We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I moved to the Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I moved to the Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really wanted to love this hotel ... especially the location but the hotel was quite icky and needs desperately to be updated. We got a suite at the top level for a very affordable rate and it appears that the furniture hasn't been changed since JFK stayed there. That said ... the service was excellent but I did move to the Sheraton Costa Rica which was a 5 star experience the following night.

Room Tip: I would not advise staying here unless you are staying here for location only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your much appreciated comments,all of them have been taken into consideration.
We are sorry we could not fulfill you expectations. Actually we are in process of implementing a master refurbishment plan and hope you will be back soon at our historical property to enjoy all new amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    199
    172
    92
    55
See reviews for
98
212
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel couldn't be better, its in the center and near the main shopping street. Also the breakfast is super because of the "live" cooking of your fresh made waffles and omelettes. The rooms are spacious but dated, what should be charming but it is not anymore, that's why I gave the 3 stars in stead of 5. But for location and breakfast 5*

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Kim, Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We hope to welcome you back soon at our historical property, your home away from home, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes...she's a bit old, shabby even....and yes, perhaps a bit creepy, but if what you need is a place to sleep in the heart of San Jose, then this hotel is really not that bad. She is steps from the Teatro Nacional (a very worthwhile place to visit and take in a performance!) She is also steps from the Gold Museum (which has a wonderful presentation of Costa Rica's indigenous cultures and history) and the home of the National Mint museum which are both housed in an impressive underground complex right beneath the central square outside the hotel. It is also a short walk to the arts and crafts market where you can find just about any souvenir or gift imaginable in Costa Rica. So if you aren't fussy about the thread count on your linens...if you don't mind that your air conditioner is a portable kind that vents out the window and may sound a bit like a Mack truck with a cold....and if you don't watch too many Steven King movies (especially The Shining,) then this hotel will suit just fine for your visit to the city center. As for me, I really had no problem with this hotel, its amenities, or its staff, and we enjoyed our meals at the restuarant enough to return even after we'd checked out. I have stayed at the nearby Hotel Presidente, which has a bit more polish and better linens, but for the price and convenience, the Gran is what she is....a bit of a worn Gran Dame who has seen better days but maintains her dignity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the entry side of the hotel might have more street noise...especially the beeping noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your much appreciated comments, all of them have been taken into consideration.
Actually we are in process of implementing a master refurbishment plan and hope you will be back soon at our historical property to enjoy all new amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel does not look anything like the pictures on the website. As we drove up, I could not believe we were at the hotel because the neighborhood was not nice at all. The hotel has a bad smell, everything inside is old and the neighborhood is not clean. The bathroom in our room was not clean and the toilet seat was so old the paint was peeling and the curtain in the sitting area was ripped. Last the breakfast was not good. The hotel was way to expense for what it's worth.

Room Tip: Make sure it's clean and the curtain is not ripped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are sorry we could not fulfill you expectations. Actually we are in process of implementing a master refurbishment plan and hope you will be back soon at our historical property to enjoy all new amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really a sub-par hotel. One could describe it as shabby on the edge of creepy except that it goes beyond that to things like the locks on the door are broken, the AC doesn't work, and the front desk doesn't answer the phone.

Room Tip: Perhaps the corner rooms are a bit more spacious but the various ones I saw were in really poor shap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are sorry we could not fulfill you expectations. Actually we are in process of implementing a master refurbishment plan and hope you will be back soon at our historical property to enjoy all new amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ah the Gran Hotel, what splendor you have but lack of wifi in your rooms. So the room was fine, enough space, ac , and a clean bathroom. Parking was not free or easy. We paid $15 dollars for valet parking. The resturant was average to moderate priced , but the food was better than expected. We had a house salad , which was definitely big enough for two people with tons of fresh veggies and avocado , a margarita pizza (really really good), and a simple veggie pasta dish that was great. The free breakfast was a complete surprise and the perfect way to start our trip. It was buffet style with fresh fruit, made to order waffles and omelettes, coffee, tea , juice and lots more. So to sum up our "average" review, lack of parking , room nothing to write home and lack of in room wifi were evened out with the great breakfast and lovely dinner on the open air patio.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your much appreciated comment, they all have been taken into consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon at our historical property, your home away from home, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great building, better food, but beware that some rooms are VERY noisy.
If your room is on the same street as the Casino you will have a very noisy night. The music is very loud. Oyherwise, the included breakfast was amazing and we also had supper in their restaurant and it was very good. Just try to avoid the rooms that face the rear street and you'll have a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are working on an upgrade of our window system to prevent the street noise penetrating our rooms and to assure a quite night rest to our customer. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.