We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine... however service in the restaurant appalling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Britannia to your Saves list
Hotel Britannia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Street Between 9th and 11th Avenues, San Jose 3742-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
London
1 review
“Hotel fine... however service in the restaurant appalling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Hospitality and helpfulness of the front desk really fantastic, room clean, all good on that front, service in the restaurant was something out of 'Fawlty Towers' but just not funny, and the final indignity was being over charged by 25%!
Fortunately after leaving the restaurant I discivered the error, reported to the front desk who were able to rectify the problem.
Again, the hotel itself was absolutely fine, just find somewhere else to eat if you stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Guest

We are really pleased to know that hotel liked you, and we have to tell you that all staff have been changing

Thanks,

Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed at Britannia just one night, after flying in rather late to San Jose. We were cordially checked in, and the questions we had were courteously and promptly answered. The breakfast that was included in the trip (we had booked through latindestinations.com/Swiss Travel Services) was nice, but minimal - toast, fresh fruit, and some of the best orange juice I've ever tasted. The rooms were clean, but not large, and the neighborhood is a bit seedy, but the hotel itself and grounds (what little grounds there are) are well-kept and nice. The staff were nice. It was a good place to stay just for one night, and right downtown, which could have been fun, had we been staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for you comments

Probably you booking was for a standard room, is the cheapest room , but also we have other larger rooms.

Thanks again,

Att: concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

One of these hotels on the oldish style, but really full of charms.
No pool, no real parking lot and some noise from the street, but a beautiful hotel like you don't see anymore in Costa Rica. Not too far from the downtown (5 minutes on foot) and somewhat safe area with a few reatsurants and bars.
Internet and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for ou comments

We are glad to know that your stay was comfortable.

Att:
concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The staff is just wonderful: Friendly and cheerful and able to help in any way. The hotel itself is small and has great personality.

It's just a few easy blocks from the central square...in many ways it is much more convenient than the major chain hotels which are really not walking distance to the central downtown area.

The restaraunt, while a little pricey, had unexpectedly good food and service. The steak was wonderful, the service friendly and capable. It was a wonderful dinner!

If you like nice hotels with character, this would be an excellent pick. If you are the sort that prefers an Intercontinental then this may not be your place. But if you came to experience Costa Rica, this is just a very good choice.

  • Liked — Friendly, capable staff! Convenient location. Personality.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Guest

thanks for you comments

We are glad that your stay was comfortable, and thank you for stand out the positive aspects of the hotel britannia,every day we work to provide better service.

Att:
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

The Britania in San Jose was quite interesting. It served it's purpose to sleep and eat breakfast. The staff was friendly, but the amenities were not anything to write home about. Our excursions out of the hotel is what made the trip in San Jose doable. If you have families please pick another hotel.

I didn't feel it was in the best part of town. The first night we arrived there, my husband and I saw a woman of the night at a nearby corner. Kinda strange because it wasn't a very busy corner.

Breakfast was quick and easy. Nothing really special or typical. Another thing about the restaraunt/bar, which was strange...I asked for a tequila that was in their stocked bar. They stated that this was the owners personal collection. We asked for another type of alcohol and again that was part of his collection. So pretty much bring your own alcohol at that place. Why display your personal collection of alcohol in the open for customers to ask for something they can't have. Weird. Lock it up or put it behind some glass. We ended up drinking the local beer.

The one good thing was an amazing restaraunt across the street that was phenominal. The restaraunt was cozy and beautiful. The food was delicious and made to order. I would highly recommend this place for anyone: Cafe Moro Restartaunt. So, I may not return to the Britania Hotel in San Jose but will be thankfully greatful for the great find on Cafe Moro.

  • Liked — The staff were helpful and nice.
  • Disliked — The place overall wasn't that great. If you're passing through for one night, no problem. Don't make a vacation staying only there.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comments,

all the restaurant staff is new, and now any liquor that is exposed in the Cellar can be sold without any problem,

we apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Atte:

Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I liked this location a lot because I could walk to many of the central San Jose parks, museums, and shopping areas in 10 to 15 minutes. There are unique features to this property that gives you a sense of a change of pace, without making you feel unsafe. The rooms are cozy, the restaurant (I only ate breakfast there) is nice, and the staff was helpful. This may not be the best area of San Jose to stay for families with children, but for couples and mature singles that are comfortable in foreign cities this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable.

Atte
concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Brittania on our first and last day of our vacation in Costa Rica. Brittania is pretty central to the downtown area, Mercado Central, museums, Jade museum, all within walking distance. Our first night we came in and the check-in was quick and easy. Our room 203 was small dark and like another traveler said, dark during the day. It could have been because the hotel has little light coming in from the sky lights.

There are plenty of shops if you walk to the center of town. The breakfast was toast, seasonal fruit and juice and coffee. It was pretty good. If you want something a little bigger there is a Soda about 3 blocks north on the right side where we ended up eating some local cuisine. The food was excellent and very affordable a place of beans/rice a protein and two drinks was $13 dollars. The place is run by a Nicaraguan family and the owners name is Carlos. Very nice people and helpful in giving us tips on the area.

The last night on our way our of Costa Rica we stayed in Brittanias room 210 which is above the restaurant, (jr. Suite) it had high ceiling a view of the street and directly across from the INCA REAL hotel. We travel often and I come from a third world country and we never complain. I believe you could be poor and still keep things neat and clean. The only issue we had with this room is that we found tiny roaches in the restroom coming our the drain, which I thought was the same drain that lead to the kitchen in the restaurant down below. I figured they use the drain as their highway to our suite. There were roaches in the goodie basket above the refrigerator. We found a few of the little critters crawling on the bed too. We didn't complain and we simply used our "BUGS OFF" spray around the drain and that seemed to do the trick.

Would i come back.. probably not. We didn't have the roach problem in Room 203... so if you go... make sure you ask for something besides room 210 jr. suite. or carry bug spray with you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ROACHES
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Guest:

We are so sorry for the inconvenience;Costa Rica is a tropical country, so we are often exposed to this type of plagues, sometimes really hard to eradicate, but nowadays and for more than a year we have not any problems like you mentioned or another.


we appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay,

Att: Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannia

Address: 3rd Street Between 9th and 11th Avenues, San Jose 3742-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No more endless searching for a hotel in downtown San Jose. Get form Britannia Hotel's services the best of lodging and tours to Costa Rica. Britannia's convenient spot is well known for getting out the best of your romantic, adventure, natural or relaxation trip to Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel San Jose
Hotel Britannia Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.