We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Filthy rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location in the centre of San José (not much to do there anyway).
Hotel in need of renovation, rooms dirty and bathroom in a terrible state.
The breakfast was very simple with basically fruit, cereals, egg and cheese.
It's a wonder how this hotel can have 4 stars. Bad value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    211
    177
    95
    57
See reviews for
102
222
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

stayed from dec 14-16. overall, i enjoyed my stay. i just love old hotels. such character,well perserve. the only problem i had was a constant noise outside due to a damage crosswalk single. i enjoyed the food,especially morning buffect. also enjoyed my dinner in their resturant. upkeep for this hotel is reasonally good since it was built around 1930. i would like to suggest they open the fifth floor so all the guests can enjoy the parade. good view to see the parade.

Room Tip: to view the parade,i stayed in room 439. i believe room 440 has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a Grand OLD hotel. If you like the charm of the old hotel you will like this one. This is not the modern chain where once inside you no longer remember what city you are in. The bath is old but works properly. A little more water pressure would not be amiss.
The National Theater is across the square. Last night we were treated to the Festival of Light Parade outside our window. A lot of noise but is was wonderful. We were dog tired but watched until we could no longer keep awake. Excellent location to serve as a base to see the city. The buffet breakfast is very good,even though they don't have decaf coffee in this country. If you can sit is a section being cared for by Sr. Alexis Pereira. He is an old style gentleman who is a master of his trade. He makes you feel that you are his only concern.

Room Tip: we liked our room overlooking the square but there may be city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I got into the hotel at about 10:30 pm after flying all day. It was unique in the sense that they still used old fashioned keys in lieu of cards. It was nice sleeping with the windows wide open and hearing the sounds of the plaza below. The National Theatre next door is beautiful. Contrary to what the website said, they do have A/C, but it wasn't needed this time of year. In fact, I prefer the ceiling fan the room had. Breakfast was decent, served on the 5th floor and I sat at one of the tables outside, which was quite refreshing. I would stay again for a night, but not an extended stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Central location, free wifi + computer room, free gym, fridge in room, cable tv, a/c, great buffet breakfast, reliable hot water, nice and clean old fashioned hotel. (thumbs up)

Apart from the enthusiastic guy who took our bags to our room when we first got there the service was minimal. The front desk refused to hold our bags for the day when we did a trip, unless we paid full price for another night ! They laughed when we asked for the hair dryer that wasnt in its holder in the room then gave us one from under the front desk and forget getting help from the depressed, too-busy-doing NOTHING-to-deal-with-tourists in foyer tour agency (she missed our business).
(thumbs down)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and loved it. It was within walking distance of the gold museum, jade museum, market, church and numerous other attractions along with shopping, It was about $4 - $6 in a cab to the mall depending on traffic.
The lady at the tour desk went above and beyond to arrange tours for us and all the staff were great! We found it noisy on the first night which was Saturday night but after that the square was a lot quieter in the evenings for sleeping. The room was great and had windows facing out in two directions which was wonderful for watching people in the square.
If I am ever back in San Jose you can be sure I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping with noise pay a little more and get a room with a/c. The location of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love classy old hotels, and this 1930 Historic-Architectural Landmark should have been one of them. Gran Hotel was THE place to stay in early San Jose. It is located amid national monuments, museums, squares, and pedestrian streets (read no night traffic noise).

I've posted pictures that show my main objections: The promised "Bedroom with one or two Queen size beds" had double beds with remarkably old, worn, hard mattresses.

The wall over the headboards is dirty, like years of dusting the headboards has led to buildup of grime. It shows up in the pic as an inch of brown/black filth, wipes off with damp washcloth.

The bathroom light switch is grimy, as is the door casing near it going into the bathroom.

Desk staff, esp Mr. Luis Martinez, was surly. First, they couldn't find my registration. I provided them the confirmation #, and they said to come back at 2pm. Told me I could NOT check in early. When I got to my room (they eventually did find one for me with early check in), my sink's hot water faucet spun freely, not turning on the water. I reported it to Mr. Martinez, and went out for 3 hours, came back and the faucet was still not fixed. As I walked out of the room to see him again, I came across two service staff, told them the problem, and within 5 minutes a maintenance technician was fixing my faucet. I give the service and maintenance staff 3 or 4 stars. Mr. Martinez gets zero stars.

I'd expect this lack of attention to detail from a 1 or 2 star old hotel in el centro, but surely not from a hotel that brags about being the nation's only Patrimonio Historico and charges 4 star rates. I should have read addie00063's review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.