We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Gran, more like plain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Gran, more like plain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I know this hotel was only 100$ for the night but it really isn't even worth that much. First off the rooms smell like old mold. Our tv is plugged into the wall with a faulty extension cord that is wrapped in duct tape, can you say fire hazard. The walls are so thin that you can hear everything. We can hear the conversation not only next door but across the hall. Our room has zero AC just an old fan that sweaks every time it goes around. Glad that our stay here was just for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are going to keep in mind your complaints and to take action as soon as possible repair the facilities in the room and that this does not happen again. I know that the hotel has Yes portable air conditioners in selected rooms and in addition our rooms have the particularity that all are completely different
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    167
    153
    89
    55
See reviews for
83
189
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here recently and the hotel is as described, step into the past. Our room was comfortable although the stand alone air con unit was extremely noisy. We were part of a large group and the buffet meals provided left a lot to be desired, we then tried the a la carte restaurant and found the food excellent, perhaps our tour group were too keen on price and therefore the buffet was done down to a price and not up to a standard.
We overlooked the plaza and found the bustle of the entertainers and hawkers a delight to watch and hear. We would certainly stay here again for the atmosphere which is lacking in most modern hotels.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise use the provided ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We thank you for taking your time and write a review of our hotel. Regarding to the breakfast buffet I am very surprised of your description since our breakfast buffet is one of the best in the area which offers a wide variety of fruits, typical food of Costa Rica, cheese, granola, cereal, oats, milk, chocolate, pancakes, eggs, jams, tea, coffee, etc. In addition our guests support the high quality of our breakfast buffet in this page of Tripadvisor. Do you know that our hotel was named historical - architectural heritage and for this reason we must retain its classic and elegant style without changing your infrastructure. At the same time we invite you to staying with us the next time you visit the city of San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited The Gran Hotel on the first day of our holiday in Costa Rica, having visited once before for lunch. The hotel is over 80 years old, elegantly designed and authentically finished. The location, overlooking the National Theatre has to be the most endearing aspect of San Jose. Our rooms, which overlooked the city/square/theatre were tastefully furnished and impeccably clean. The hotel overall was just what it said on the tin - grand. We had dinner despite arriving late, a mixture of seafoods, salads, meats and salsas - absolutely delicious. If you like sterile new Holiday Inn style hotels, this is perhaps not the hotel for you and you could stay at an airport hotel. If you love fine architecture, great views, period features and great food the the Gran Hotel is perfect. It was very noisy outside the hotel but it is in the absolute epicentre of Costa Rica's capital city - so a little less sleep was a small price to pay for the wonderful experience and morning views.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the 3rd floor were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which describes very well not only our hotel but the large environments and life that you can breathe in the unique surroundings of the hotel. Now we invite you to stay with us at the hotel on your next visit and thus you can enjoy our music concerts live instrumental (piano - jazz) in a spectacular and very relaxing atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Really the center of where you want to be, but not all rooms are great. This is an old charming Hotel, with great beds, wonderful staff and really clean rooms and common areas.That said, rooms vary greatly in size and view. Those rooms that overlook the plaza are delightful if you want to see and hear the street entertainers. They usually finish by 7pm so the music doesn't bother sleep, until street venders start hawking their wares at 5:30am.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are below Presidential Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, for us is very important, since the location of our hotel and the personalized service provided by our Staff are two of our greatest strengths.

The next time you want to visit in our hotel, let us know in which room you want to stay in a specific manner by sending us an email to this dirección:mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com and warmly we will offer a room away from the noise and all the action that has the heart of downtown San Jose, so it can rest in a pleasant way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at this hotel is like being transported back to the 30`s, it is a truly iconic hotel. The ground floor is very interesting from architectural standpoint but also from the decorative finishes and furniture.The Hotel is in need of some modernisation and this is particularly relevant to the rooms but in doing so would no doubt lose some of its character. The ground floor bar and outdoor restaurant area is the place for people watching and to get a feel for San Jose. Not the most quiet of hotels and everyone staying there gets to know of the crosswalk chirping signals for which the hotel equips each room with ear plugs! Excellent breakfasts served on the 5th floor in a room with an option to eat outside. Worth a stay for its position and history.

Room Tip: Front elevation very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, your description on our hotel is very accurate. Since our hotel is an unique landmark point of reference in San Jose.

The hotel provides very good maintenance but we don't want to alter their original pieces such as precious woods, apartments and real estate that dates back to the Decade of the 30´s, since it is the national historical heritage and thus we will continue keeping it, so it never lose its essence of classy and chic hotel.

On your next trip to Costa Rica if you visit again San Jose and want to stay in our hotel please send me an email at this address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com directed to Alexander Mora and I shall get you a room that is far away from the noise of the street to make your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is hotel is downtown, so there are lots of people and shops around, but I was not accustomed to the street layout, so I was very confused trying to find places nearby. I had an economy room, so it was small, but clean. There was a crosswalk signal that constantly chirped all night, which made it difficult to fall asleep. The concierge is staffed all the time, so I was able to check out very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Be careful with rooms facing the street because there is noise from cars, crosswalk signals, and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and write your review about our hotel. The sound you hear
is because by law the majority of the traffic lights in San Jose Center possess a sound to alert blind people at that time the pedestrian is enabled so they can cross the street along with the other people at the same time to avoid an accident.

The next time you want to visit San Jose and stay with us please send me an email at this address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com directed to Alexander Mora and I'll take care of getting you one room that is away from the noise of the street to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Being in downtown San Jose it was very busy. For a hotel built in the 30's it was still in pretty good shape, the only issues we had were very poor water pressure in the shower and the portable air conditioner was leaking water over the floor.
We did not bring these issues to the staff as we were only the for the night.
The continental breakfast we well stocked and had a variety of foods to choose from.
Check in and out we're fast and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it has been very helpful in order to improve the quality of our rooms at the hotel. With respect to the low water pressure in shower room, this is due to it being a historic hotel which was built many years ago the pipes are old and had a
different quality standards to new and modern standards. But we are working on improving the problem of low pressure in the showers of our rooms, I must clarify that are going to be done not in all the rooms. Regarding the leakage of water on the air
conditioned I've reported it to the Manager of Maintenance Hotel to proceed with the repair of the air conditioning as soon as possible.

I want to again invite you to stay at our hotel when you return to visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.