We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Location - Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location near downtown San Jose. Rooms are clean and rates include breakfast. A casino on the top floor with free buffet as well as a 4 star restaurant. Also a nice bar upstairs from the lobby. City park across the street makes for a picture perfect setting. It always helps to speak a bit of Spanish but not required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a great view, day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Randall H;

It’s great to hear you have a nice time discovering our city and enjoy our locations in San José Downtown.

We appreciate the time you take to share your comments and we hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you next time!

Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    164
    114
    35
    19
See reviews for
51
152
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel July 4th weekend and was insulted by the rude and unprofessional staff. I meet someone at a nightclub the evening before and that person came back to my room but did not spend the night. The next evening that individual called and wanted to meet at the hotel and go to dinner. This hotel has one those elevator systems where you need a room key to use. I had to meet the individual in the lobby. We were stopped by the staff returning to my room and they demanded that I pay a visitors fee of $70 for my guest. This was in the lobby in front of everyone. I told them to add the amount to the bill and they refused. I was told I have to present them with a credit card now, they had no card on file. My friend had to remain in the lobby. Do you know how embarrassing the staff made us feel. When I checked out of the hotel they somehow found the card on file to bill for other items. Other than the rude staff the hotel location is good but the furniture looks like it's from 1982. The rooms could use a little sprucing!

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jefforl;

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola.
I do apologize you felt embarrassed by our staff. I will like to know more details about your stay.
Would you please contact us directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com.

We do appreciate your comments and hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ginnette Fernandez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had a great experience during my business trip to San Jose staying at the Holiday inn Aurola in June 2014. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and treat me like family. The downtown hotel is walking distance to shopping areas and they have taxis right there waiting for you. The top level restaurant provides great views and superb cuisine. Highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Nelly0711;

We are so happy to hear you felt like home during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola.

I will past your kindly words to our staff and appreciate the time you had take to write your review!

I hope you can come back in the future and have some time to discover our city as well.

Kindly,

Ginnette Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Aurola had very efficient and good service. The checkin took no time and my 12th floor room faced the mountain that was excellent to wake up to. Amenities were good and bedding was very comfortable. Fast wifi.

There is the Grayline tour desk as well as another one by the front entrance. Both were excellent in terms of getting tours or if you simply want to venture out on your own (ask Grayline for a local map.) The Grayline tour desk recommended La Criollita that had tasty and filling breakfast and where most ticos go to! As I always recommend, when traveling, try immersing into local culture and ask for suggestions.

And like many other hotels in the city, they would store your luggage if you have checked out already.

Location wise, while it is a couple blocks north of the major streets, it is separated by the Parque Morazan, which is not safe to walk around at night. So instead of wandering out for dinner on a Sunday night when most places close at 9pm (you could cross the street and grab an ice cream), I decided to eat at Tropicana Restaurant inside the hotel. The fish dish was good and the drink was strong.

In addition, they also included a complimentary drink at the La Palma Bar which was decent too.

They also got me the local red cab to the airport. Generally many said only locals would take it but since it's from the trusting hotel, I was pleased to have a good ride and it was cheaper than what I paid for when taking a shuttle van at the airport to the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear TaminatorSF;

Thanks for share your kind comments and words about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the heart of San Jose, the local culture and typical food.

We hope you continue to choose Holiday Inn Aurola next time you visit our country!! Once again, thanks for your review.

Pura Vida!!

Ginnette Fernandez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Booked via IHG for 79$. Arrived late evening to a lobby which was partially closed up for a cleaning of the carpets (not inviting at all). Check in was OK, not particularly friendly, but polite. Benefits provided to Gold members is a free drink per night at teh bar, no breakfast or bottled water.

The room itself was decently sized with plenty of window, decent view of SJO, good king bed, nice clean bathroom, free wifi. The TV is old school CRT with decent selection of channels. The aroma of the room was unpleasant, musty, light cat pee, maybe due to tropical clime. Air conditioning helped a bit with attenuating the odor.

The gym was decently appointed with ellipticals, treadmills, some weights. The pool was nice but again, some renovation work made the area unappealing to the eye. The Jacuzzi was OK.
The location is good, with plenty of dinning options around (ask the bellboys), Auto Mercado is 2 blocks away for groceries...the immediate area is OK to walk at night (Morazan park is lively with youths hanging around) but if you walk to far, it can get a little iffy (you do get a warning). I did not partake in the breakfast at the hotel (15$ buffet). I did use my free drinks and the young lady serving me was very pleasant...go for the Pura Vida (anything with a lil. guaro is good).

If this hotel could get some reno work and updates, it would be a really good option...I still recommend it.

Room Tip: book direct with IHG,...take advantage of 5000 points offer for 20$ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lubiere;

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at our Property. We do apologize our lobby were partially closed by your check in time and our hotel were under some renovations. It is important to us to consistently provide good quality in order to guarantee a nice and pleasant stay.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you next time you visit San José Downtown.

Sincerely,

Ginnette Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel two days while visiting Costa Rica, and had a chance to see much of the things they had to offer. The entire hotel looks great, and of a higher quality than the typical Holiday Inn. The requirement of a room key to use the elevator is a great security feature. The indoor pool (which also requires a room key to access) was nice, and I appreciated how they brought us towels when we got there. We were served dinner on our second night, and the food was great. Breakfast was just as good. Though we had an issue with the room key, a man was quickly sent over to fix the card reader. The room itself was in great condition, with everything (except the tv) looking new. The bathroom was nicely supplied with towels and various soaps, shampoos, etc. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. I enjoyed the view from the room, which included a park, the city, and mountains in the background. I was also happy to find that there was a gift shop located in the lobby. The staff was very helpful, and fortunately spoke English very well. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica or just visiting the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jonathan B;

We do appreciate your kind words and the time you take to share your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. It’s really nice you had some time to discover the heart of our city while enjoying our comfortable beds and relaxing at the pool.

We hope you continue to choose Holiday Inn Aurola next time you visit San José Downtown.

Kindly,

Ginnette Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Kingsize beds were simply amazing. Overall, the hotel is superb. It has a small gym, swimming pool (towels are supplied). Breakfast is good, they have a chef who prepares eggs to your wishes.
Downside is that the wifi wasn't flawless (my first visit it was, now it was mas o menos). Jacuzzi at the pool didn't work. But don't let these things stop you from going here, really good!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a Kingsize bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Pim D;

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola. We do appreciate your feedback! I am so happy to heart you had an amazing rest at our beds.
I do apologize for the small inconveniences you at with Wi-Fi and Jacuzzi, your comments are a great opportunity to improve quality of services and avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope you can give us the chance to welcome you next time you visit San José Downtown.

Sincerely,
Ginnette Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.