We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingway Inn to your Saves list
Hemingway Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 63 San Jose B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky, lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband & I started our Costa Rica vacation here, staying 2 nights in late February 2014. We took a cab from the airport - turns out we could have taken the shuttle arranged by the Hemingway for about the same price, but it was not a problem. The staff at this B&B is very friendly, for the most part, most of them speaking English very well, which is helpful. The rooms are small, contain the basics, nothing more. There's a small tv in the room with about 4 channels in English, seems to be the standard. The bed was not great, pretty worn out & small, but sufficient. The bathroom was tiny, but very clean & there was plenty of hot water. Be warned - the hotel, like many things in San Jose, is on a very steep hill. If you cannot carry your luggage up a narrow flight of stairs, you're out of luck - the rooms are upstairs & there's no elevator. The Inn is small, but intimate. The breakfast is lovely - eggs or pancakes made to order (I'd highly recommend Anna's pancakes, they were fantastic), with plenty of fresh fruit, very good coffee, fresh juice, etc. This is not your standard Americanized chain hotel; if you keep that in mind and appreciate the lovely wood furniture & the general laid-back atmosphere, you can be very happy staying here.
There is a fabulous little coffee bar just up the street, the best coffee I've ever had. And there are 2 hotels with restaurants within 2 blocks easy walk, great for a bite. Additionally, right next to the coffee bar is an italian restaurant - realy cute, good prices, good food.
Finally, the Hemingway is within an easy walk of the Teatro Nacional, several parks, and some fantastic architecture. Bring really good walking shoes! They'll be happy to help arrange for any tours you want to do at the front desk. Although I was a bit concerned about crime, I felt really safe in the Inn and walking aroudn during daylight - at night, I woudln't want to wander too much.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
29
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel has probably seen better times, it is not in the best shape. There was smell in the bathroom, the common area (inner garden) looked like someone was not showing up for work for a while. The breakfast was good, but very slow.

The owner is an amiable American guy, but it does not seem he spends a lot of time taking care of the property.

It is OK to stay there solo (more or less clean and has its own charm), but I would not go there with someone (a friend or a significant other), especially with someone who is particular about cleanness, smell, or sound proof.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms are without window; be careful if you are price sensitive and would like to have a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this place. Our room was clean, large and had hot water too. There was a bit of noise from the street before 8pm but it was quiet when we wanted to rest. The staff were good and the breakfast in the courtyard was goo. Enjoyed the painting of the walls and the history of the place too. Very helpful arranging transport too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Hemingway Inn, and overall found the hotel to be adequate for the price paid. The staff were friendly, and the location was fine. The room facilities were very basic but generally clean and functional. I found the rooms to be noisy (particularly the door bell) so best to come prepared with ear plugs. The hotel did recommend a tour by Expediciones Tropicales (the combo tour of Poas Volcano, Doka coffee tour and La Paz Waterfall) which was enjoyable and a good way to experience more of the area. I found that a day exploring the city of San Jose was enough; I would recommend staying elsewhere in the very beautiful Costa Rica if time allows.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
298 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you can afford something better, look elsewhere. This place is really basic, and in desperate need of renovation.
If you do stay here, make sure to avoid the rooms at the ground floor. Or you will hear every noise from reception and bar. And they will hear every sound you produce.

Rooms small and poorly equipped.
The matrasses have been around for a very long time, which affected sleep quality.

On a positive note, there are safecty lockers, staff is friendly AND the 5 Usd Breakfast not bad

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a nicely priced hotel on a safe and pretty street. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are OK. The WiFi worked real well. The food is fantastic. The breakfast is included with the room and its hot cooked as you order with delicious Costa Rican coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was a nice hotel, very clean...although my room didn't have hot water (apparently they were having issues one night?). The staff (except overnight guy - hard to tear him away from poker) wer super friendly and really helpful booking tours for me.

Room Tip: Heminway room was great! Loved how they painted it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#24 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#31 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose
Hemingway Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.