We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Fortuna, San Carlos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel has a great location if you want to be near to everything in San José City. The staff was very friendly and took care of everything regarding our stay. They have a restaurant in the top of the building, so it offers the oportinity of a great panoramic view of the city. Food was great, I tryed breakfast, lunch and dinner, no complainers at all. Overall a great service, very clear rooms and really good food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    163
    113
    34
    16
See reviews for
51
149
55
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jefferson ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Unexpected trip for funeral. Hotel did not know why we were there, but gave us royal treatment. 8th floor room had great view and bed was perfect! My wife, sister and I became friends with many of the hotel staff. Cost is not bad at all and never had any problems, so we plan to vacation there next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AurolaHolidayInn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Hman2013;

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent saty at our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you feel welcome and received a great service; even when your reason for travel were different. Next time you return to San Jose for vacations, be sure to check out our extensive tours and visit the National Teather and musseums! Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to welcoming you and your family again next year!


Sincerely,

Ginnette Fernandez, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was provided for me on a 9 day business stay, and I'm not one to kick a gift horse in the mouth. And to its credit, the staff is very friendly and helpful without exception. However, I will list some of the reasons why I would never stay here again given the choice unless it was the only possibility for one night only: 1) The "Old Hotel" smell. Strong and windows can't be opened in the rooms. 2) Horrible, dim lighting. 3) Outdated. Way outdated. Like staying in a roadside motel in the 50's (don't let the hotel exterior and lobby fool you). 4) Old dirty carpeting everywhere 5) Years of dust tracks leading into the air intake registers in the ceiling of the lobby-floor restaurant 6) the stopper in my sink did not close and I was told it could not be repaired. 7) When I touched the radio clock alarm to set it, it literally fell apart into pieces in my hands (it was replaced with a functioning one) 8) threadbare and thin towels. 9) the cheapest thinnest toilet paper possible 10) it is in the middle of the red light district - and not just that, but it is in the "she-male" quarter where the women on the corners are mostly really men. It is not uncommon to step around used condoms on the sidewalks. Need more reasons to not stay here?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are very sorry you did not have a good experience at our hotel. We tried our best to assist you during your stay, but unfortunately we were unable to wow you. For that we are sincerely sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, lovely bar above town square, nice workout room, heated pool (4 feet deep), clean towels - very nice place. The wi-fi was not working in the room, but very strong signal in the common areas. Overall nice stay.

There is no shuttle to the airport - be ready to pay $30 for taxi and another $27 at the airport (exit tax).

Room Tip: I booked mine on line, it was a great room with two corner windows, quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We apologize for the weak wifi signal you experienced in your room. Although we have upgraded our wifi network, on occasion, the bandwidth here in Costa Rica can fluctuate.

We hope you come back to San Jose and stay with us again!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had reserve 1 king size bed even though they force us to take double bed rom and charge extra for double bed. We had 17 room , we show conformation to front desk even though they not understanding what we saying ( language barrier). Had payed more than what we expected. Will never go and not recommend any friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do not charge extra for a room with 2 double beds. We apologize if you feel your rate was not honored. We charge based on occupancy and if you had more than 2 people in your room, there would be an additional charge. If you would like us to look into this, please email the general manager, Mr. Scott Cornelius at scornelius@dhmhotels.com and he can identify where the issue in your room rate came from

We don't want unhappy guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am in Costa Rica for work, I travel around but while in San Jose this was my first stop

It is a very nice hotel, great breakfast and right in the middle of San Jose

Wifi a bit slow but other than that a great stay

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent business trip. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have upgraded our WIFI and now have a password protection on the WIFI to prevent non-guests from logging on to our broadband (which slows the connection). We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Aurola holiday Inn on the final night of our trip before flying home. The hotel is OK - the area slightly dodgy and wouldn't recommend walking round after dark. We were warned about this by a local on the street as well!

The main problem with this hotel is if you are unlucky enough to experience any problems. Unfortunately the door to our bathroom got jammed and we weren't able to get back inside. Maintenance were called but informed us that the door would take an hour to fix and therefore would we prefer to move rooms as we had told then we needed to get to sleep, having an early flight the next day.

The front desk was very helpful at the time and got us moved fairly quickly. They did mention they would upgrade the room, however the room we were moved to was identical in every way to the original, but no matter as it was functional and we were leaving the hotel very early the next day.

The main problem was that some of our possessions were trapped inside the bathroom. They left us with the key and told us to come back in an hour when the door would be open. We went to bed and planned to return the next day to pick up our things and this is where the big problem started. At 3:50am we returned to retrieve our things but the door was still locked and the TV in the room still on. Clearly nobody had bothered to go back and fix the door.

We went down to the front desk to complain and they insisted they had no record (unfortunately the woman who had helped us move had left) of there being a problem. They weren't particularly bothered that our things were trapped in the room and we had an airport taxi waiting. In the end we had to leave and to this date some of our stuff might still be stuck in there.

No apology, nobody bothered to record the complaint and the customer service was pretty poor. Suggest people stay somewhere else for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our general manager has investigated the incident with your room and did find that our maintenance department did not perform admirably. We apologize for the disconnect between our maintenance department and guest services.

We did not find any personal items in your guest bathroom, but our general manager would be more than happy to assist you. He asks that you email him directly at scornelius@dhmhotels.com.

Once again, our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.