We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly happy with Gran Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly happy with Gran Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel was better than I expected, after reading some negative reviews. Room was clean, breakfast buffet was good, with pleasant view from dining room on top floor. Pleased to find computers for internet use available free. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location, very close to gold museum. Realized late on that there was an airconditioner in the room, but did not need it, just used ceiling fan. A bit of traffic noise, but not too bad. Pleasant outdoor dining area at front of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which we are pleased to share it with other guests who wish to visit our hotel. I add to his comment that in our restaurant we offer concerts of live piano music and free jazz every day. We will be honored to have you as a guest again at our hotel when you like to visit the San Jose downtown, we have the best location in San Jose for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    211
    177
    95
    57
See reviews for
102
222
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our tour. When we stayed at the hotel at the beginning it was great, staff very helpful and the food good. When we stayed at the end of the tour it was the opposite! We were warned about the pedestrian crossings 'tweeting' all night but we were not disturbed by the sound and didn't find it too noisy to sleep. The rooms did have air conditioning units in them. The rooms were basic but sufficient, the bathroom was a bit smelly.

Room Tip: We didn't feel that the noise from the traffic or the crossings disturbed us and we stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
You we thank you for your review, our maintenance department was already warned about the smell of the bathroom and they fixed it so that it becomes not to repeat a similar situation with other guests. At the same time do you know that in our hotel all rooms are different in terms of size is concerned. We will continue working to improve our services and I invite him to staying again with us when he returns to San Jose in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location, Location, Location. The hotel is across from the National Theatre and is close to all the good restaurants. The rooms are nice and refurbished. This is my second time at this hotel, for the price you can't beat it. So if you want to be in the historic heart of the city you can't get it any better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a superior room for the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which describes the best way all the added values and attributes offered by our hotel. All you mention making Gran Hotel Costa Rica the best and most convenient choice in downtown San Jose to stay and enjoy a pleasant stay. I am pleased to invite you again to staying at our hotel the next time you visit the Centre of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arrived the first night and after a long exhausting flight from the UK and I just wanted to shower and sleep. I read the reviews and was aware that this was a noisy hotel, but it was part of a pre booked tour so I had no choice. I asked at reception for a room that was not street facing…but she could not be bothered…not particularity helpful.

The room
I think it was 426 – should be avoided at all costs. It’s street facing it’s noisy and when I turned on the tap, brown lukewarm water came out…I was far too tired to do anything at that point and just showered and went to sleep. BTW you have to let the shower run for about 7 mins before it actually becomes hot.
Surprisingly, despite the strange noises including the howling dog from the next room, I did fall asleep. This was more so because I was completely exhausted…It’s really musky smelling and has pretty outdated furniture. TV was modern though and had a couple of English movie channels.
A soon as you enter the room (this one in particular) there is no light switch – you have to walk to the middle of the room and pull the fan switch…bit difficult to find if upon entering the room it’s dark…. Lighting is very low. I was put in a different room on my way back, it is was smaller but far better, think it was on the 3rd maybe, it was better and the shower did not spurt brown water.

Positives
Despite all this, it’s perfectly acceptable accommodation for 1 or 2 nights…any longer I would not recommend. The location was great, right bang in the centre of it all, great theatre across the road, and great bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Do visit the steak house behind the church – it was delicious and there is a bar on the way –tropical something I think – very pretty and it is part of a hotel I think. Breakfast buffet was adequate and the service is great.

Negatives
Beware and avoid the boulevard at night, it’s dangerous you should stay in well-lit areas in the evenings.
Hotel does not have adaptors for UK, but if you ask they may be able to charge phone at the desk.
Rooms are old, décor is old, bit musky smelling and NOISY! (again this will depend on the type of room too).

Room Tip: Aviod street facing rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are grateful for your extensive and detailed review, since it’s very helpful for us to improve every day our service. We would love to have you as a guest again in our hotel, since as you mentioned, all rooms of our hotel are different and we have rooms much more comfortable and no noise from outside for your stay is more enjoyable. If you want it to stay at the hotel please contact us at this email: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com and gladly set aside a special room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in a standard room which we thought was of a very poor level. Then we found out that there are even economy rooms available; I wonder what they must look like. Our standard room definitely needed a lifting. The lamp was fiddled up with scotch, telephone did not work and the worst of all: bathroom sink was leaking straight, after brushing my teeth the bathroom was flooded...The management offered us an equivalent room but since it was quite late and we had all our luggage scattered all over the place, we satisfied ourselves with cleaning up the bathroom floor ourselves and using the shower tap for face wash etc. In return, the hotel management did not even offer us a cup of coffee! The after-taste of the stay was a soviet feel...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I’m very sorry for the bad experience you had in the hotel but it is a pity that you did not want to move to another room, in our hotel all rooms are different between their same categories. That is why it was that the person in charge at that time insisted on change the room, as have other much more comfortable and pleasant rooms in Standard type in which you stayed. Regarding the rooms Economy do you know that that category already remove it from our rooming list and also to inform you that the room in which you are already lodged was repaired in its entirety, to avoid this in the future the same disadvantages with other guests.

I invite you to stay again at our hotel so that you can verify the quality of our rooms on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large, clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor and you can eat on the balcony with a lovely view of the theatre. Staff are helpful, for somewhere to lay your head for the minimal time you wil be in San Jose it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We thank you for your review, the hotel has a very unique feature and is that all rooms are different within the same categories and their prices are also very affordable for all budgets. The lounge serving breakfast buffet on the fifth floor is called Le Gardin and this room is preserved and are provided daily maintenance to make it look as in the years 30´s, with all its beauty, Majesty and with a spectacular view not only of the National Theatre, but also throughout the city of San Jose.

We welcome you to staying again at our Gran Hotel Costa Rica the next time that you visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed in your hotel last moth and the best it has is the location, perfect view of the city while we had our breakfast that was served on the fith floor,k great by the way, also the room was cleaned, one think i liked about this hotel was the staff, specially i remember a maid called Milena, the guy Carlos from the front desk and the bellman with a nice name, Yaru, they were so kind, i recomend this hotel everytime you visit the city... janslandgreen@yahoo.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello thank you for writing a review about our hotel. Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire team of the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. For us, it was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you very much to highlight the personalized service that we offer at the hotel, it is very important and motivating for all our Staff to read comments as valuable as yours. I take this opportunity to invite you stay again at our hotel, when you return to visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.