We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good location and clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Located right in the middle of downtown with easy access to all interesting spots. Pretty much safe to walk back to the hotel before 9pm, if after that, better take a cab. Breakfast is just very average but I guess there isn't much better choice nearby

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are working on improving our breakfast buffet and have shared your comments with the restaurant manager and he is adding more options.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    119
    91
    31
    12
See reviews for
39
120
48
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall for those on a budget, this hotel is a good value.

The Pros: Rooms are clean, staff speaks good English and are friendly. Downtown location, and not expensive, free wi fi and the rooms are spacious

The Cons: The "tico" style buffet is overpriced and not very good, the front chandelier is filthy, and there is no masseuse on premises or allowed in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, they are much quieter, and try out the restaurant on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our staff friendly. We are required by law to register all guests and your massage therapist would have been welcome had he/she registered at the front desk. We insist on this policy to protect our guests from unwelcome visitors.

We hope you stay with us again.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here on the last leg of an 8 day trip. Good location, clean nice rooms.

Roof top bar had amazing views.

Nice gym, couple treadmills, bike, a few dumbbell and all in one weight machine.

Didn't have breakfast included so we ate at McDonald the local breakfast meal gallo pinto maduros sausage tortillas good deal.

Roberto from the gift shop gave me some awesome deals on the Britt coffee, hat, cross and bag .cheaper than the Britt store!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took home some Britt souvenirs!

Pura Vida~!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Superb Location. Good Rooms. Very helpful & Courteous Satff espacially the Lady at the reception (Sylvia). Breakfast was good. But I hope it had some more choice for a vegetarian.
But the overall experience was Very good.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms facing the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are working on adding more options to our buffet breakfast to try and please our vegetarian friends.

Please come stay with us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we had both gotten sick the previous day and actually had to visit the clinic in San Jose, so we didn't get to see any of San Jose before our flight the next morning. However, I appreciated the amenities of the hotel. I utilized the helpful free computer use and printers to find a medical clinic and access travel insurance information. The staff was very helpful as well, including the front desk and the bellmen. We were surprised with a gorgeous room on the corner of the 15 floor with a panoramic view of the city. The hotel said it was for our honeymoon, which was very appreciated. We were also given two complimentary drink tickets that were appreciated despite not being able to use them due to being sick. We wish we had gotten to explore San Jose a little our last night but we were very happy with the hotel nevertheless. We highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the corner for a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We hope you are feeling much better and are very sorry that your stay in San Jose concluded with being sick. We are glad our team was able to make you comfortable and we hope you will come back again to see our fun city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

this hotel was great. the staff were so helpful from the front desk to housekeeping and everyone in between. my room was very clean and comfortable. the bed was amazingly soft and yet still supportive, even with soft pillows tags for more comfort. the room has everything you need and the free wifi works very well. the dining is very good also, and traditional breakfast (gallo pinto).
my only issue, which really isn't the hotel's fault, is that during the night it seems to be dangerous to walk around outside. I stayed watching tv but I would loved to go out and walk. But like I said, it wasn't the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: get higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and are happy our staff was able to make you comfortable. Being in the center of the city.. like any city, requires caution at night, but their is usually no problem walking to the local restaurants.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is very well located but the air conditioning was making a lot of noise. We asked them for a new room but they took a lot of time to do the change. The bedroom was nice, but a very silly policy about the minibar, where you have to open a credit and then they will unlock the minibar (its the first time I see this, I mean If youre paying more than 100 usd for each night in a hotel you will not care about paying for a chocolate bar or some crisps). The breakfast was the best, the restaurant was good but very small portions and its a bit overpriced. The other facilities like swimming pool or gym were good, not great but good.
The location is very good, but it can be a little unsafe to walk around even during the day. San Jose its creepy and scary. Taxis can be found in front of the hotel, but you will have to pay more than the normal price just to be sure the taxi driver is not going to rob you. Be careful all the time, take care of your documents and leave them always in the safe. I NEVER GOT MILES FOR MY RESERVATION AS THEY SAY THEY GIVE.

Room Tip: ask for a bedroom in front of the park and also in the high levels, the views are amazing. Check car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry if our min bar policy inconvenienced you. We do require any guest paying cash to either provide a credit card or a cash deposit to utilize the mini bar.

We do provide miles depending upon your airline and/or credit card. You can email the hotel directly or contact Holiday Inn to ensure your account is credited.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.