We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD Base for exploring San Jose, or relax/recharge In between travels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off 3 nite Min. Stay
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GOOD Base for exploring San Jose, or relax/recharge In between travels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is really nice if you need to stay in San Jose! The city itself in my opinion is nothing special, but if you want to take a good shower, repack your suitcase and have a good night sleep before traveling further I would recommend Santo Thomas! Internet is also very fast and available in the rooms, you can store luggage for free and the breakfast is nice and included as well. It's location is perfect, just a small walk to the main shopping street, parcs and musea. Don't look any further, this is the place to sleep in the city!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hola Debbie D. from Thomas, Thank You for the wonderful review and I am really happy you see, recognize and appreciate what we are offering. We are also a great location for day tours and traveling to the Caribbean side. Free and fast internet is something really important to clients today and with four different routers serving the property there are strong signals everywhere. Free luggage storage and other services are our pleasure to offer and we are happy to assist with any thing our clients may require. again thank you so much for your fine review Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    256
    61
    14
    11
See reviews for
114
294
123
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
deltona fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a great place--super location--Thomas the owner and his entire staff are just the BEST. I have been going to C.R. for 30 some years and this is beyond a doubt the best hotel in San Jose (dollar for dollar)You will not be dissapointed!!!!!!!!!! Terry - Florida

Room Tip: Get a balcony room that overlooks the pool/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Terry from San Jose and Thomas, WOW what can I say thank you, especially from someone that has most likely stayed in almost every hotel in San Jose. dollar for dollar that is what I am striving for , thanks for helping get the secret out !!! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly.The owner is a wonderful man. They also have secure parking, well worth the price i paid, was able to leave it there for the day while my girls and i walked around San Jose for the day! Food was really good, rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable, we were pleasantly surprised that there was a Spa. the only thing better would of been If it was hotter. But other than that a great place to stay for the money. Oh! also it was a bit hard for me to find, but than again, every place in San Jose is hard to find. I found it because i had originally wanted a place close of the children's museum and it was close enough to walk to there and we used that as a guide to find the hotel. The beds are VERY comfortable, the rooms have HUGE flat screen t.v.s in there. free wi fi! The only improvements i find needed are:
1. hotter spa
2. Hotter and better running hot water for shower
3. An option of ordering additional or more breakfast if u want more.
We would definitely stay there again! The overall experience was very good compared to any little improvements i wanted and having had experienced other hotels in Costa Rica before i realize that Hotel Santos Tomas tries to do everything they can for your enjoyment while u stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure u find GOOD landmarks to help you find the place IF you are driving. If u want quieter roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hola Not Just the Ordinary from LA. ! Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and I am happy you had such an excellence experience here at the Hotel Santo Tomas and in Costa Rica. You summed it all up very well and I look forward to your return. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is without any doubt one of the best hotels in San Jose. The value for your money is very good. The hotel and the rooms are nice, clean and cozy. Everything worked perfect. The service and the staff are very friendly and always ready to help. The location of the hotel is also good if you are into walk around to know San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hola Elli ! A warm thank you from Thomas for your wonderful review :-) In a very short , concise paragraph you have summed up exactly what the hotel offers. We have been here doing it for the past 23 years and our free hot cooked breakfast and free Wi-Fi are just two of the items that keep clients coming back. Again MUCHAS GRACIAS for the nice review . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I originally booked another hotel in San Jose that was rated high by travel advisor.When traveling alone I do not expect much but after a one night stay I found the hotel to be unacceptable. I checked out and found Hotel Santo Tomas. I have walked by the hotel numerous times without paying much attention. I was given a tour of the hotel. The rooms ranged in size and price, but all were tastefully furnished. The design of the layout is roomy, cozy and an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. I checked in immediately.
More importantly the staff were courteous, professional and friendly. The owner Thomas was the ultimate professional. He was extremely helpful whatever the subject matter maybe. He was never to busy to assist anyone are just sit down and have an enjoyable conversation.
The location was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are much quieter than rooms adjacent to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi Henry, great having you stay here with us and it was my pleasure to assist you in any way possible. You are correct the front of the hotel does not do it justice. As in many Latin cities , the front of buildings are deceiving , but behind the doors is a true Costa Rica gem. We strive to offer the most personalized service of any hotel in San Jose. We have free travel and tour planning available 24/7 and there is always someone here to assist you in your needs. Wonderful to have you stay here Henry and I look forward to your next visit.
Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great funky hotel in the downtown area of San Jose. It’s about 2 blocks from the Holiday Inn which is always easy to locate. Santo Tomas is a little easy to miss from the street but look for the large sign on top of the building. Like a few other hotels in the area, it appears to be an amalgamation of several buildings around a central courtyard. So the hallways never go too far without an odd turn. It all adds to the charm of this well run and inviting hotel. I was encouraged to snoop around so I went to just about every corner of the hotel and inspected several empty rooms. All the rooms are very well furnished and mine had the most comfortable bed that I’ve had on the road in years. There are excellent facilities including a gym and a pool. Internet is provided by wifi and they have a lobby computer. A hearty Tico breakfast is included and is served at the adjoining restaurant next to the pool. It’s a very friendly and family atmosphere and a great time to meet other guests and compare trip notes. The owner is on site and will quickly attend to any issues. Front desk staffs are bilingual and helpful. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean, safe , couples hotel in the downtown area, you can’t beat it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you want the newer and a bit more elegantly furnished rooms, ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
DiverDan a big shout out from Thomas in Costa Rica ! Great review from you and we are just around the corner from the Holiday Inn, not even 50 yards ! I have designed and built the hotel with many covered and outdoor seating areas so that guests may do exactly what you described. Meet other guests and exchange stories, travel experiences and most of the time it motivates otherwise sometimes shy guests into asking more questions and allowing us help them to have a wonderful travel experience while in Costa Rica. Many times we assist clients with car rentals , tours and other travel plans. You comment about us being well run and inviting is something I strive for each and every day to deliver along with my staff. Opinions such as yours and many others here on Trip Advisor is proof that we are hitting the mark. Ousting comments from you DiverDan, again thank you so much Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The personal touch, very friendly staff that will help you make your stay/trip unforgetable.
The rooms are clean and the whole building has a nice cosy atmosphere.
Breakfast is to my opinion up for improvement, but that is probably because I prefer peanut butter for breakfast. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hola from Costa Rica Ferdinand, Your comments about the personal touch and friendly staff making your stay unforgettable are excellent. That is what we are striving for here in the hotel, Creating memories for our guests that will engender them to Hotel Santo Tomas and Costa Rica. My philosophy is we are the first line ambassadors for this wonderful country and it is our desire that each visitor leaves with an outstanding experience of Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your kind review . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.