We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, shame about the rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Watford England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place, shame about the rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel cannot be faulted for its location, character and atmosphere. Sitting on the terrace, drinking a superb cocktail, listening to the grand piano, and watching the world go by are memories which will stay. But the rooms are small and poky - and because there's no central air-con system a lot of the space is taken up by a clumsy in-room appliance. The noise from this machine only partially cancels out the noise of the traffic and the continuous bleeping of the nearby pedestrian crossing. In recognition of this the management supply guests with ear-plugs!

But th siting is superb - just opposit the Opera House in the heart of the city - the main pedestrian avenue runs alongside, the market is close by, and many of the city's attractions are within easy walking distance.

And the service is old-style as well - attentive without being OTT.

It's probably the best hotel to stay at for an introduction to San Jose - but don't plan to stay too long

Room Tip: I stayed twice, but both times I was overlooking the Opere House square and so both rooms were equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to have you back soon at our historic property. Please ask next time for our Superior Rooms which are larger and better situated than our standard rooms. We have changed the in-room AC appliance for newer ones almost noiseless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    167
    153
    89
    55
See reviews for
83
189
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

In January I stayed at Gran Hotel for the second time. It is a beautiful 1930 hotel and if you are into heritage buildings you will love this one. The price was very reasonable by Canadian and US standards...less than $100 for room and a delicious, large breakfast buffet. The buffet is in a ballroom with tables and chairs covered with white cloth, and with a view of the city plaza. There is a billiard room, small gym, spa, computer room, indoor and outdoor dining and a tour desk.
We ate supper there, my daughter and son-in-law sharing Surf and Turf for Two. It came on a huge platter and was unlike any Canadian or US Surf and Turf meal...they loved it. Last year I ordered a fruit bowl for dessert and it came as a half pineapple scooped out and filled with freshly cut fruits. Delicious.
This hotel is right next to the heritage Theatre and next to the Gold and Currency Museums. The museums are well worth a visit.
The only down side of this hotel would be its location if you don't like big city centres.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice and much appreciated comments, we hope to have you back soon at our historical property and in beautiful Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i reserved the Presidental Suite for 2 Nights before travelling around in Costa Rica. First the good things:

- the Kingsize Bed is really nice
- if its your style the original old furniture, not my thing.. my GF liked it very much
- Breakfast is nice
- Restaurant in the Hotel is expensive but good, worth even to just get a coffe there

Sadly there been some dissapointments:

- the bathroom is a joke for a suite, it says wihrlpool on the internet, it's a bathtube with bubble's... tube and sink are old and the shower is a real joke... the shower would be ok, in a 20$ room...

- on the internetpage it stats: minibar. But the minibar is empthy on arrival, when i asked to fill it up, i got the response, they don't do minibar, but i could just order over the phone, when i tried to order from the phone, the guy from the restaurant said, they didn't have enought personel so send it to the room. so when i finally went down to the bar at like 23:15 it was closed... come on

So for me, the package was not good enough for the price of 250$ a night, i would try another hotel in san jose next time

Room Tip: Ich würde ein anderes Hotel wählen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are working on upgrading our rooms including the Presidential Suite with its shower and bathroom. Hope on your next visit you could enjoy the new amenities. On the web site we changed minibar into mini fridge as the hotel does not provide minibar service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location in the heart of the city. Lots of history makes for a unique experience. The staff is very helpful - especially the tourism desk. The rooms are small and hot water can go in and out. Great decor. Good food in the outdoor cafe and great drinks in the bar. It's old, but old school, and that makes it fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments hope to have you back at our beautiful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

this hotel is run bye all crooks . stay away . they will rip you off raise the price at check out they are rude . they also tell you parking is full and they have to park across the street and its 15 per day . they dont have parking their ever . dont leave money in your room they steal .mgmt is in on it as well dont complain it wont get you any where . please stay away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. As new management has taken over in June this year we hope we can have you back at our beautiful property and provide you first class service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Gran. I found the service (especially in the restaurant) to be excellent. Daily live music, wonderful breakfast buffet overlooking the city, and a fabulous cafe Americano were highlights. My room was not fancy or newly decorated, but it was clean and well-kept.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the heart of a busy city, so if you want a quieter experience, perhaps consider ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments, we hope to have you back soon here in San Jose at your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's an old hotel, badly in need of renovation. I would definitely not recommend it and would not have chosen it if I had been making my own plans. I was with a group, and we each had our own rooms, and that was very illuminating--every room was different. Mine was small but adequate, with a tiny window and a functional albeit noisy AC unit (of the old swamp cooler type). Another person had a room much like mine but smaller. One of our party one floor up from us had a large room but the AC unit was completely nonfunctional. Another person had a truly appalling room that was so tiny she could barely turn around, no AC, dirty, and one tiny window overlooking a very noisy street corner. All of our rooms were noisy with the window open, so even semi-functional AC was a plus--these rooms were all hot. But one of our party had a room that actually looked like one of the pictures on the website--a spacious corner room overlooking the square in front of the hotel with windows on two sides and a bathroom in good shape. So, apparently, it is the luck of the draw. The desk staff were actually quite helpful and friendly to us, and the common areas were nice. The location was great and that was why we had it. We walked a lot around town and it seemed very central. The breakfast was adequate and there was plenty of food, but one of our party mislaid his breakfast ticket and you would think he had lost the keys to the crown jewels. What a fuss! Overall, my experience was OK, but the place is definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: Good luck. I don't know if they would let you look at any, but I would definitely ask to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.