We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Last night of fantastic Caravan Tour across all Costa Rica. Great location. Lots going on in area and in park immediately across from hotel. Good service, small lobby, friendly staff, food just OK. Sold pictures in lobby- very reasonable prices, ended up getting one of a bright toucan as a souveneir.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and that you were able to experience the cultural activities in the park! We are sorry you did not find the restaurant food excellent and we have shared your review with our chef.

We are also pleased you enjoy your artwork that we offer very reasonably priced in our lobby. Please come visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    120
    95
    31
    12
See reviews for
40
122
48
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The decor of this hotel is dated, however we found it to be clean. The staff of this property were very friendly and accomodating. The the free breakfast buffet was very good. We also enjoyed the indoor heated pool!

Travelers should use caution when exploring this older part of San Jose. There are museums and plenty of shopping in a close proximity. The hotel is located across the street from a park. Staff recommended not going to the park after dark. We noticed some homeless people in the park on occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the park !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. we love hearing from our guests!

As any city, anywhere, we advise guests to use caution at night and don't walk alone. Please visit us again soon!

We are glad you enjoyed our heated pool and our expansive breakfast buffet!

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been to Aurola Hotel several times during this year and I think is the best option in Downtown San Jose. I have been in this hotel for business and vacations and I love it. The staff is always very friendly and attentive. Rooms are fresh and clean and I always take time to enjoy the indoor pool. The breakfast is always very good with a variety of choices

Room Tip: upper corner rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! We are very happy that our staff takes good care of you when you stay with us! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On october 15 I stayed with my wife at this hotel ,at reception everything was ok nevrtheless our first surprise was that breafast was nos included and sincerely we always booked hotel and is actually very common that breakast is included even buffet. When we got to the room was clean but some humidity was on air then I tried to open some windows to get fresh air but they were completly locked. Then I decided to get some coffee before dinner using the machine and coffee at the room that mentioend costarrican coffee and to my surprise was old and but quality.
The we got dinner and was good but again i ordered coffee and waitter told me was a well know costrrican brand "Brit" but again was like water. AT breakfast we ordered eggs,,juice, toasts and fruit were charged $15.00 per person what we consider very high
Finally when you try to book this hotel in some places mentioned 5 starts and other 3.5 starts bu for me it is just 3 starts

Room Tip: it si import to consider that breakfast is not included then you need to add $30 per day for a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

To accommodate our guests, we offer both a room only and a breakfast plan on our website and through our reservation system. I am not sure who your reservation was booked with, but your confirmation should have been more informative and we are truly sorry.

Our in-room coffee is Britt and should have brewed a moderate pot in your room. We recommend to our guests that If you prefer a stronger brew, ask our housekeeping staff for an additional coffee pack.

As a high rise hotel, for safety reasons, we are required by law to ensure the windows do not open. The air conditioning unit in the room will alleviate issues with humidity after running a short time.

We also share your frustration on so-called "star ratings". Each website has their own way of determining the rating of the hotels they sell, and we can not control them. Our advise is to always look at guest review ratings as they accurately show what you can expect at a given hotel or resort.

We hope you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parisf
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight as part of our tour package to Costa Rica. It is one of the highest buildings located in the busy central part of San Jose, right next to Parque Morazan which is quite busy during the daytime with a live concert going on when we arrived ~ 4p.m. on a Sat. in August. The check-in was quite efficient with our luggage delivered to our rooms within 1/2 hr after we arrived. Very convenient with 2 computers available to check on our departing flights and we were able to print out our boarding passes. The rooms are decent size and our room offered a view of Parque Morazan. Actually it is located at quite a busy intersection where there is a constant flow of traffic- public buses and cars so crossing the streets are a bit challenging but not a great problem. It is only about a 3 block walk up to the downtown area of San Jose.
Our dinner up on the 17th floor at the El Mirador Restaurant was good- we had a choice of sea bass, prime rib, or free range chicken as the main dish. I would recommend staying here if you wanted to walk around the downtown San Jose without having to take any public transportation as everything including the National Theater, Gran Hotel, and Parque Central are just about a 10-15 min walk down. Lots of people for sure, but it's not a problem walking around. Need to be somewhat careful of the uneven cement crosswalks as they are not all that level. It is best to walk slowly than run. Anyhow with so many people around, it is difficult to run in the area.
Also, despite having an early departing flight out the next morning, the Holiday Inn had a breakfast available prior to our 5a.m. departure to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Parque Morazan for a view of the city and the skyline at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed both your stay and San Jose. We are in a great location for the local attractions in the city. We are also pleased you enjoyed your view from your room and dinner in El Mirador and we hope you loved the view from the restaurant!

Please come visit us again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location, if you're looking to explore downtown San Jose. All the usual amenities of a Holiday Inn, so that was nice, although the bed was rock-hard. And when we arrived (9/14/12), the hot tub was in disrepair, filled with cold, dirty water and broken tile. In addition, our bathtub stopper didn't work, and the maid told us "they're all like that - the tubs aren't for taking a bath!". Despite that, we complained to the front desk, and to their credit, they upgraded us to a suite that had a working tub stopper, although the water wasn't hot until we complained yet again. In summary - in the states, the kind of service we got would not be acceptable, but in Costa Rica, I'd say it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that the hot tub was out of service during your stay. We were re-tiling the tub and it is now in perfect working order.

We also thank you for notifying the front desk that you were unhappy with your room which provided us an opportunity to fix the problem by changing your room.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I choosed this hotel due to the location and amenities they offer to every guest, is the only hotel in San Jose with an indoor heated pool with a nice pool bar, in- room dinning services was fast and very professional, presentation of the meals was very fancy!, they have a nice city view restaurant at the 17th floor, a good choice for a romantic dinner. Front desk registration was fast and clear, at the check in the front desk agent was very kind full, professional, fast and he explained to us all the facilities of the hotel and amenities, I would like to congratulate Ms. Nathalia Sanchez, she made my stay unforgettable and amazing! You are !The Best Of The Best! I requested a romantic decoration as a surprise for my Partner due to our anniversary, she upgrade us to a nice city view suite and the romantic decoration was Amazing! Ms. Sanchez you when far from my expectation...thank you so much. Staff was very gay friendly. I suggest 100% this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are so pleased you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we were able to help you make your stay even more special with some special romantic touches. Mirador Restaurant certainly does offer a romantic ambiance with incredible views!

Please visit us again on your next trip to San Jose. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.