly take pride in their work and as a first time visitor that was very appreciated!
As for noise, I slept the first night for eleven hours with no ear plugs and heard nothing.
Visiting Costa Rica was my dream. Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Santo Tomas for helping to make my dream into a reality and for making me feel at home! I can"t wait to come back and would highly recommend this hotel!!!!!
Monica

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Monica, Outstanding ! you had such a memorable and happy experience here with us, exactly what I am striving to do with everyone of our guests. All of my staff works very hard as a team to create the environment that you enjoyed. We are really a safe haven for any travelers that requires assistance of any type and personalized service, something missing from so much of our life today. Everything you described is greatly appreciated by myself and staff. I have alerted them to your fine review and most have read it and send their personal thanks to you . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and especially the restaurant which is under advertised . Chef Manuel provides a wide array of excellent dishes. A must is the sea bass which is provided several different ways...all delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hola Freddy, that is a nice term to be pleasantly surprised, many clients say just that , from walking into the hotel to the fine food and drinks provided by Manuel ( 58 years old and has worked at the Marriott and Intercontinental just to name a few ! ) along with Carlo's drinks. We don't want to forget either my well trained front desk staff consisting of Miguel. Jose, Mauricio and last but not least Doris. On service 24/7 to assist with any thing our clients may require from bus schedules to car rentals and full tour services. Again Freddy a big Thank you from Thomas Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Santo Tomas for two nights at the end of our trip and chose this place for the location and value. It did not disappoint us! Thanks to this charming hotel we were able to explore San Jose and get a feel for urban Costa Rica. Santo Tomas is within walking distance to many of the city's cultural attractions, shops and dining. Our room was nothing special but it was clean and practical (bring your own toiletries). We didn't hang out much at the hotel because we were out and about so it was an ideal stay for us. The breakfast was a bonus. Do take advantage of the happy hour ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Nycchip from Canada, Wonderful that you enjoyed our central location and yes we are only 4 blocks form Central Avenue the main walking pedestrian street in San Jose's vibrant center. You most likely had our economy room at around $55.00 US for two with a free hot cooked breakfast included and fast Wi-Fi through out the property, even down by the pool , Jacuzzi area and in the restaurant , so that clients may surf the web when starting the day, as well as during Happy Hour from 4 to 7 with Carlos our bartender , who makes some fantastic coffee drinks along with a killer piña colada !! Thanks so much for a lovely review and I hope you will visit us again. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The layout of this hotel encourages loud, drunk obnoxious idiots to keep you awake deep into the night. The halls there seem to amplify clueless and rude travellers somehow losing sight of the fact they are in a hotel where people are sleeping. Management should consider implementing quiet hours and encourage these idiots to be considerate of other hotel patrons-other than that it's clean and bed is comfy centrally located

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the street and the loud idiots
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi Liam, Sorry about the drunk obnoxious idiots that night, normally we don't have problems , but during the Christmas vacation season , people just seem to get carried away. I have instructed my staff to be more vigilante about the clients and their noise. When I travel I always bring a set of ear plugs in my travel kit, something I have learned over the years . Thank so much for the positive comments about the place being clean, comfy bed and centrally located . Safe and quite journeys to you ! Tomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We started and ended our two-week vacation here. SO glad we did.

The setting is serene in the midst of the San Jose bustle. Being off the main drag allows some quiet for a good night's rest. The pool/restaurant area was amazing to walk into after a long flight and Carlos served up a cold local beer. Heaven. The room was adorable and a great value for the price. There's HOT WATER, also an extra added bonus after traveling all day. The bed was so comfortable, quite a luxury in CR.

I could not have been happier with the delicious breakfast. Fresh fruit, rice, black beans, toast and eggs. The spicey pickled vegetables and house-made hot sauce stole the show. In addition to the wonderful Costa Rican coffee, it was perfect.

The company was superb. Happy guests make friendly neighbors and the staff were gracious and helpful.

I could not have been more pleased with our choice to stay at Hotel Santo Tomas. It's so tough to make a good decision when booking your trip, but I swear by this hotel. I peaked into several of the other rooms and was so impressed. High ceilings, old style charm and very clean. I'd recommend a room on the pool side for the sunlight factor, we had one downstairs which was great. The other rooms were so gorgeous though, I honestly don't think we would have noticed a difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hola Patti, WOW what a wonderful review and I am so happy you had an outstanding experience here at the Hotel Santo Tomas. All of my staff from , Erwin, Carlos, Doris , Miguel, Mauricio, Jose and many others are part of a team that work together everyday to make sure it just goes right. Its very rewarding to me personally that you enjoyed the free breakfast. I have hot water tanks strategically located through the hotel so that there is almost always hot water. All of the mattresses are new and comfy. A big personal thank you from me for the great comments . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family spent 2 nights in San Jose prior to leaving Costa Rica. We ate at the restaurant the first night. The food was tasty.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, beds comfortable. The service was excellent and the pool and hot tub were fun! There's a slide from one to the other.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi Debora, your title is what many guests have said about the hotel in the past as well. Once behind the doors it a totally different atmosphere, what with the floral gardens and pool and jacuzzi. The location is such that you can walk to everything, only four blocks to central avenue the main street in San Jose. All of your other comments are what I believe guests are looking for in a hotel, glad to know we delivered. Thanks so much for you recommendations . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.