We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off 3 nite Min. Stay
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas for 10 days at the beginning of May. What a great place. The rooms are so clean, the staff delightful and their coffee machine the best coffee in the city. The restaurant run by Carlos and Don Manuel was delicious! I loved being so close to the main street and museums and yet far enough that the traffic noise was not a problem. Please do remember to take a swim suit!

Room Tip: We like to sleep late so chose a room away from the pool and the birds sing loudly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Gloria A. , Thanks so much for your honest and accurate comments. Yes, we are very close to all downtown attractions. Carlos and Manuel from the restaurant send their greetings and say thanks for your kind remarks on them and the restaurant. I hope you return in the near future and please send us you friends !
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    227
    52
    12
    10
See reviews for
100
242
114
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is amazing. Behind the somewhat inconspicuous looking facade you find an oasis of peace right in the centre of town. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, the owner, an expat American, really charming. He restored this fine building to its original splendour and added a very tasteful and spacious second story. The hotel also offers a small pool and jacuzzi.

We were very satisfied with our room in the new section, which was given to us as a free upgrade.

One word about the area. Avenida 7 carries a lot of traffic and you would hang out in the area at night. However, we had not problems. The great advantage is, that the hotel is only four blocks away from the very centre of town, the Avenida Central.

Conclusion: Great place, great value for money. We'd go back there any time.

Room Tip: If you're prepared to spend the extra dollar, get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Jorg K. I think you summed it up very well in your review when you stated : Conclusion: Great place, great value for money. We'd go back there any time. Thank You so very much for taking the time to post and your thoughtful comments. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

As it is with most hotels and locations in San Jose it is a little difficult to find, but once inside it is quaint and very comfortable. The grounds are clean, with nice open spaces so you don't really feel too much like you are in the city. The staff was polite and quite helpful and you really get a warm Costa Rican feel from your entire stay at Santa Tomas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi ghowlett, I wanted to say a personal thank you for your post here. Your comments are very accurate about the hotel and the ambiance that I have tried to create in downtown San Jose. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Santo Tomas hotel, the only way to describe our stay was perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicous and the owner Thomas was very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunatly we never got to use the pool, but theres always next time! Thank you to all the staff for the great stay, it really was the perfect birthday getaway =)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms overlooking the pool are very spacious and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I took the advice of other writers and booked a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Nice room with a larger tv screen. lots of channels which is good to get you through the 3 o'clock thanderstorms, along with the small market at the end of the block and the tasty churroscaria opposite. Well-priced.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with balconies - large, airy and bright, compared to the corrdor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the reviews on this site. It was my first trip to San Jose, and it won't be my last. I plan on staying here each time I come. The rooms are clean, bright and spacious. I upgraded to the balcony, and it was worth the price. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they were able to answer any questions I had during my stay.
I had breakfast with the owner Thomas on several mornings, and wonderful conversations with him and other guests about the area. The pool area is great, but be careful, it is easy to get sunburned here very quickly. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas, and I have to say, this is one of the best Hotels in not only San Jose, but in the entirety of Costa Rica. I found everything to be beyond satisfactory, including comfort, accommodations, cleanliness, and an extremely polite and helpful staff and an incredibly entertaining owner! This was my first stay at Hotel Santo Tomas, but by no means my last. Thanks to Thomas and his wonderful staff for EVERYTHING! I loom forward to seeing y'all soon!

-Lewis

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.