We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lot of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location and lot of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, 2 in December and 1 in January 2013. It probably is not up to western 4**** standards, but we liked it a lot anyway. You can not beat the location, right in the center, walking distance everywhere. Plus it has excellet views from the restaurant. The breakfast was OK, and so was the WiFi. And it was nice to be part of the history, JFK stayed there among other famous people. We booked it through Choice Hotels web-site, so the price was OK for what we were getting. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much! We certainly appreciate your kindness review. We hope can have you back anytime soon,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    182
    163
    88
    54
See reviews for
91
204
50
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was traveling with a group and we stayed here upon arrival in Costa Rica. It's right in the heart of the city, lots of "characters" hanging around, and we didn't feel real safe letting our 13 and 14 year old kids walk around the hotel, let alone the surrounding area at night. My room was old, dark and dingy, but the shower was hot. I was kept awake by pigeons cooing outside my window most of the night night. I think the staff tries their best though; for example, the towels were folded into decorative swans on the bed. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast at the hotel (in our own dining room), and the quality and quantity was very good. The servers were very friendly as well. It was "traditional" Costa Rica food, and gave our group a nice intro to the country. At night, the adults I was with went outside and sat on the main porch and had a few (non alcoholic) drinks. This was very nice and relaxing.
I wouldn't stay here again - although the people were friendly, the interior of the hotel needs a huge makeover!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate every comment. Thank you for taking the time on writing a review. Every word is being saved and we are working on making a our Hotel in the best choice in downtown San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I definitely have mixed reviews about this hotel. It was very charming and really cool to see all of the antiques and original character. There were lots of different rooms and areas for seating and eating but it all seems a little uncared for. Like they didn't have enough staff to keep it all clean. The rooms were very small, the carpets were a bit dirty and the bathrooms were a bit gross and smelled bad. The toilet was a commercial toilet and had hard-water stains on the porcelain. The bathtub was also stained. Lighting in the bathroom was poor - probably for the best.

The rest of the hotel was beautiful though and although I'd probably not stay again as it is, I would if it were remodeled a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments we hope you visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matino, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Bad experience for a 4**** hotel
Slept 4 nights, room with no view, noisy on the second floor.
Wifi low always problem of connection.
Fitness with a running machine but out of order
Breakfast poor with low quality of product
For the final touch, we came back two nights later to spend our last night and by changing one of our reservations, the lady at the reception misunderstand us and canceled it... with a big smile, she was sorry but not giving us a solution. finally she send us in an other hotel of the group, with rooms without windows...
I recommend you to never go to Grand Hotel Costa Rica

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your most appreciated comments. We are actually undergoing an upgrade of our property and hope to have you back one day to experience our historic hotel from a different point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here the first night of a week ling trip to Costa Rica. We took a ~20 minute bus ride for about $2 per person from the airport to the last stop, which was about 10 blocks from the hotel. Walked through the streets of San Jose and found the hotel easily. It is located right by the national theatre, a beautiful building which actually our room window looked out on. The lady at the tourist desk helped us book a rental car for pick up the next morning and gave recommendations on restaurants for dinner. Everything was walking distance. The front patio was a very nice place to sit and people watch over beer/wine or coffee any time of day. The room was clean with an air conditioner/ fan unit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
You took an adventurous trip to get to the Hotel, we are happy you like it and enjoyed it. We all hope to see you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

In 2012 I stayed at Gran Hotel Costa Rica for 5 nights. I had a big room... but the bathroom was a really joke, very small and in need of a total renovation. The restaurant of the hotel wasn't good and in my opinion very expensive. You can have something more local and better just two blocks behind the hotel. The internet was not working well and the breakfast was ok. Good things: Gran Hotel is literally near the Opera House (just opposite and it is really worth a visit, please), also just three or four blocks to the National Museum (great to understand the recent history of Costa Rica). There is also a concierge for tours in Costa Rica. They were good and attentive but I didn't think that the staff of the hotel was helpful. This is really a issue the hotel needs to improve.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your most valuable comments. We take your comments seriously and are working on each point to provide a better guest experience. Hopefully we will have you back one day at our beautiful historic property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel cannot be faulted for its location, character and atmosphere. Sitting on the terrace, drinking a superb cocktail, listening to the grand piano, and watching the world go by are memories which will stay. But the rooms are small and poky - and because there's no central air-con system a lot of the space is taken up by a clumsy in-room appliance. The noise from this machine only partially cancels out the noise of the traffic and the continuous bleeping of the nearby pedestrian crossing. In recognition of this the management supply guests with ear-plugs!

But th siting is superb - just opposit the Opera House in the heart of the city - the main pedestrian avenue runs alongside, the market is close by, and many of the city's attractions are within easy walking distance.

And the service is old-style as well - attentive without being OTT.

It's probably the best hotel to stay at for an introduction to San Jose - but don't plan to stay too long

Room Tip: I stayed twice, but both times I was overlooking the Opere House square and so both rooms were equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to have you back soon at our historic property. Please ask next time for our Superior Rooms which are larger and better situated than our standard rooms. We have changed the in-room AC appliance for newer ones almost noiseless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.