We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but an average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but an average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gran Hotel for a night. The location couldn't be better... I booked the hotel online on their website; the hotel claimed free parking as one of the amenities however once we entered we were told to pay a $15 parking fee since the parking lot within the hotel was full (it can apparently hold 4 cars and they call it 'free parking') and we were charged $15 since they would be using a different parking garage... My point is, if you claim to be providing free parking, you shouldn't charge a fee regardless of there is space or not.

Coming to the rooms: they were old style, no A/C (most of the hotels in San Jose do not seem to have A/C since the weather is great) however with almost none ventilation, it was a bit difficult. The bathroom drainage system is way too slow - thanks to the hotel representatives, they moved us to a different room... The hotel deserves a 3 star mainly due to the location aspect and the fact that it has colonial architecture however be mindful that there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. Due to a web site change mistakenly the "free parking" text appeared instead of the Valet Parking text we have corrected this immediately and offer you an apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    246
    217
    106
    60
See reviews for
117
272
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The only thing that kept this from being a great experience was the street noise. The hotel is immaculate, the staff very accommodating, and the breakfast was a plus. The prices are certainly reasonable as well, and rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments, hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When I lived in Costa Rica 30 years ago, it was still a bit of a backwater. Distinct from the rest of Central America (for: a long-established democracy without an army) with the traditional values of rather conservative coffee growers. If you want to taste the spirit of those times, go to grand hotel Costa Rica. Its location next to the iconic National Theater will get you in the mood, and you will be charmed by the friendly service and the delicious typical food. What are the downsides. .. .? Well the rooms are smallish, a bit stuffy and the bathrooms very basic. When you have room on the outside tbere is more light but that comes with streetnoise, an inner room is darker and noise depends on who your neighbours are. Of course you can opt for one of the 5-star hotels in Escazu. But then you forego tbe chance to travel back in tkmes and experience what Costa Rica once was. A requsst go mansgemdnt oc GHCR: please re-instate the marim ba at the groundfloor verandah!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments, we will certainly contact the Marimba again to see if they are interested in entertaining our customers. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting Costa Rica with an EF tour. The hotel is very charming and like stepping back to a different time. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Be aware that the rooms are not air conditioned - you may open the windows (no screens) and use the ceiling fan. We were on the third floor and had to carry our luggage up the stairs as the elevators were out of service. Our breakfast was a buffet and it was wonderful; lots of delicious choices - scrambled eggs, pancakes, fresh juices, very good coffee, gallo pinto, breakfast meats, cereals, milk and fresh fruits. We enjoyed our one night stay here; I am glad that it was only one night,however, due to the warm room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your most appreciated comments. We hope to have you back soon in one of our superior rooms with A/C overlooking the National Theater and the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great atmosphere and history in this hotel. Beds are a bit firm for my taste but the linens and towels were fresh and soft. The standard room was ok, but the superior room was worth the extra cost with A/C and view of the Plaza de la Cultura. The breakfast buffet was good. The gallo pinto, fresh fruit and platanos maduras were awesome but the rest was very Americanized. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The free Wifi was appreciated and we had a pretty fast connection. I would stay here again if it fit my schedule.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello, We thank you for writing your review, with respect to our rooms, do you know that the hotel has the particularity that all rooms are different inside of their same categories, which vary greatly in size. On your next trip to Costa Rica we invite you cordially to stay again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the start of our holiday then one night at the end.
This is the oldest hotel in the heart of the city, amid the hustle and bustle of San Jose.
It has an amazing old colonial atmosphere in the foyer with a Grand piano or clarinet being played during the evenings.
Our room overlooked the square and was classed as superior. It was very average, had old metal framed windows which did not close properly, and let the local traffic noise in.
Breakfast was good, well presented and served in a splended room on th 5th floor.
On our return 8 nights later we were shown to a standard room by mistake, Oh dear, what a difference. Small, dark and not for me. We were soon taken back to a "Superior" some would say average standard room which was fine but still had the window problem.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure its "Superior" and check the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel, your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve day by day. Regarding the rooms as mentioned in many reviews, our hotel rooms are different in dimensions between their same categories. I already reported the problem of windows with our maintenance manager and the same is being repaired so that the same does not happen again. I'd like to that you host again in our hotel when I return to Costa Rica on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was large and spacious. The air or ceiling fan options were perfect for the weather. The bed was very comfortable. Drawbacks: the bathroom smelled musty and was very small. The toilet blocks the bathroom door from opening completely and the lighting in there is awful. The bathroom really needs a modern makeover. The hotel information sheet-lacked information! It had one page of info about the history of the hotel which most people don't care about but nothing about important things like: food services, business services, the location for the breakfast buffet (we weren't even told at the front desk), check in/out time, maps for attractions-none of that was included in the hotel information :( I was glad there was a small refrigerator but no coffee pot? sad
On a different note the front desk staff were friendly and kind. The hotel is close to a walking street (street sounds do drift in, if you are on the side nearest) where you can shop and also the Gold and Jade Museums. The fixed rate to the airport for a taxi is a decent charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review, which is very helpful in order to improve the services of our hotel. Problems with your room, they already are being repaired by our maintenance team. At the same time I would like to let you know that at our hotel all rooms are different within their categories, and especially regarding the size, so we have much more spacious than at which you stayed.

Regarding the sale of the Hotel Fact Sheet, you thank for your feedback, which will be taken into account to improve very soon Hotel Fact Sheet information and at the same time will take measures in the case with our reception Department so that they provide information to guests about the different services offered our hotel. I invite you to stay again at the hotel when you visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#20 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#19 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.