We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One circle is an understatement - WORSE HOTEL EVER!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One circle is an understatement - WORSE HOTEL EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hardly a honeymoon suite; booked this back in January, but did not get all the features of the honeymoon package offered. Also, got a giant cockroach, non-functional table light, and then we moved to another room, and it had no air condition, and then moved to another room, which at the end, was not bad, but at least in satisfactory condition. HIGHLY UNRECOMMENDED. Reporting live on location at the hotel as I write this review. We played musical rooms. We will not recommend this hotel at all. 3.5 circles is an overstatement of how good it is. It is not anything close! We haven't had breakfast yet and I'm worrying even about the quality. We haven't got a wake-up call yet even we requested one.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel, not a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    31
    19
    22
See reviews for
8
28
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Fla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was pleased to see my friends at the front desk, dinning room and the main bellman again. I have stayed at several hotels around San Jose, but always come back to Europa. Europa is not a 5 star Hotel, but the service and breakfast included make up for it. Europa is a great place for an overnight stay before going on to another destination or for day trips and returning in the evening. Always book online as the price is much lower than at the hotel. They have parking one block down from the hotel and is included with validated ticket from the hotel. You can buy flowers on the street for the lobby, which they appreciate very much, and they remember you when you return.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor and and away from the main street down below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Europa again and felt that things are changing for better. The people at the recepction seem more customer service oriented. Ricardo aT the Front desk was very kind.
I stayed in a room on the first floor and it was very well keept, but you can hear everything happening in the Lobby. I recommend to stay on the second or third floor.
As always breakfast was excellent.
Keep improving!!

Room Tip: I recommend to stay on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have stayed at the hotel on several occasions for work purposes. not a fancy place but the price paid for the accommodation is right. Some rooms need improvement in the paint and furniture. I have found bulbs burned in lamps at night; small details that can be improved easily and that would make a great difference in the guest experience. Reception staff is a bit rough, except for Eduard, who is always helpful and willing to serve. He has the habit of calling the guest by name, that indicates interest in the people who is staying .in the hotel
breakfast is delicious with several options to choose from.

I will continue staying in this hotel whenever I need it and I would really love to se some positive changes in rooms as well as in some recepcion staff

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Make a reservation online at their website, on their website does not indicate situations CORPORATE rates when you get me cooporativa indicated that the rate is lower than the internet, but they could not aplicarmela, but if you could change the conditions that reserve online, book a double and a single gave me, that if they changed it.
noise of the vehicles that the room faces the main street could not sleep, the parking is not hard but when you get labeled 30 minutes wondering where is the parking lot of Hotel Europa.
when asked to speak with customer service people told me to speak to the manager, but it never condescends to answer my messages.
I hope that people looking for accommodation in San Jose can find better options, and with good customer service.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Got two nights for $79 for a queen sized bed. Nice big room on the 2nd floor. Located in a spot where you will want to take a cab to get wherever you need to at night, but is just fine during the day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice little casino with some slot machines. Restaurant was ok. Free breakfast was allright, but great food available at the bakery around the corner.

Hotel is older and not as modern as some others...but there was a nice 32 inch flat screen tv in my room...very large showers and large rooms...would stay again if on a budget. If money is not as much of an issue...stay somewhere nicer and more centrally located...but for me, it worked out great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

For $35 a night, I do not expect kingly service and immaculate rooms. But Hotel Europa actually bordered on disgusting. The entire place smelled of ripe body odor and stale, uncleaned carpeting. The business computer in the lobby was sticky and putrid-smelling. The bed in our room looked like it had lived through 2 world wars, and the bathroom smelled like a backed up septic system. The air conditioning blew out moist air. We had a balcony overlooking another building, and a sliding door that did not lock, let alone close. The front desk service was non-existent unless you spoke fluent Spanish.

It being our last night in San Jose, Costa Rica, we seriously considered packing up, forfeiting our money and spending the night at the airport. (The bed really did look that terrible.) However, not wanting to hail a taxi at midnight, we decided to sleep for a few hours. Much to Hotel Europa's credit, there were no bedbugs, and we slept very peacefully- at least in the moments when our neighbors' TV wasn't blaring through the paper-thin walls.

At 9am, we went down for the complimentary breakfast, and it was delicious. Gallo pinto, scrambled eggs, potatoes, fruit juice, fresh fruit, and coffee fueled us for the rest of the day.

Despite Hotel Europa's surprising elements (clean bed, good breakfast) I would really rather pay a bit more for a cleaner atmosphere. Something about living in a place that smells like a metropolitan sewer is very off-putting...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Central, Avenidas 3 y 5, San Jose 7712-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel San Jose
Hotel Europa Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.