We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Friendly service, clean, hot water, reasonably quiet. Booked on Expedia for $36 for two double beds, in small, clean room. Full breakfast with fresh omelet made to your taste, fresh fruit, and more. Staff very helpful. Front desk staff knew English well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    30
    18
    20
See reviews for
6
27
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NRGB, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast was awesome. The rooms are huge but in need of remodeling. Nice casino and restaurant at hotel. The staff were very helpful. The pool was a little run down with no views. The free parking was nice once I found it. This is a great value for $40 a night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Location is scary (turn left and get robbed turn right and walk fast!) Internet is poor, food is very poor, service is poor, quality of rooms is poor (just run down) and if you like hospital styled hallways and a rough night club in the foyer, you will love this over priced hotel.
Thumbs down

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here one night after my flight. The staff were friendly and efficient and spoke perfect English. The room was adequate, nothing to write home about, with dated furniture, however the bed was very comfortable and the ac worked well. I had an interior room, so street noise did not bother me, however if you are on the street side, I can see how this would be annoying. the rack rate would be too much, but I got it on hotels.com for 33$ (worth that price for sure). If you are accustomed to 4 and 5 star hotels, you will not like this place. If you are used to budget travel, this will be a great find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa tn 38451
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I really liked this hotel. Check in was simple although they did not have the Room I reserved with Expedia, they were very apologetic and offered to upgrade as soon as possible. The lobby was very nice and the staff was very professional and did everything they could to accommodate. The room had large closets with hangers TV was good the safe for this room had no key the bathroom was clean and had pleanty of towels soap and shampoo hot water a/c worked quiet but was not needed much the Resturant was classey but the dinner buffet was not good, however the Breakfast was very good with many options and was substantial. Location is wonderful right in the center of San Jose only 4 blocks from central ave within walking distance of everything. Hope to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room next to the street so buses and traffic noise by day after 10 quiet until 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We were here 14 days ago. It was the starting point of our trip with imaginative travelers. We asked for a Yard room upon our return closer to wifi.

The rooms facing the street are very noisy all night. It was confirmed but when we came back, we got the room we had before. No wifi, facing the noisy street and again no hairdryer.

The recepionist declared that there will be no hairdryer available for today - this is 3.30pm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good hotel for the money if you make your reservation with Hotwire or a website reservation. I wouldn't pay the room rack rate of $80-$100, but making reservations online with Hotwire I have paid as little as $35 per night for a room with 2 double beds, air conditioning, tv, hot water, etc. and buffet breakfast. This hotel is not the most modern, and probably could use a refresher on carpeting, and furniture, but everything is clean and decent quality. This is not an upper end, very expensive, tourist hotel. This is a basic hotel. The hotel staff pay good attention to details. We have always brought our kids, and they have never been a problem here. The kids get a breakfast buffet ticket with our reservation if they are mentioned in the online hotel purchase. It is also very central to San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel San Jose
Hotel Europa Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.