We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to san Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit to san Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After reading some reviews on trip advisor we were quite worried about booking here. However we were delighted by the hotel and its old world charm. The staff could not have been more helpful and were so proud of their hotel and its history. We were shown the presidential suite which was interesting and worth seeing. The room was clean and cool with the fan. The only slight annoyance was noisey guests and that is difficult to manage anywhwere! The food in the hotel was excellent and the restaurant on the ground floor really good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The overwhelming natural beauty of Costa Rica is not really matched by the attraction of San José which is rather banal as a city. However, some landmarks like the Gran Hotel, the National Opera or the covered market place make a visit to the city worth while when in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Cantell.

Greetings from Gran Hotel Costa Rica.

Thank you so much for you positive feed back about our hotel. We are more than happy that your experience in the hotel was the best. I hope in the near future you will be our guest again, and enjoy, the unique experience of the Grand Hotel Costa Rica… The only hotel declared Historical and Architectural Patrimony in Costa Rica.

Cordially;
Monica Vargas
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here and the rooms were great. My complaint is that first they could not find our reservations, They finally did. Next my girfriends' son paid in cash and then they also charged his credit card, When I called them they had said they had no record of him staying there. I checked out the next day and they tried to overcharge me by $20.00 a day. It was at 5 in the morning and luckily I checked the bill. Be aware of their scam.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The absolute best thing about The Gran Hotel is it's location and that is true only if you are interested in what it's near. It sits right on the Plaza de Cultura where the people watching is fine and there are always street entertainers. The Precolumbian Gold Museum, Jade Museum, National Museum and the National Theater are all adjacent to the Plaza so are virtually an extension of the hotel. The Mercado Central is just a few block walk and is not to be missed. There your senses will be delighted by the sights and sounds of a very large market jammed with exotic fruits, vegetables, fish and meat. There are small cafes called "sodas" offering tasty local snacks, coffee, refrescos and typical local ice cream ("sorbete"...try La Sorbetera de Lolo Mora...one flavor only, made with vanilla, cinnamon and other spices).
Otherwise the hotel is old and a bit worn but with a grand feel. The outdoor cafe/bar is very nice as is the food served there. The breakfast is served on th top floor in a vast space with large windows offering views of the surrounding mountains (partially blocked by modern buildings). Breakfast is typical Costa Rican fair but good (rice and black beans, eggs, potatoes, etc.).
Many rooms have no AC so, if you suffer from the heat, be sure you get one. The rooms overlooking the plaza are very picturesque but noisy. The inner rooms can come with the continuous sound of AC units running coming through your windows which are open because you don't have AC.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC. Rooms overlooking plaza can be noisy. Interior rooms can be quieter but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. They are always very well received to improve our services.

Since we are a Historical and Architectural Patrimony building, not all our rooms have air conditioning, but some superior rooms, deluxe rooms, masters suite, and of course, the J.F.K. Presidential Suite, do have air conditioning. We are currently in the process of installing more portable A/C units to enhance the comfort of our rooms.

In order to improve our standards we are also in the process of installing double internal windows to reduce some noise that may come from the outside.

We hope to have but projects finished by the end of this year.

Again, we thank you for your comments and if in the near future you decide to return to our country, we will be delighted to have you as our guest, once more.

Best regards,

Monica Vargas
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel with impressive lobby, piano bar and outdoor patio cafe. We got off on a rocky start with receptionists who were not overly friendly or welcoming. Nonetheless, the room was small but well-appointed. Downside is that a standard room does not have air conditioning, which is not mentioned when you book online. With an open window and a barely adequate overhead fan, it was noisy from rowdy guests and machinery. You can upgrade to a superior room but I found that my second standard room had a fan that was up to the task. It's not overly hot in San Jose but when your room faces the patio the air doesn't circulate as well. Lots of young people in groups stay there in July and they aren't always as well-behaved. Restaurant was nice but over-priced like all meals in Costa Rican restaurants (not "sodas"). Breakfast buffet was wonderful with a great view of SJ from the top floor. Internet never worked.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room with A/C. It's a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmJoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was such a beautiful hotel. You can't help but imagine the awesome history of this beautiful, majestic hotel and who all may have stayed their over the years. I had a room overlooking the plaza and just loved my room and view. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Miss Terri:

Greeting from Grand Hotel Costa Rica.

Thank you so much for your positive comment. We feel very proud of our hotel and we are more than happy when our guests enjoy their stay, as you have recently experienced with us. I hope in the near future you will be our guest again so you can enjoy, once more, the unique experience of the Grand Hotel Costa Rica… The only hotel declared Historical and Architectural Patrimony in Costa Rica.

Once again thank you for your nice comments.

Best regards,
Monica Vargas
Marketing and sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here at the start of June and were very happy we did.
The service from all the staff is excellent. Every morning we enjoyed a buffet breakfast and looked out over the city.
We were also treated to views of the incredibly beautiful Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica next door.
There is an okay gym if you need to exercise.
There is tour booking office in the lobby and the lady there was incredibly helpful, even when not selling us a tour.
The decor is beautiful and our room was well appointed. It was also very clean and comfortable.
Our only complaint was the hordes of EF students from the USA get a little annoying. One night, a group of them ran screaming up the hallway and banging on doors. To the hotel's credit, they sent someone up immediately after I called and found the offenders and told them off.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Michael.

Greetings from Gran Hotel Costa Rica. Thank you so much for taking time to write about us in Trip Advisors and share with the rest of the guest your good experience in our hotel, we work very hard in order to satisfy the client needs. Also we are going extend your comments to the other departments who helps to offer you a excellent time. Please don´t hesitate to contact us when you decide to visit again the hotel.

Cordially

Monica Vargas
Marketing and sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#18 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing