We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - fantastic location, elegant and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow - fantastic location, elegant and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited The Gran Hotel on the first day of our holiday in Costa Rica, having visited once before for lunch. The hotel is over 80 years old, elegantly designed and authentically finished. The location, overlooking the National Theatre has to be the most endearing aspect of San Jose. Our rooms, which overlooked the city/square/theatre were tastefully furnished and impeccably clean. The hotel overall was just what it said on the tin - grand. We had dinner despite arriving late, a mixture of seafoods, salads, meats and salsas - absolutely delicious. If you like sterile new Holiday Inn style hotels, this is perhaps not the hotel for you and you could stay at an airport hotel. If you love fine architecture, great views, period features and great food the the Gran Hotel is perfect. It was very noisy outside the hotel but it is in the absolute epicentre of Costa Rica's capital city - so a little less sleep was a small price to pay for the wonderful experience and morning views.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the 3rd floor were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which describes very well not only our hotel but the large environments and life that you can breathe in the unique surroundings of the hotel. Now we invite you to stay with us at the hotel on your next visit and thus you can enjoy our music concerts live instrumental (piano - jazz) in a spectacular and very relaxing atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    185
    166
    91
    55
See reviews for
91
202
50
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Fort Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Really the center of where you want to be, but not all rooms are great. This is an old charming Hotel, with great beds, wonderful staff and really clean rooms and common areas.That said, rooms vary greatly in size and view. Those rooms that overlook the plaza are delightful if you want to see and hear the street entertainers. They usually finish by 7pm so the music doesn't bother sleep, until street venders start hawking their wares at 5:30am.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are below Presidential Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, for us is very important, since the location of our hotel and the personalized service provided by our Staff are two of our greatest strengths.

The next time you want to visit in our hotel, let us know in which room you want to stay in a specific manner by sending us an email to this dirección:mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com and warmly we will offer a room away from the noise and all the action that has the heart of downtown San Jose, so it can rest in a pleasant way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at this hotel is like being transported back to the 30`s, it is a truly iconic hotel. The ground floor is very interesting from architectural standpoint but also from the decorative finishes and furniture.The Hotel is in need of some modernisation and this is particularly relevant to the rooms but in doing so would no doubt lose some of its character. The ground floor bar and outdoor restaurant area is the place for people watching and to get a feel for San Jose. Not the most quiet of hotels and everyone staying there gets to know of the crosswalk chirping signals for which the hotel equips each room with ear plugs! Excellent breakfasts served on the 5th floor in a room with an option to eat outside. Worth a stay for its position and history.

Room Tip: Front elevation very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, your description on our hotel is very accurate. Since our hotel is an unique landmark point of reference in San Jose.

The hotel provides very good maintenance but we don't want to alter their original pieces such as precious woods, apartments and real estate that dates back to the Decade of the 30´s, since it is the national historical heritage and thus we will continue keeping it, so it never lose its essence of classy and chic hotel.

On your next trip to Costa Rica if you visit again San Jose and want to stay in our hotel please send me an email at this address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com directed to Alexander Mora and I shall get you a room that is far away from the noise of the street to make your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is hotel is downtown, so there are lots of people and shops around, but I was not accustomed to the street layout, so I was very confused trying to find places nearby. I had an economy room, so it was small, but clean. There was a crosswalk signal that constantly chirped all night, which made it difficult to fall asleep. The concierge is staffed all the time, so I was able to check out very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Be careful with rooms facing the street because there is noise from cars, crosswalk signals, and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and write your review about our hotel. The sound you hear
is because by law the majority of the traffic lights in San Jose Center possess a sound to alert blind people at that time the pedestrian is enabled so they can cross the street along with the other people at the same time to avoid an accident.

The next time you want to visit San Jose and stay with us please send me an email at this address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com directed to Alexander Mora and I'll take care of getting you one room that is away from the noise of the street to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Being in downtown San Jose it was very busy. For a hotel built in the 30's it was still in pretty good shape, the only issues we had were very poor water pressure in the shower and the portable air conditioner was leaking water over the floor.
We did not bring these issues to the staff as we were only the for the night.
The continental breakfast we well stocked and had a variety of foods to choose from.
Check in and out we're fast and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it has been very helpful in order to improve the quality of our rooms at the hotel. With respect to the low water pressure in shower room, this is due to it being a historic hotel which was built many years ago the pipes are old and had a
different quality standards to new and modern standards. But we are working on improving the problem of low pressure in the showers of our rooms, I must clarify that are going to be done not in all the rooms. Regarding the leakage of water on the air
conditioned I've reported it to the Manager of Maintenance Hotel to proceed with the repair of the air conditioning as soon as possible.

I want to again invite you to stay at our hotel when you return to visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My English guide recommended I have lunch at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica and I was very pleased. I had lunch at the outdoor cafe and listened to live piano while dining on creamy asparagus soup and a Caesar salad with anchovies. The food and service were first class. Afterwards I ventured through the lobby and looked around. This hotel is beautifully maintained and elegant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We deeply appreciate your review, we hopefully have the pleasure to have your pleasant visit again. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the Gran Hotel February 27th to March 6th. We found the hotel to be quite beautiful and had all the emenities one could expect from such a grand old hotel. It looks like it has undergone a very nice upgrade and we found it to be more than comfortable. The location is perfect being right in the centre of the city. The plaza draws crowds of people each day and there is always something to watch. Taxis and buses are abundant as well as restaurants and shops. When we next visit San Jose we will be sure to stay at the Gran - we truly will stay here.

Room Tip: rooms on the plaza tend to be quite a bit noisy with the plaza traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Bill and Wendy,

Thank you for the lovely words, we were really happy to be able to serve you and have you as our guest for so long. Hopefully time pass by soon and we can enjoy your presence around our hotel again,

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#17 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#9 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.