We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am in Costa Rica for work, I travel around but while in San Jose this was my first stop

It is a very nice hotel, great breakfast and right in the middle of San Jose

Wifi a bit slow but other than that a great stay

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent business trip. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have upgraded our WIFI and now have a password protection on the WIFI to prevent non-guests from logging on to our broadband (which slows the connection). We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    131
    102
    31
    13
See reviews for
44
128
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Aurola holiday Inn on the final night of our trip before flying home. The hotel is OK - the area slightly dodgy and wouldn't recommend walking round after dark. We were warned about this by a local on the street as well!

The main problem with this hotel is if you are unlucky enough to experience any problems. Unfortunately the door to our bathroom got jammed and we weren't able to get back inside. Maintenance were called but informed us that the door would take an hour to fix and therefore would we prefer to move rooms as we had told then we needed to get to sleep, having an early flight the next day.

The front desk was very helpful at the time and got us moved fairly quickly. They did mention they would upgrade the room, however the room we were moved to was identical in every way to the original, but no matter as it was functional and we were leaving the hotel very early the next day.

The main problem was that some of our possessions were trapped inside the bathroom. They left us with the key and told us to come back in an hour when the door would be open. We went to bed and planned to return the next day to pick up our things and this is where the big problem started. At 3:50am we returned to retrieve our things but the door was still locked and the TV in the room still on. Clearly nobody had bothered to go back and fix the door.

We went down to the front desk to complain and they insisted they had no record (unfortunately the woman who had helped us move had left) of there being a problem. They weren't particularly bothered that our things were trapped in the room and we had an airport taxi waiting. In the end we had to leave and to this date some of our stuff might still be stuck in there.

No apology, nobody bothered to record the complaint and the customer service was pretty poor. Suggest people stay somewhere else for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our general manager has investigated the incident with your room and did find that our maintenance department did not perform admirably. We apologize for the disconnect between our maintenance department and guest services.

We did not find any personal items in your guest bathroom, but our general manager would be more than happy to assist you. He asks that you email him directly at scornelius@dhmhotels.com.

Once again, our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Located right in the middle of downtown with easy access to all interesting spots. Pretty much safe to walk back to the hotel before 9pm, if after that, better take a cab. Breakfast is just very average but I guess there isn't much better choice nearby

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are working on improving our breakfast buffet and have shared your comments with the restaurant manager and he is adding more options.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall for those on a budget, this hotel is a good value.

The Pros: Rooms are clean, staff speaks good English and are friendly. Downtown location, and not expensive, free wi fi and the rooms are spacious

The Cons: The "tico" style buffet is overpriced and not very good, the front chandelier is filthy, and there is no masseuse on premises or allowed in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, they are much quieter, and try out the restaurant on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our staff friendly. We are required by law to register all guests and your massage therapist would have been welcome had he/she registered at the front desk. We insist on this policy to protect our guests from unwelcome visitors.

We hope you stay with us again.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of an 8 day trip. Good location, clean nice rooms.

Roof top bar had amazing views.

Nice gym, couple treadmills, bike, a few dumbbell and all in one weight machine.

Didn't have breakfast included so we ate at McDonald the local breakfast meal gallo pinto maduros sausage tortillas good deal.

Roberto from the gift shop gave me some awesome deals on the Britt coffee, hat, cross and bag .cheaper than the Britt store!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took home some Britt souvenirs!

Pura Vida~!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Superb Location. Good Rooms. Very helpful & Courteous Satff espacially the Lady at the reception (Sylvia). Breakfast was good. But I hope it had some more choice for a vegetarian.
But the overall experience was Very good.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms facing the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are working on adding more options to our buffet breakfast to try and please our vegetarian friends.

Please come stay with us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we had both gotten sick the previous day and actually had to visit the clinic in San Jose, so we didn't get to see any of San Jose before our flight the next morning. However, I appreciated the amenities of the hotel. I utilized the helpful free computer use and printers to find a medical clinic and access travel insurance information. The staff was very helpful as well, including the front desk and the bellmen. We were surprised with a gorgeous room on the corner of the 15 floor with a panoramic view of the city. The hotel said it was for our honeymoon, which was very appreciated. We were also given two complimentary drink tickets that were appreciated despite not being able to use them due to being sick. We wish we had gotten to explore San Jose a little our last night but we were very happy with the hotel nevertheless. We highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the corner for a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We hope you are feeling much better and are very sorry that your stay in San Jose concluded with being sick. We are glad our team was able to make you comfortable and we hope you will come back again to see our fun city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.