We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location for no-frills stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Hurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value and location for no-frills stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Booked a king room for 4 nights at Hotel Europa for a March visit to Costa Rica. Online booking was easy and I received several e-mail confirmations before my stay. Check-in was a little slow but overall service was adequate.
The hotel is old and prides itself as being the oldest hotel in the city. It is definitely in need of some refurbishment but room was clean and a/c worked well. Water pressure in the shower was practically non-existent but water was hot. Internet was usually reliable but went out for one full day with no explanation available from front desk...."it's just not working."
Complimentary breakfast in the morning was very good and a great way to start the day. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.
If you have a car, while there is valet parking available I was never able to locate the exact lot the hotel uses and got several different sets of directions. There is plenty of guarded parking the the neighborhood so it didn't really make much of a difference although my understanding was that hotel parking was free.
As for the location, it is right in the middle of the city and it's very easy to walk to nearby attractions, shopping, restaurants, etc. The area is quite dicey in the evening so some caution should be exercised if you choose to be out late. Taxis are cheap and easy to get in this area, just be sure you ask the driver to use the meter before you go anywhere. Hotel staff was quite helpful in getting me a taxi to the airport upon my departure.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and found the hotel to be a good value with a great location. Don't expect too much as far as luxury or amenities and you'll be just fine. Would stay at Hotel Europa again if I needed to be in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Try to get a king room on the 3rd floor. My understanding is that the basic rooms are quite small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    31
    18
    20
See reviews for
7
27
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good place to say for the money. It's an older hotel, but they keep it clean. Did not use the outdoor pool, too many leaves the day I tried. I was happy the A/C unit in my room worked well (I like it cold). Online I booked a king bed room for myself but upon arrival I was notified there were no more kings available, instead they gave me a room with three single beds. The only thing that I would change would be the mattress... very hard. If you are a light sleeper try to get a room away from the street, the car horns are honking 24/7. To get the key to the room safe they charge $3 per day. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I booked a room for 2 weeks at the Europa. I left after 2 days. I arrived to find there was no internet working in my room. The reception desk informed me the internet didn't reach that far and they would change my room the next day. The following day I was told that no I couldn't change rooms as there were no other rooms available.
I was desperate for cup of tea but there are no kettles or coffee makers supplied. I asked the reception desk for one and they told me to buy it myself from a shop.
There was no hot water on day one and on day two there was no water at all. I couldn't even flush the toilet!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Europa on two different occasions during our holiday - for 3 nights at the start of our trip and then for 2 nights at the end of the trip.
It was incredibly cheap and for one of the nights we only paid £20 (internet deal) for a large double room including breakfast. But it's cheap for a reason - the rooms were very basic and there weren't any luxuries or nice views.
In our first room the drains in the bathroom were just holes in the floor and were prone to flooding the room and the toilet got blocked up easily. However, it was fairly clean and there was a built-in fan to keep the room cool.
The breakfast was really good and there was a choice of hot food and freshly cooked eggs which changed daily (omelets, scrambled eggs etc) as well as cereal, fresh fruit and juice.
You can't fault the central location as it's close to the main pedestrian street and local attractions. We didn't use the casino but it looked ok (mainly slot machines). The pool was being refurbished whilst we were there so hopefully it'll look a bit better when it's finished.
The room we had on our second stay was much better than the first one as it was bigger and the shower was much better so that improved our opinion of the hotel.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a long stay but as a stop over for a few nights it's fine, especially if you can find a good price like we did.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor seemed smaller than the others - the second and third floor rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

i felt like there were a lot of people hanging around in the lobbies, and the room's appearance was average. There was no chair for the desk. Wifi was in and out. But I got sleep and it was cheap for a hotel, so that was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

While everyone is complaining Hotel Europa is 1 of the best hotels you can stay at when visiting San Jose the hotel is at 3 star hotel that deserves 4 stars the service was okay the hotel prices were excellent I was barely in my hotel room so I only needed the hotel to Sleep In at Night. if you're traveling to Costa Rica to live in expensive hotel's then maybe you need to reevaluate why you really went! in short, the hotel is perfect for the budget traveler and people who I have a lot of things planned for their stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a tour of Costa Rica. It wasn't a welcoming experience. The hotel is shabby, the staff pretty surly, and the decor unloved and in need of renovation. The lift had, apparently, been out of action for at least a fortnight before we arrived, and still had not been fixed when we returned two weeks later - a real problem, especially as no help was offered to take bags upstairs (even though I am disabled). If you can put up with all this, it is fairly cheap and in a good central location

Room Tip: Higher floors have, we were advised, better rooms, of stairs aren't a problem for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel San Jose
Hotel Europa Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.