We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Troy, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want to be downtown within walking distance of the heart of San Jose and want to stay in a well maintained historic hotel this is the place for you. It's like taking a step back in time. Very well maintained. The restaurant food was excellent. We had a quaint room with a private garden patio. There was a water fountain in the private garden. Very relaxing. Modern amenities that blend well with the old historic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your review. Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to receive you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    203
    175
    93
    57
See reviews for
100
217
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel with "rewards" points. It sounded glorious, and it probably was in its day. We arrived around midnight -San Jose is almost completely empty after dark due to high crime - so it was eerie from the get go. The desk clerk seemed completely indifferent to our arrival - kind of a "bummer" when you're beginning a vacation. We needed different sleeping arrangements which the evening male staff was quick to handle - The wake up call I requested didn't happen - significant as I needed to catch an early morning flight. The excuse given was the room change; however, the desk clerk was aware of the room change the night before. The rooms reminded me of an historical version of The Shinning - long, dark, empty hallways, with handsome, though worn, furniture. Now the upside: wonderful, varied buffet breakfast on the balcony overlooking the courtyard. The reception area and first floor restaurant were quite nice with beautiful antique brass lamps, period decor. There is a sectional sofa blocked off with a picture of President Kennedy who appears to have stayed there. This hotel is right in the middle of town - shops and museums. There is upgrading going on (e.g., A/C units in rooms). I hope the restoration continues as hotels like the Grand are rare and too beautiful to allow to become dilapidated.

Room Tip: An historical gem, but there's much needed updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are constantly upgrading our property and will take your comments seriously to keep them in mind. We hope to have you back soon to experience our newly upgraded rooms with A/C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you go to Costa Rica, don't waste your time and money in San Jose. Go to many of. the breathtaking national parks and countless beaches Costa Rica has to offer, and if you must stay in San Jose, stay in the Escazu area., it's very nice and affordable. San Jose's downtown area is dirty and lacks colonial and modern architecture, as well as good restaurants This hotel had is charm in the 1940s, I'm sure, but now is just another hotel over rated hotel in need of renovation It's not a four star hotel. I should know, I spend half of my life in hotels due to my line of work. and on the weekends, you won't rest well. there is a lot of noise on the street and the rooms lack window noise isolation. The staff is friendly, the place is clean, and the breakfast, which is included is good, not great, but good enough.

Room Tip: choose a standard room for the $78 fee, and don't waste your money on the $138 deluxe or the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your most appreciated comments. Our hotel is undergoing a major renovation and upgrade starting next year and we hope to have you back one day to get to know our property from a different angle and show you some nice things to do in San Jose Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful upkeep, classy hotel, good breakfast buffet, clean rooms, great water pressure, pretty outdoor restaurant, live music. Didn't go to the spa but it looks nice. Free wifi. Right in the middle of downtown San Jose. ATM located on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, 2 in December and 1 in January 2013. It probably is not up to western 4**** standards, but we liked it a lot anyway. You can not beat the location, right in the center, walking distance everywhere. Plus it has excellet views from the restaurant. The breakfast was OK, and so was the WiFi. And it was nice to be part of the history, JFK stayed there among other famous people. We booked it through Choice Hotels web-site, so the price was OK for what we were getting. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much! We certainly appreciate your kindness review. We hope can have you back anytime soon,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was traveling with a group and we stayed here upon arrival in Costa Rica. It's right in the heart of the city, lots of "characters" hanging around, and we didn't feel real safe letting our 13 and 14 year old kids walk around the hotel, let alone the surrounding area at night. My room was old, dark and dingy, but the shower was hot. I was kept awake by pigeons cooing outside my window most of the night night. I think the staff tries their best though; for example, the towels were folded into decorative swans on the bed. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast at the hotel (in our own dining room), and the quality and quantity was very good. The servers were very friendly as well. It was "traditional" Costa Rica food, and gave our group a nice intro to the country. At night, the adults I was with went outside and sat on the main porch and had a few (non alcoholic) drinks. This was very nice and relaxing.
I wouldn't stay here again - although the people were friendly, the interior of the hotel needs a huge makeover!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate every comment. Thank you for taking the time on writing a review. Every word is being saved and we are working on making a our Hotel in the best choice in downtown San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I definitely have mixed reviews about this hotel. It was very charming and really cool to see all of the antiques and original character. There were lots of different rooms and areas for seating and eating but it all seems a little uncared for. Like they didn't have enough staff to keep it all clean. The rooms were very small, the carpets were a bit dirty and the bathrooms were a bit gross and smelled bad. The toilet was a commercial toilet and had hard-water stains on the porcelain. The bathtub was also stained. Lighting in the bathroom was poor - probably for the best.

The rest of the hotel was beautiful though and although I'd probably not stay again as it is, I would if it were remodeled a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments we hope you visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.