We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When we checked in, we requested a room on a higher floor and they refused our request. They also tried to sell us a breakfast the next morning that we thought was already included in our price. They have a very nice pool, which we used. However, we were disappointed that the whirlpool was out of service. We also enjoyed the ping ping table in the pool area.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was mediocre. The room was very nice. However, it smelled a bit musty. The hotel location was good. It was a short walking distance to the main avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are continually training our front desk staff in English so that they can be able to better understand and assist our guests at check in with their special requests. We are sorry we failed to provide you with the upgraded room you wanted and wish we could have another opportunity to host you! Our hot tub was being renovated during your stay and is again available for our guests to enjoy.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    171
    115
    35
    19
See reviews for
51
161
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly and always seemed upbeat. I enjoyed my stay immensely, thanks to the crew working there . WiFi worked in the room without issue. WiFi is now very important to me, as a listed amenity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pura Vida! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our complimentary WIFI internet access! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I either missed something or my floor was not part of the hotel as I read other reviews about this property. We stayed on the 14th floor and the moment we walked off the elevator we knew the place was trashed. The hallway carpet was musty, smelly and just plain filthy. The room was no different. Dirty carpet and old linens in need of repair, bath towels so old that could only have been used for rags, bathroom mold growing on the tub and the shower curtain and so on. The room door would not close properly and the hallway noise filtered inside all night. Forget about the front desk staff, they were too busy talking about their own adventures. In the morning, we had breakfast and left in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are surprised by your review. We are fastidious about cleanliness in our hotel. Our general manager and executive housekeeper went up to the 14th floor and looked at each room and could not find a room in the shape you described. Your description makes us wonder if perhaps you stayed elsewhere. Our towels and hallways don't even come close to your description. We are very sorry you were so disappointed in your stay and hope you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this and had a great time. The hotel was very clean, the rooms very comfortable with a spectacular view. The treatment of employees was excellent. I recommend it to anyone visiting San Jose, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering the amenities that keep busy business people comfortable and are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Please visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and the service is impeccable (front desk Carlos..Thank You). The location is central with beautiful views. For the location the price is reasonable. This is our first time in San Jose and I dont think we couldn't have of picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Congratulations! Costa Rica is a fabulous place to celebrate your honeymoon, and we are so happy you chose our hotel for your stopover in San Jose. Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back on your anniversary to see us!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After 8 nights traipsing around Costa Rica this hotel was a breath of fresh air. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were nice and soft. The breakfast buffet that was included was very good. The buffet had a large selection, only the pickiest of eaters would walk away hungry. The wait staff could not have been more attentive. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The only downfall was needing to pair for computer time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to San Jose and our hotel and especially your breakfast! We hope you will come see us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasion, it is a nice hotel with a central location in the middle of San Jose. Rooms are fairly large, beds are reasonably comfortable. Breakfast is great and is worth the price.

Room Tip: get as high up the building as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are pleased that you took the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay and found our breakfast buffet to be a good value! Please come back soon! and if there is anything we do to ensure an even better experience, please contact us at sjosales@dhmhotels.com Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#20 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#32 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.