We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount Here !
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Where do I start to describe this amazing hotel and amazing people?!?! First off before my husband and I even arrived at Hotel Santo Tomas I had flooded the owner Tomas with emails regarding our trip and our travels around Costa Rica. Tomas always returned my emails quickly and gave us a lot of helpful advice. The advice we were given from the moment we got off the plane (taking a cab to hotel) to the rental of our vehicle, made our trip around the country flawless and leaving us with the best vacation we have ever had. We spent our first 2 days in Costa Rica at Hotel Santo Tomas and their wonderful staff. Not only did we have a great time relaxing around the pool( and great hot tub) we had a chance to meet many friendly people who we spent the nights with having drinks, sharing stories and getting great advise. One person we would like to thank is Carlos the bartender. We still talk about you all the time and truly do miss your amazing personally and friendly manner. It was a pleasure to meet Tomas in person who once again gave us good insight of where to go and places to see. Tomas also suggested a deep sea fishing trip with a friend of his (Eddie Brown) which ended up being a highlight to our vacation. It was everything and more, and Tomas even took the time out of his day to call us while on the ocean to see how everything was going. The reason why I call this hotel a home away from home is that in the 2 weeks of being in Costa Rica we had the pleasure of staying there for 4 nights and each time we got back it was nice to see all the great staff ( ya you Carlos) and have that sense of comfort. I would suggest this hotel to everyone I know, and can’t wait to come back. The rooms were perfect and clean, food was GREAT and once again the staff was very accommodating. Special thanks to Doris for helping us plan many of our tours, and once again a very special thanks to Tomas for his great advise and awesome hook ups. It’s not very often when you stay at a hotel and get a personal phone call from the owner before you leave making sure we had the best time on our vacation in Costa Rica. Till we meet again....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hey my Happy Friends from Canada, Always my pleasure to help someone and it was so great that you believed me enough to take that fishing trip on my word. Eddie Brown is a born and breed natural fisherman holding many world records , who grew up in Barra de Colorado on the north East corner of Costa Rica, it may not be the end of the world, but you can see it from there ! I have been fishing with him for over 22 years and I almost always catch monster Tarpon and always fish. The greats of like , Lee Marvin, Ted Williams, Mickey Mantel and Jim Belushi to name just a few have fished with him and his brother Roberto. Roberto can even call up crocodiles to the boat , no brag just a fact. Anyone that wants world class fishing at a cheap price, I am here to help, may even go fishing with you if invited ! All of your wonderful comments and praise for the staff are truly welcomed and I have already showed them. Looking forward to your next visit and Happy Holidays to the both of you . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    260
    64
    15
    12
See reviews for
124
298
126
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent two days at Hotel Santo Tomas while flying down to Bocas Del Toro, Panama. Can not say enough about the staff they were great. They were very willing to talk to use and answer our questions about the area. They had several suggestions for us whenever we asked about what to do, eat and where to visit. They did not make suggestions that seemed to be only for the money making benefit of tourist companies that they may have a connection with. This is San Jose, Costa Rica. A great city with very liberal views concidering that we were very happy to see the cleanliness of our room and bedding. We spent three days here on our travel back the the United States and that stay was equally enjoyable and we even met the owner Tomas. He made sure we were treated well and showed a personal interest that our stay was as good as it could get. This hotel is for those who want to feel the full charm of Central America and San Jose, you will be smack dab in the middle of it. Highly recommended and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hola Scott, I think your last two sentences really sets the tone for how a visitor should approach San Jose. You have demonstrated that you have an open mind about traveling and are non judgmental. I try to do the same when I travel, just observe and think OK, so that's how it is here. Then you will have a fine cultural experience and most likely a great vacation. Your very positive comments about us , what we do and that we are genuinely interested in our clients is spot on. I try to set the example to all of my staff that we are Costa Rica good will ambassadors and it's crucial that clients go away feeling that we care. Hope you have a lovely Holiday Season. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is a historic building, which is built very strongly and really nice inside. The staff were wonderful and upgraded our room for free because it was empty that night. They arranged a taxi for us in the morning and made our trip easy without knowing a lot of spanish. The food was also delicious and reasonably priced. The layout of the hotel is very nice and seems much more private and romantic than most hotels. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hola Kristofer, Wonderful to hear that you had a great experience here at the Santo Tomas. The layout of the hotel is different to most in San Jose, as fortunately I have been able to add nice open air and covered view terraces along with balcony rooms , something which most San Jose hotels don't offer along with a jacuzzi and pool by the restaurant. All on these items help to make it romantic. Your comments about the restaurant are most appreciated by me as some clients think that hotel restaurants are not good. My chef, Manuel is 58 years old and has worked in such places as the Marriott and the Intercontinental to name two. We work hard here to provide healthy plates of food with good portions at a reasonable price . Carlos the bartender also serves up some very tasty Pina Coladas at HAppy Hour 4 to 7 pm ! Again Thank you so much for your great review . Happy Holidays to you and family Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I had no plans when we landed in CR. I booked this hotel because in the reviews it mentions that the owner and hotel are great when helping with travel plans. This is 100% true! Thomas the owner gave us great perspective and advise. He convinced us to hire a car and it was the best decision we made. This is a great place to have as a base when traveling CR and a lot of the guests did exactly that. This allowed us also to get some great advice from other travelers. The hotel is clean and the staff are helpful/friendly. We took advantage of the Jacuzzi especially since it can be a bit chilly at night in San Jose. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Tip: San Jose is very unimpressive and I suggest to spend your time traveling the rest of the country

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hey A big Shout out from Thomas here in San Jose ! Thanks for the outstanding review and I think you are right about us being a great San Jose base hotel. I have many travelers that do just that by staying here 3 or 4 nights and taking some wonderful combo day tours. It's pretty hard t do them by yourself efficiently even with a rental car. By the time you add , gas at 6 US per gallon, park fees, lunches and just not knowing where to go the tours really do turn out to be a pretty good bargain. We can assist everyone 24/7 in all of these matters and then , just as we did with you ! I hope you have a wonderful Holiday Season and thanks so much for taking your time to write such a nice review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at this gem of a small hotel for about 3 weeks in Jan. 2010. (Procrastinated to write a review, but never forgot the hotel.) I got to know the superb, friendly and efficient staff. ( Miguel, Doris, Mauricio and others). I met the owner, an American man who has lived in Costa Rica for years,

It was a delightful stay. The location is supeb; right in the heart of downtown, just around the corner from the more pricy Holiday Inn. You can walk to almost any downtown destination from here. (Although, taxis are plentiful and inexpensive.) The hotel is not luxurious, but it is basic, very clean, and well run. The breakfast buffet is varied and delicious. The courtyard is a nice outdoor oasis and relaxation space. I felt quite at home for a longer stay. And, I would gladly stay here again, when I return to San Jose.

Helen S. from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Better to choose a room which is not facing the front of the hotel and the street. It gets a bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hola Helen from Thomas here in San Jose, What a genuine and most rewarding surprise that after almost a year of having stayed here, you remembered and presented Trip Advisor with such a warm and wonderful review. My staff has already seen your kind words and sends a heartfelt Thank You ! Geezz ! what else can I say about your comments , except a big thank you from me personally and I hope you have a safe and joy filled holiday. Looking forward to your next visit in Costa Rica . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff here make ewverything easy. Muricio, Migual and Hosea do every thing thet can to make your trip great. The hotel is in the middle of the hussel bussel but desinged to make you feel like a your on a quiet and private vacation. Work on your tan by the pool or have a romantic encounter with your wife in the private hot tub. They have a well stocked work out room and a private room for parties. I stayed there on my first trip and return to visit often.

Room Tip: They have rooms of all sizes and prices. Choose the one that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi Johnny, Thanks so much for you most excellent review ! That's great that you named some of my front desk staff and we should include Doris there as well. They all work as a team 24/ 7 to provide information and arrange tours and car rental services. You title just says it all and it is the experience that you had that we are constantly striving for our guests. Most guests say from the entrance it is very deceiving , but once you are inside, the courtyards and covered view terraces along with the hot jacuzzi and pool side / happy hour and dining help to provide one with pleasant restful, surrounding after a day of walking, traveling or touring. Johnny thanks again so much for the outstanding review . Warmest and Happy Holidays from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a great week at this hotel earlier this month. It is truly an oasis and a great bargain in the heart of San Jose. The facility is immaculate, the pool and hot tub are wonderful, and the restaurant and food are great. The owner Tomas is a gringo who has lived many years in Costa Rica and Doris, Mauricio and the rest of the staff are very courteous and knowledgeable of the area.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, request one of the newer remodeled rooms on the second floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hola Mr Hastings, thanks so much for taking your time to write this great review. That is how I see the hotel property , a small gem in the heart of San Jose that needs to be continually polished. It's really nice that you mentioned my staff. Miguel, Doris, Mauricio and Jose are my front line team here and they all work together to make it happen each and every day. All of them are trained in tour and travel planning along with car rental services and it is our pleasure to assist with making this happen , just ask 24/7 . Many other clients agree with you about it being a bargain and this is one of the things we strive to present. Again thank you so much for your review and I am happy you had a wonderful experience here in Costa Rica. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#31 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.