We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in San Jose CR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location in San Jose CR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, in a great location in San Jose. Remember you are in a spanish speaking colonial city, this is not USA. Great service, very good room. Walk to everything worth seeing in the city. Jade Museum, Gold Museum, National Museum. Artisans market, and the opera house. No need for a rental car right here.Open square in front of the hotel with jacaranda trees which were in bloom when we got there. As in most central american countries, put your valuables in the room safe. !5 mins taxi from the International Airport which has just been renovated. 2-3 days is plenty enough time to take it in. If you choose an airport hotel you will be stuck in the middle of nothing interesting. Saturday nights can be noisy outside. Concierge very helpful.

Room Tip: on saturday nights stay in a room at the back of the hotel, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and the vibrant city of San Jose!

Please come visit us again soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    152
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
50
140
52
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Too bad the city isn't nicer! We were quite surprised at the quality of the hotel after driving thru the litter-strewn streets of San Jose. The lobby is elegant and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff was also very helpful with acting as liason with a Spanish-only-speaking airport shuttle service. As soon as we arrived in our room, the front desk called to ask if everything was to our satisfaction and if we could receive the wifi signal (free throughout the hotel; good signal by the pool and in the rooms, but not good signal in the lobby). The pool was warm and clean, but the hot tub wasn't much warmer than the pool, was missing some tiles and had scum growing on the tiles. We spent a great deal of time hanging out by the pool playing cards!

The hotel is only a few blocks away from the Zoo, shopping, and several museums - not that you'd want to venture out at night due to the sketchy neighborhood and taxis that are blind to pedestrians. We also learned that the park across the street from the hotel is nicknamed "Prostitution Park" by travelers. And this is one of the GOOD San Jose neighborhoods!

Due to the neighborhood, we ate in the lobby restaurant our first night. Eh...Denny's or Perkins has better food and a more caring staff. The food was decent, but nothing special; we went to Quiznos the second night - cheaper and tasted better.

Room Tip: No matter what floor or direction you choose, your view will be City and Mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked our hotel and we are sorry you found our cafeteria restaurant mediocre. We shared your review with our chef and staff in the restaurant as we take all our guest comments seriously and use them to improve.

Downtown San Jose is a bustling city. The park is a lovely place that is used for cultural events, and family gatherings and is not in our opinion a park for prostitutes. Prostitution is legal in Costa Rica and of course like any city, you will find the "working girls" out and about from time to time. We wish these young ladies had more opportunity and education so they would be able to improve their lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our group reserved a block of rooms but just 3 days before check-in we were told they were no longer available -- we suspect they took advantage of the Valentine's Day weekend crush on hotel space to rent our rooms out for much more than the rate we had been quoted as a grou.

In fact, this hotel would not honour our discounted rate for members of the group who wanted to add days on to the start or end of their trips. They quoted one member a price 3 times higher than what she was paying through our group, but later reduced it somewhat but nowhere near the group rate for the same rooms.

Big disappointment and scramble at the last minute for a large group. Some early arrivals spent one night there and they said the rooms and service were OK. However, we moved everyone to the friendly Best Western Irazu instead, in a much safer area of the city. The Holiday Inn area is not an area to venture into at night, unless you're into street sex and violence.

Holiday Inn even wanted to charge us to use a meeting room for a 1-hour group orientation....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest:

We are completely puzzled by your review. We did not have a group booked over Valentines weekend and we were not full. We would never not honor a group agreement. We would like to discuss your review with you and ask that you please contact us so we can resolve your complaint of us not honoring your group reservation. Please email us at sjosales@dhmhotels.com so we can help you with your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China MI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived around 4 and were told our King room was ready, given the key and off we went. Room key didn't work, had to go back to to reception to get that corrected. Luggage was to be brought up to our room so we walked around outside and the pool. The indoor pool was small but adequate. The inside areas were well kept and the location was good as it was in the downtown area of San Jose. Returned to our room around 5:15 and no luggage. I called down to reception to check on this since we had a 6:00 dinner reservation with a large group & needed our clothes. 30 more minutes & no luggage. I went down to reception to see what the problem was. The told me they would figure it out. 10 minutes later I was called in the room & told our luggage was on the way, that it was delivered to the wrong room/floor. The girl form reception along with a bell hop brought the luggage up with a simple "sorry". After all of this I wasn't about to tell them I booked a king room, not 2 doubles! Room & linens were clean & the room was a decent size. Breakfast was just ok. I wouldn't return...after the baggage issues.

Room Tip: Highest floor for good downtown view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are very sorry it took so long to deliver your luggage. We had two large groups arrive and our bellman were very busy with everyone's luggage and unfortunately, your luggage took longer than it should to be delivered to your room.

The company that made the arrangements for your group did not book guaranteed king beds for the group. We do try to accommodate all our guests with their choice of king or two doubles but sometimes we don't have enough king beds to accommodate everyone.

Please accept our apologies. We are pleased you found your room comfortable and we were sorry that your complimentary breakfast was underwhelming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We started and ended our trip here. The beds were the best we had the entire trip. It was very close to the city center and very near to the Gold Museum and the National Theater. We had a hard time finding a restaurant after 5pm on a Saturday that was open so we ended up eating at the hotel- they had pretty good food. Very good breakfast. Room were very nice, staff was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed visiting San Jose. We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable beds!

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was, to be honest, expecting a...well...Holiday Inn. I was very pleasantly surprised by the immaculate and upscale hotel that I found. Spotless. Incredible staff. Great food. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope you will visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The rooms are beautiful. The restaurant has excellent buffets. Staff, as everywhere in Costa Rica, are top-notch. Book online and save about $50. Rooms below the 15th floor are standard ... so ask for a standard corner room on the South-West corner. Then you can see 2 volcanos, city lights, sunrise, and view of the park below.

Room Tip: Book online and save about $50. Corner rooms on the SE corner have incredible views and 2x since 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our views on the upper floors are incredible and we are thrilled you enjoyed your view!

We hope you visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.