We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, But Not Grand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Grand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is hotel is downtown, so there are lots of people and shops around, but I was not accustomed to the street layout, so I was very confused trying to find places nearby. I had an economy room, so it was small, but clean. There was a crosswalk signal that constantly chirped all night, which made it difficult to fall asleep. The concierge is staffed all the time, so I was able to check out very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Be careful with rooms facing the street because there is noise from cars, crosswalk signals, and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and write your review about our hotel. The sound you hear
is because by law the majority of the traffic lights in San Jose Center possess a sound to alert blind people at that time the pedestrian is enabled so they can cross the street along with the other people at the same time to avoid an accident.

The next time you want to visit San Jose and stay with us please send me an email at this address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com directed to Alexander Mora and I'll take care of getting you one room that is away from the noise of the street to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    211
    177
    95
    57
See reviews for
102
222
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Being in downtown San Jose it was very busy. For a hotel built in the 30's it was still in pretty good shape, the only issues we had were very poor water pressure in the shower and the portable air conditioner was leaking water over the floor.
We did not bring these issues to the staff as we were only the for the night.
The continental breakfast we well stocked and had a variety of foods to choose from.
Check in and out we're fast and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it has been very helpful in order to improve the quality of our rooms at the hotel. With respect to the low water pressure in shower room, this is due to it being a historic hotel which was built many years ago the pipes are old and had a
different quality standards to new and modern standards. But we are working on improving the problem of low pressure in the showers of our rooms, I must clarify that are going to be done not in all the rooms. Regarding the leakage of water on the air
conditioned I've reported it to the Manager of Maintenance Hotel to proceed with the repair of the air conditioning as soon as possible.

I want to again invite you to stay at our hotel when you return to visit our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My English guide recommended I have lunch at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica and I was very pleased. I had lunch at the outdoor cafe and listened to live piano while dining on creamy asparagus soup and a Caesar salad with anchovies. The food and service were first class. Afterwards I ventured through the lobby and looked around. This hotel is beautifully maintained and elegant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We deeply appreciate your review, we hopefully have the pleasure to have your pleasant visit again. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the Gran Hotel February 27th to March 6th. We found the hotel to be quite beautiful and had all the emenities one could expect from such a grand old hotel. It looks like it has undergone a very nice upgrade and we found it to be more than comfortable. The location is perfect being right in the centre of the city. The plaza draws crowds of people each day and there is always something to watch. Taxis and buses are abundant as well as restaurants and shops. When we next visit San Jose we will be sure to stay at the Gran - we truly will stay here.

Room Tip: rooms on the plaza tend to be quite a bit noisy with the plaza traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Bill and Wendy,

Thank you for the lovely words, we were really happy to be able to serve you and have you as our guest for so long. Hopefully time pass by soon and we can enjoy your presence around our hotel again,

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed in a lot of older hotels here in the US. This was a reasonable experience considering it is in the heart of downtown San Jose.
We found the staff helpful and friendly.
Their web page is a little out of date. They show an elegant bar that is no longer there and say the cafe is open 24 hours a day, which it isn't.
Breakfast buffet was very nice and again the staff was very friendly.
Really no serious complaints. We like to see what the cities are like so this was a good choice, within walking distance of most everything.
The city is not too inspiring and not super clean—but it's a city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much, we will make sure to update our website with accurate information about the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want to be downtown within walking distance of the heart of San Jose and want to stay in a well maintained historic hotel this is the place for you. It's like taking a step back in time. Very well maintained. The restaurant food was excellent. We had a quaint room with a private garden patio. There was a water fountain in the private garden. Very relaxing. Modern amenities that blend well with the old historic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your review. Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to receive you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel with "rewards" points. It sounded glorious, and it probably was in its day. We arrived around midnight -San Jose is almost completely empty after dark due to high crime - so it was eerie from the get go. The desk clerk seemed completely indifferent to our arrival - kind of a "bummer" when you're beginning a vacation. We needed different sleeping arrangements which the evening male staff was quick to handle - The wake up call I requested didn't happen - significant as I needed to catch an early morning flight. The excuse given was the room change; however, the desk clerk was aware of the room change the night before. The rooms reminded me of an historical version of The Shinning - long, dark, empty hallways, with handsome, though worn, furniture. Now the upside: wonderful, varied buffet breakfast on the balcony overlooking the courtyard. The reception area and first floor restaurant were quite nice with beautiful antique brass lamps, period decor. There is a sectional sofa blocked off with a picture of President Kennedy who appears to have stayed there. This hotel is right in the middle of town - shops and museums. There is upgrading going on (e.g., A/C units in rooms). I hope the restoration continues as hotels like the Grand are rare and too beautiful to allow to become dilapidated.

Room Tip: An historical gem, but there's much needed updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are constantly upgrading our property and will take your comments seriously to keep them in mind. We hope to have you back soon to experience our newly upgraded rooms with A/C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.