We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service, Terrible room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service, Terrible room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

First let's start with the room: Boiling hot with no AC, cracked caved-in tile in the bathroom, no hot water and a trickle at that, bed as hard as a rock.
Now let's move on to the customer service or complete lack there of.
Our flight was delayed and we would be arriving in Costa Rica a day late, so we requested to change our reservation to our last night in San Jose through Orbitz. Was on the phone with Orbitz multiple times to request and confirm the reservation change which they ensured us went through. When we arrived at the hotel they said they had never received our reservation through Orbitz. I showed them the printed confirmation to no avail. They suggested we contact Orbitz to which we replied to use their phone. The front desk staff said they were unable to make international calls, which is laughable for a supposedly top tier hotel. They told us to go outside and find an internet cafe. Did not offer to hold our bags. After getting in touch with Orbitz again we returned to the hotel to finally get into our room. We were then told the hotel was 100% booked. Finally someone from Orbitz contacted Dixon, the operations manager who said he would work something out for us. We waited a total of 2 hours standing in the lobby until we were finally given a room. We requested an upgrade for our wasted time and were merely given nods and smiles in reply. I would be scared to see what our original room looked like if the room we were given was truly an upgrade. It was one of the most uncomfortable rooms I have ever stayed in in my life.
Instead of being treated like guests we were treated like unwelcome beggars. An overall awful experience.

Room Tip: Do not choose a cheaper room! It might be a broom closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    195
    169
    91
    54
See reviews for
97
209
50
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm sure this place was amazing in the 30s, but now it's time for a few upgrades. Don't be fooled by their beautiful lobby...that's the bait and the hook. Service at reception was terrible. The thought of sleeping on the floor crossed my mind when I laid down on the hard mattress. The room was hot all night from the vents blowing hot air straight into the tiny tiny window that had a view of...the vents. San Jose gets chilly at night, but this night I slept without sheets. Breakfast wasn't good. Sorry I'm not being creative right now. If you want a nice Hotel go down the street to Hotel Presidente.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed twice at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica on our trip over the holidays. The first time was fine and we liked the location of the hotel so despite the service we booked it again for our departure which we now regret.

After one night in the Gran my girlfriend and I both woke up with bed bug bites up and down our bodies. It was disgusting. When I approached the front desk to let them know that they had a bed bug problem, they did not show a sign of concern. This is obviously not the first time this has happened. I would highly advise avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights just before Christmas, due to late arrival at airport and the fact we couldn't get into our hotel in Manuel Antonio for two days. We thought it might be fun to see the capital of Costa Rica and this hotel sounded well placed and historic. It IS historic, but badly in need of restoration. Our room was extremely small and totally lacking in charm, the bathroom even worse. The windows wouldn't close, which was a problem because of the noise outside the room. We turned on the air conditioner to drown out the outside noise, which worked in a good/bad way--it sounded like a jet plane. As for seeing the capital of Costa Rica, we should have skipped it. Enjoyed the Pre-Columbian museum quite a lot. Did not enjoy the stage that had been set up exactly next to the hotel with a blaring DJ and band for several hours. It meant no one could sit in the outdoor restaurant or terrace. Believe all the other reviews about this hotel and about San Jose--I should have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel is very old and it has nice architecture but is not well kept. The rooms are very old and in need of renovation. The restaurant is ok with average food. Our bathroom had a leakage and even after complaining it was not fixed. The air conditioner leaked all night and made our luggage and shoes wet. We complained couple of times but they were not able to fix the problem. But after we came back to USA they refunded my money for the night but they did aware transfer and that cost me $ 35 for no reason. I would not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are staing in the back side room and check first if your air conditioner is leaking or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Since your stay we have improved our rooms and started a overhaul in rooms and public areas, we would be glad to have you again with us here in this historical hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location in the centre of San José (not much to do there anyway).
Hotel in need of renovation, rooms dirty and bathroom in a terrible state.
The breakfast was very simple with basically fruit, cereals, egg and cheese.
It's a wonder how this hotel can have 4 stars. Bad value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

stayed from dec 14-16. overall, i enjoyed my stay. i just love old hotels. such character,well perserve. the only problem i had was a constant noise outside due to a damage crosswalk single. i enjoyed the food,especially morning buffect. also enjoyed my dinner in their resturant. upkeep for this hotel is reasonally good since it was built around 1930. i would like to suggest they open the fifth floor so all the guests can enjoy the parade. good view to see the parade.

Room Tip: to view the parade,i stayed in room 439. i believe room 440 has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.