We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but Central Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 85 hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Noisy but Central Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arrived the first night and after a long exhausting flight from the UK and I just wanted to shower and sleep. I read the reviews and was aware that this was a noisy hotel, but it was part of a pre booked tour so I had no choice. I asked at reception for a room that was not street facing…but she could not be bothered…not particularity helpful.

The room
I think it was 426 – should be avoided at all costs. It’s street facing it’s noisy and when I turned on the tap, brown lukewarm water came out…I was far too tired to do anything at that point and just showered and went to sleep. BTW you have to let the shower run for about 7 mins before it actually becomes hot.
Surprisingly, despite the strange noises including the howling dog from the next room, I did fall asleep. This was more so because I was completely exhausted…It’s really musky smelling and has pretty outdated furniture. TV was modern though and had a couple of English movie channels.
A soon as you enter the room (this one in particular) there is no light switch – you have to walk to the middle of the room and pull the fan switch…bit difficult to find if upon entering the room it’s dark…. Lighting is very low. I was put in a different room on my way back, it is was smaller but far better, think it was on the 3rd maybe, it was better and the shower did not spurt brown water.

Positives
Despite all this, it’s perfectly acceptable accommodation for 1 or 2 nights…any longer I would not recommend. The location was great, right bang in the centre of it all, great theatre across the road, and great bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Do visit the steak house behind the church – it was delicious and there is a bar on the way –tropical something I think – very pretty and it is part of a hotel I think. Breakfast buffet was adequate and the service is great.

Negatives
Beware and avoid the boulevard at night, it’s dangerous you should stay in well-lit areas in the evenings.
Hotel does not have adaptors for UK, but if you ask they may be able to charge phone at the desk.
Rooms are old, décor is old, bit musky smelling and NOISY! (again this will depend on the type of room too).

Room Tip: Aviod street facing rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are grateful for your extensive and detailed review, since it’s very helpful for us to improve every day our service. We would love to have you as a guest again in our hotel, since as you mentioned, all rooms of our hotel are different and we have rooms much more comfortable and no noise from outside for your stay is more enjoyable. If you want it to stay at the hotel please contact us at this email: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com and gladly set aside a special room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    192
    167
    89
    54
See reviews for
95
209
50
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in a standard room which we thought was of a very poor level. Then we found out that there are even economy rooms available; I wonder what they must look like. Our standard room definitely needed a lifting. The lamp was fiddled up with scotch, telephone did not work and the worst of all: bathroom sink was leaking straight, after brushing my teeth the bathroom was flooded...The management offered us an equivalent room but since it was quite late and we had all our luggage scattered all over the place, we satisfied ourselves with cleaning up the bathroom floor ourselves and using the shower tap for face wash etc. In return, the hotel management did not even offer us a cup of coffee! The after-taste of the stay was a soviet feel...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I’m very sorry for the bad experience you had in the hotel but it is a pity that you did not want to move to another room, in our hotel all rooms are different between their same categories. That is why it was that the person in charge at that time insisted on change the room, as have other much more comfortable and pleasant rooms in Standard type in which you stayed. Regarding the rooms Economy do you know that that category already remove it from our rooming list and also to inform you that the room in which you are already lodged was repaired in its entirety, to avoid this in the future the same disadvantages with other guests.

I invite you to stay again at our hotel so that you can verify the quality of our rooms on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large, clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor and you can eat on the balcony with a lovely view of the theatre. Staff are helpful, for somewhere to lay your head for the minimal time you wil be in San Jose it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We thank you for your review, the hotel has a very unique feature and is that all rooms are different within the same categories and their prices are also very affordable for all budgets. The lounge serving breakfast buffet on the fifth floor is called Le Gardin and this room is preserved and are provided daily maintenance to make it look as in the years 30´s, with all its beauty, Majesty and with a spectacular view not only of the National Theatre, but also throughout the city of San Jose.

We welcome you to staying again at our Gran Hotel Costa Rica the next time that you visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed in your hotel last moth and the best it has is the location, perfect view of the city while we had our breakfast that was served on the fith floor,k great by the way, also the room was cleaned, one think i liked about this hotel was the staff, specially i remember a maid called Milena, the guy Carlos from the front desk and the bellman with a nice name, Yaru, they were so kind, i recomend this hotel everytime you visit the city... janslandgreen@yahoo.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello thank you for writing a review about our hotel. Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire team of the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. For us, it was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you very much to highlight the personalized service that we offer at the hotel, it is very important and motivating for all our Staff to read comments as valuable as yours. I take this opportunity to invite you stay again at our hotel, when you return to visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was on an EF tour of Costa Rica last summer and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was all we needed. Room was big and newer than where we had been staying all week. Food was good but we went to the McDonalds across the square a lot. It was clean and interesting having been used by JFK when he visited Costa Rica in the 50s.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which has been very helpful for us and for the other people who visit this website. We always try to maintain the best rooms. Thank you again and take this opportunity to invite you stay with us again when you want to visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A European style hotel which means small rooms and thin walls means loud neighbors. Although we were on the 3rd floor we could still hear the piano in the lobby. The lobby and patio dinning area is beautiful and elegant but the remainder of the hotel shows a lot if wear. Our party had reserved rooms with two beds and instead received 1 bed and a cot. Nice place to say you stayed here (once) but I will seek another hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It has the particularity that all rooms are different. On the 4 and 5 floor we have more silent and very spacious rooms for your convenience, where your stay will be much more pleasant. I will make sure that the next time we do not repeat the same mistake with respect to the allocation of rooms and the types of beds that are required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perhaps it was a bad day for this woman , but i received an incredibly nasty email reply when asking where we should park, as we would be checking in just in time to run to dinner and a show . The reply stated that there was NO parking. When I inquired if this could really be possible , and that we would have to find another hotel , this is what she sent me:
IF THE GUEST BRING THE CAR THE BELL BOY FOUND A PARKINGFOR YOU THEY CHARGE $15 A DAY AND IF YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION DIRECTLY I CAN CANCEL WITHOW PROBLEM BUT IF WAS THROUGHT TRAVEL AGENT YOU MUST CONTAC THEM

Although it was sent from the reservations manager email account, I find it hard to believe a first class hotel would permit this type of " Customer Service" . Will not stay again when we attend the National Theatre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and at the same time I apologize on behalf of the hotel by the situation that had to go with the person who you wrote the biographer that answer through e-mail. At the same time I know we have already taken the necessary measures in this case, with the person who wrote this email so that it becomes not to repeat a similar situation. As we had already will know previously, via e-mail that made him reach you our sales manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.