We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it hadn't been for the WiFi...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“If it hadn't been for the WiFi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

..the stay had been perfect. Good breakfast - nice buffet with a very efficient eggstation. Nice upgrade to executive florr, with a corner room on the 15th floor with breathtaking views over San Jose. Very serviceminded staff, always happily smiling - especially at the Mirador restaurant on the 17th floor. But then its the WiFi - impossible to hold Skypeconferences (which one does when travelling in business) as the Wifi came and went - on and off. This was not only the case in my room but also in the executive lounge and in the breakfast restaurant on groundfloor.
So with a more stable WiFisignal I would have rated the hotel higher, but this time during my 3 nights stay I had to swear each time I tried to connect to the WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your view from your room and our fabulous Mirador restaurant. Our staff enjoys our guests and we will share your comments with them. We understand your disappointment with the WIFI signal during your stay. We are upgrading the bandwidth in the hotel as signal strength can be a problem when there are a lot of people using the WIFI.

We hope you will try us again the next time you are in San Jose!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    97
    31
    12
See reviews for
42
123
51
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we checked in, we requested a room on a higher floor and they refused our request. They also tried to sell us a breakfast the next morning that we thought was already included in our price. They have a very nice pool, which we used. However, we were disappointed that the whirlpool was out of service. We also enjoyed the ping ping table in the pool area.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was mediocre. The room was very nice. However, it smelled a bit musty. The hotel location was good. It was a short walking distance to the main avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are continually training our front desk staff in English so that they can be able to better understand and assist our guests at check in with their special requests. We are sorry we failed to provide you with the upgraded room you wanted and wish we could have another opportunity to host you! Our hot tub was being renovated during your stay and is again available for our guests to enjoy.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly and always seemed upbeat. I enjoyed my stay immensely, thanks to the crew working there . WiFi worked in the room without issue. WiFi is now very important to me, as a listed amenity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pura Vida! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our complimentary WIFI internet access! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I either missed something or my floor was not part of the hotel as I read other reviews about this property. We stayed on the 14th floor and the moment we walked off the elevator we knew the place was trashed. The hallway carpet was musty, smelly and just plain filthy. The room was no different. Dirty carpet and old linens in need of repair, bath towels so old that could only have been used for rags, bathroom mold growing on the tub and the shower curtain and so on. The room door would not close properly and the hallway noise filtered inside all night. Forget about the front desk staff, they were too busy talking about their own adventures. In the morning, we had breakfast and left in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are surprised by your review. We are fastidious about cleanliness in our hotel. Our general manager and executive housekeeper went up to the 14th floor and looked at each room and could not find a room in the shape you described. Your description makes us wonder if perhaps you stayed elsewhere. Our towels and hallways don't even come close to your description. We are very sorry you were so disappointed in your stay and hope you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this and had a great time. The hotel was very clean, the rooms very comfortable with a spectacular view. The treatment of employees was excellent. I recommend it to anyone visiting San Jose, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering the amenities that keep busy business people comfortable and are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Please visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and the service is impeccable (front desk Carlos..Thank You). The location is central with beautiful views. For the location the price is reasonable. This is our first time in San Jose and I dont think we couldn't have of picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Congratulations! Costa Rica is a fabulous place to celebrate your honeymoon, and we are so happy you chose our hotel for your stopover in San Jose. Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back on your anniversary to see us!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After 8 nights traipsing around Costa Rica this hotel was a breath of fresh air. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were nice and soft. The breakfast buffet that was included was very good. The buffet had a large selection, only the pickiest of eaters would walk away hungry. The wait staff could not have been more attentive. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The only downfall was needing to pair for computer time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to San Jose and our hotel and especially your breakfast! We hope you will come see us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.