We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISLEADING INFORMATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 85 hotels in San Jose
costa rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“MISLEADING INFORMATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On october 15 I stayed with my wife at this hotel ,at reception everything was ok nevrtheless our first surprise was that breafast was nos included and sincerely we always booked hotel and is actually very common that breakast is included even buffet. When we got to the room was clean but some humidity was on air then I tried to open some windows to get fresh air but they were completly locked. Then I decided to get some coffee before dinner using the machine and coffee at the room that mentioend costarrican coffee and to my surprise was old and but quality.
The we got dinner and was good but again i ordered coffee and waitter told me was a well know costrrican brand "Brit" but again was like water. AT breakfast we ordered eggs,,juice, toasts and fruit were charged $15.00 per person what we consider very high
Finally when you try to book this hotel in some places mentioned 5 starts and other 3.5 starts bu for me it is just 3 starts

Room Tip: it si import to consider that breakfast is not included then you need to add $30 per day for a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

To accommodate our guests, we offer both a room only and a breakfast plan on our website and through our reservation system. I am not sure who your reservation was booked with, but your confirmation should have been more informative and we are truly sorry.

Our in-room coffee is Britt and should have brewed a moderate pot in your room. We recommend to our guests that If you prefer a stronger brew, ask our housekeeping staff for an additional coffee pack.

As a high rise hotel, for safety reasons, we are required by law to ensure the windows do not open. The air conditioning unit in the room will alleviate issues with humidity after running a short time.

We also share your frustration on so-called "star ratings". Each website has their own way of determining the rating of the hotels they sell, and we can not control them. Our advise is to always look at guest review ratings as they accurately show what you can expect at a given hotel or resort.

We hope you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    113
    84
    31
    12
See reviews for
38
116
42
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
parisf
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight as part of our tour package to Costa Rica. It is one of the highest buildings located in the busy central part of San Jose, right next to Parque Morazan which is quite busy during the daytime with a live concert going on when we arrived ~ 4p.m. on a Sat. in August. The check-in was quite efficient with our luggage delivered to our rooms within 1/2 hr after we arrived. Very convenient with 2 computers available to check on our departing flights and we were able to print out our boarding passes. The rooms are decent size and our room offered a view of Parque Morazan. Actually it is located at quite a busy intersection where there is a constant flow of traffic- public buses and cars so crossing the streets are a bit challenging but not a great problem. It is only about a 3 block walk up to the downtown area of San Jose.
Our dinner up on the 17th floor at the El Mirador Restaurant was good- we had a choice of sea bass, prime rib, or free range chicken as the main dish. I would recommend staying here if you wanted to walk around the downtown San Jose without having to take any public transportation as everything including the National Theater, Gran Hotel, and Parque Central are just about a 10-15 min walk down. Lots of people for sure, but it's not a problem walking around. Need to be somewhat careful of the uneven cement crosswalks as they are not all that level. It is best to walk slowly than run. Anyhow with so many people around, it is difficult to run in the area.
Also, despite having an early departing flight out the next morning, the Holiday Inn had a breakfast available prior to our 5a.m. departure to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Parque Morazan for a view of the city and the skyline at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed both your stay and San Jose. We are in a great location for the local attractions in the city. We are also pleased you enjoyed your view from your room and dinner in El Mirador and we hope you loved the view from the restaurant!

Please come visit us again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location, if you're looking to explore downtown San Jose. All the usual amenities of a Holiday Inn, so that was nice, although the bed was rock-hard. And when we arrived (9/14/12), the hot tub was in disrepair, filled with cold, dirty water and broken tile. In addition, our bathtub stopper didn't work, and the maid told us "they're all like that - the tubs aren't for taking a bath!". Despite that, we complained to the front desk, and to their credit, they upgraded us to a suite that had a working tub stopper, although the water wasn't hot until we complained yet again. In summary - in the states, the kind of service we got would not be acceptable, but in Costa Rica, I'd say it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that the hot tub was out of service during your stay. We were re-tiling the tub and it is now in perfect working order.

We also thank you for notifying the front desk that you were unhappy with your room which provided us an opportunity to fix the problem by changing your room.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I choosed this hotel due to the location and amenities they offer to every guest, is the only hotel in San Jose with an indoor heated pool with a nice pool bar, in- room dinning services was fast and very professional, presentation of the meals was very fancy!, they have a nice city view restaurant at the 17th floor, a good choice for a romantic dinner. Front desk registration was fast and clear, at the check in the front desk agent was very kind full, professional, fast and he explained to us all the facilities of the hotel and amenities, I would like to congratulate Ms. Nathalia Sanchez, she made my stay unforgettable and amazing! You are !The Best Of The Best! I requested a romantic decoration as a surprise for my Partner due to our anniversary, she upgrade us to a nice city view suite and the romantic decoration was Amazing! Ms. Sanchez you when far from my expectation...thank you so much. Staff was very gay friendly. I suggest 100% this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are so pleased you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we were able to help you make your stay even more special with some special romantic touches. Mirador Restaurant certainly does offer a romantic ambiance with incredible views!

Please visit us again on your next trip to San Jose. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

..the stay had been perfect. Good breakfast - nice buffet with a very efficient eggstation. Nice upgrade to executive florr, with a corner room on the 15th floor with breathtaking views over San Jose. Very serviceminded staff, always happily smiling - especially at the Mirador restaurant on the 17th floor. But then its the WiFi - impossible to hold Skypeconferences (which one does when travelling in business) as the Wifi came and went - on and off. This was not only the case in my room but also in the executive lounge and in the breakfast restaurant on groundfloor.
So with a more stable WiFisignal I would have rated the hotel higher, but this time during my 3 nights stay I had to swear each time I tried to connect to the WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your view from your room and our fabulous Mirador restaurant. Our staff enjoys our guests and we will share your comments with them. We understand your disappointment with the WIFI signal during your stay. We are upgrading the bandwidth in the hotel as signal strength can be a problem when there are a lot of people using the WIFI.

We hope you will try us again the next time you are in San Jose!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we checked in, we requested a room on a higher floor and they refused our request. They also tried to sell us a breakfast the next morning that we thought was already included in our price. They have a very nice pool, which we used. However, we were disappointed that the whirlpool was out of service. We also enjoyed the ping ping table in the pool area.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was mediocre. The room was very nice. However, it smelled a bit musty. The hotel location was good. It was a short walking distance to the main avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are continually training our front desk staff in English so that they can be able to better understand and assist our guests at check in with their special requests. We are sorry we failed to provide you with the upgraded room you wanted and wish we could have another opportunity to host you! Our hot tub was being renovated during your stay and is again available for our guests to enjoy.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly and always seemed upbeat. I enjoyed my stay immensely, thanks to the crew working there . WiFi worked in the room without issue. WiFi is now very important to me, as a listed amenity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pura Vida! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our complimentary WIFI internet access! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.