We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jump of point for a brief stay in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & WI-F
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great jump of point for a brief stay in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas for New Year’s 2012/13, and it was a great place for us. The hotel is owned by a long-time resident of the country, although he was originally from the United States. He has put lots of effort into making this a nice place to stay, and his hospitality is evident by his attention to each visitor and his willingness to do anything to help you have a good time in San Jose and Costa Rica overall. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, and the hot shower was perfect after a swim in the pool/spa on a cool December evening (a note that the hot water in the showers take a bit to get there at night when no one has been using it so be patient). Although the hotel is on the edge of the main part of San Jose, we felt generally secure and had a very safe place to park our car during our stay (something like $11/night). Also, because it is near city center, it means a quick walk gets you to everything in city center that you would want to go to. The free breakfast is nothing fancy but still nice (gallo pinto, eggs, toast, juice, and fruit), and the staff were all courteous and helpful. Also, a note that the wireless internet in our rooms was not the best. They did have wired internet too but we were not able to use it given there is not a connection on a MacBook Air. Oh, for good wireless internet... In total though, this was definitely a very good place to stay for the price and helped us enjoy our time in the capital city of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hola Nicmonson, Very nice, complete review and I really do like what I am doing ! Must be from my southern background of Alabama and North Carolina heritage. Wonderful that you had a great experience here for your New Year. I am pretty much everyday in the breakfast area to meet and greet clients and just help them with whatever they need. All of my staff are trained as well and we provide full service 24/7 , something that most small hotel don't do. A big Thank You from me for such an outstanding review of the hotel and services.
Best Wishes Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    197
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
87
210
92
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Santo Tomas for 2 days. There are some great public areas including the pool which are great for relaxing outside of your room. We stayed in a really nice 'deluxe' room on the upper floors which was really nice and then a cheaper room downstairs the next night which was obviously much smaller. The inclusive breakfast was adequate and the restaurant staff were always nice which goes a long way. We ate dinner 1 night in the restaurant and it was ok. Met Tomas a few times and he was very nice. Very fast wifi available throughout the hotel. Location is only 1 block from a large supermarket.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There is a big difference between the room types in size, comfort and price so bear this in mind whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Dale S. from Australia, Hope the rest of your walkabout goes well and happy we could help you with your travels in Costa Rica. The hotel does offer several different areas , that are open and covered as well a nice hot jacuzzi and pool, by the restaurant. There are 5 different routers located in the hotel , but they all use the same password, just log on to the strongest signal , no matter where you are and you will have great WiFi speed ! Thanks so much for the definite recommendation, good info for our clients . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

nice central city hotel, book only the renovated rooms, breakfast is not great (another guest asked for a second piece of toast and was denied), dinner is slightly better but not much -- typical casados. Otherwise service was ok. One of us missed a flight connection and the hotel didn't charge us for that night. Prices seemed adequate.

(4 for the rooms and service, but only 2 for the food)

Room Tip: book only the renovated rooms
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Christoph O, Thanks for the review that you placed. Most likely you stayed in our cheapest room at around 58.00 US for two including our free hot cooked breakfast. We do not advertise a free buffet, but our free hot cooked breakfast does consist of , fresh Costa Rican coffee or tea , two fresh juices, a fruit plate, toast, jam, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto ( a Costa Rica breakfast dish ) and hot and curry based spices for the meal. Our dinner menu does not list a typical casado, but if you requested one, than my chef will make it. We do offer, chicken, pork , fish , pastas and beef , with such plates as , Almond Chicken Breast, Chicken Cacciatore, Normandy White Sea Bass, ect.ect and more international dishes. It quite pleases me to know that you thought our prices were adequate, most clients comment here on Trip Advisor , that selection, portion, price and quality are very good. I remember giving the free night away to the person that missed their connection , about a $58.00 value, I thought it was a nice gesture to help the group. Again I apologize for not being able to meet your standards, I will continue to try harder. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 9 days in February. I used it as a base for taking day trips in all directions of the city. Thomas and his staff were very helpful in sitting down with me and planning out those trips. I also had a great time walking around the downtown area which is within a few blocks of the hotel. My room was on the first floor and I found it quite adequate. Although dated, it was clean, had hot water in the shower, WiFi, TV, in room safe, and I felt it was quiet. The breakfasts were basic but filling. I would stay there again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
A big shout out to Seattle Solo Traveler from Costa Rica. How nice it makes me feel that after such a time you went and placed such a fine review. That just means we did it right and created wonderful memories and an outstanding experience ! That is what travel is all about, I have traveled the word and know how important it is sometimes just a smile and friendly atmosphere can be. Your comments about being a ( Great Value and Location ) are just two of the items that just keeps new clients coming and returning along with the Free WI-Fi , Hot cooked breakfast, pool and jacuzzi, to name a few more! Again, a heartfelt thank you for you excellent review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Although we only stayed for 1 night before catching a bus to nicoya, Santo Tomas was peaceful, with great food, incredibly friendly English speaking staff and the most comfy bed I have slept in in a long time.

I would definately recommend it and will certainly stay there on my return to San Jose.

Well recomended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hola Anthony, Thanks so much for taking the time to place your positive comments. In a very short , concise sentence you have summed up what most travelers are looking in a hotel ! I hope you are able to stay with us on your return trip out of Costa Rica. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have spent a lot of time in hotels, but until I stayed at Hotel Santo Thomas I have never seen an owner making the rounds at 7:00 a.m. breakfast to make sure everything was fine with the rooms and to chat with the hotel guests about their travel plans. We had car trouble and Thomas (owner) gave us as much help as he could (we made it to our destination). The front desk staff were also very helpful. For this reason I give the hotel an "excellent" rating instead of a very good. The clean comfortable rooms (no bed bugs), along with a small(ish) pool, weight room, good breakfast, access to parking and reasonable prices make this centrally located hotel well worth staying at. If you are a light sleeper and not used to city noises, bring ear plugs. We found the hotel surprisingly quiet given its location. I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to friends and family without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi GreenSnapDragon in cold Toronto. Thanks so much for letting me know that you made it to your destination. As you drove away, I though to myself that is one determined group of travelers ! As you stated, I was there early and almost all morning I am in the hotel, making sure that every thing is going well for the clients as well as my staff. Most of my staff has been with me many years and I have a wonderful team of people supporting myself and each other. Your other wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated and my staff has read them and send a big ( Gracias ) . Hope you and family can return in the not too distance future . Happy New Year to everybody. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Where do I start to describe this amazing hotel and amazing people?!?! First off before my husband and I even arrived at Hotel Santo Tomas I had flooded the owner Tomas with emails regarding our trip and our travels around Costa Rica. Tomas always returned my emails quickly and gave us a lot of helpful advice. The advice we were given from the moment we got off the plane (taking a cab to hotel) to the rental of our vehicle, made our trip around the country flawless and leaving us with the best vacation we have ever had. We spent our first 2 days in Costa Rica at Hotel Santo Tomas and their wonderful staff. Not only did we have a great time relaxing around the pool( and great hot tub) we had a chance to meet many friendly people who we spent the nights with having drinks, sharing stories and getting great advise. One person we would like to thank is Carlos the bartender. We still talk about you all the time and truly do miss your amazing personally and friendly manner. It was a pleasure to meet Tomas in person who once again gave us good insight of where to go and places to see. Tomas also suggested a deep sea fishing trip with a friend of his (Eddie Brown) which ended up being a highlight to our vacation. It was everything and more, and Tomas even took the time out of his day to call us while on the ocean to see how everything was going. The reason why I call this hotel a home away from home is that in the 2 weeks of being in Costa Rica we had the pleasure of staying there for 4 nights and each time we got back it was nice to see all the great staff ( ya you Carlos) and have that sense of comfort. I would suggest this hotel to everyone I know, and can’t wait to come back. The rooms were perfect and clean, food was GREAT and once again the staff was very accommodating. Special thanks to Doris for helping us plan many of our tours, and once again a very special thanks to Tomas for his great advise and awesome hook ups. It’s not very often when you stay at a hotel and get a personal phone call from the owner before you leave making sure we had the best time on our vacation in Costa Rica. Till we meet again....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hey my Happy Friends from Canada, Always my pleasure to help someone and it was so great that you believed me enough to take that fishing trip on my word. Eddie Brown is a born and breed natural fisherman holding many world records , who grew up in Barra de Colorado on the north East corner of Costa Rica, it may not be the end of the world, but you can see it from there ! I have been fishing with him for over 22 years and I almost always catch monster Tarpon and always fish. The greats of like , Lee Marvin, Ted Williams, Mickey Mantel and Jim Belushi to name just a few have fished with him and his brother Roberto. Roberto can even call up crocodiles to the boat , no brag just a fact. Anyone that wants world class fishing at a cheap price, I am here to help, may even go fishing with you if invited ! All of your wonderful comments and praise for the staff are truly welcomed and I have already showed them. Looking forward to your next visit and Happy Holidays to the both of you . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking and restaurant/bar El Oasis ( Happy Hour 4 to 7 PM Carlos Bartender ) closed on Mondays. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.