We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to san Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Visit to san Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After reading some reviews on trip advisor we were quite worried about booking here. However we were delighted by the hotel and its old world charm. The staff could not have been more helpful and were so proud of their hotel and its history. We were shown the presidential suite which was interesting and worth seeing. The room was clean and cool with the fan. The only slight annoyance was noisey guests and that is difficult to manage anywhwere! The food in the hotel was excellent and the restaurant on the ground floor really good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    203
    175
    93
    57
See reviews for
100
217
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The overwhelming natural beauty of Costa Rica is not really matched by the attraction of San José which is rather banal as a city. However, some landmarks like the Gran Hotel, the National Opera or the covered market place make a visit to the city worth while when in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Cantell.

Greetings from Gran Hotel Costa Rica.

Thank you so much for you positive feed back about our hotel. We are more than happy that your experience in the hotel was the best. I hope in the near future you will be our guest again, and enjoy, the unique experience of the Grand Hotel Costa Rica… The only hotel declared Historical and Architectural Patrimony in Costa Rica.

Cordially;
Monica Vargas
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here and the rooms were great. My complaint is that first they could not find our reservations, They finally did. Next my girfriends' son paid in cash and then they also charged his credit card, When I called them they had said they had no record of him staying there. I checked out the next day and they tried to overcharge me by $20.00 a day. It was at 5 in the morning and luckily I checked the bill. Be aware of their scam.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unguidedmissal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The absolute best thing about The Gran Hotel is it's location and that is true only if you are interested in what it's near. It sits right on the Plaza de Cultura where the people watching is fine and there are always street entertainers. The Precolumbian Gold Museum, Jade Museum, National Museum and the National Theater are all adjacent to the Plaza so are virtually an extension of the hotel. The Mercado Central is just a few block walk and is not to be missed. There your senses will be delighted by the sights and sounds of a very large market jammed with exotic fruits, vegetables, fish and meat. There are small cafes called "sodas" offering tasty local snacks, coffee, refrescos and typical local ice cream ("sorbete"...try La Sorbetera de Lolo Mora...one flavor only, made with vanilla, cinnamon and other spices).
Otherwise the hotel is old and a bit worn but with a grand feel. The outdoor cafe/bar is very nice as is the food served there. The breakfast is served on th top floor in a vast space with large windows offering views of the surrounding mountains (partially blocked by modern buildings). Breakfast is typical Costa Rican fair but good (rice and black beans, eggs, potatoes, etc.).
Many rooms have no AC so, if you suffer from the heat, be sure you get one. The rooms overlooking the plaza are very picturesque but noisy. The inner rooms can come with the continuous sound of AC units running coming through your windows which are open because you don't have AC.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC. Rooms overlooking plaza can be noisy. Interior rooms can be quieter but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. They are always very well received to improve our services.

Since we are a Historical and Architectural Patrimony building, not all our rooms have air conditioning, but some superior rooms, deluxe rooms, masters suite, and of course, the J.F.K. Presidential Suite, do have air conditioning. We are currently in the process of installing more portable A/C units to enhance the comfort of our rooms.

In order to improve our standards we are also in the process of installing double internal windows to reduce some noise that may come from the outside.

We hope to have but projects finished by the end of this year.

Again, we thank you for your comments and if in the near future you decide to return to our country, we will be delighted to have you as our guest, once more.

Best regards,

Monica Vargas
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel with impressive lobby, piano bar and outdoor patio cafe. We got off on a rocky start with receptionists who were not overly friendly or welcoming. Nonetheless, the room was small but well-appointed. Downside is that a standard room does not have air conditioning, which is not mentioned when you book online. With an open window and a barely adequate overhead fan, it was noisy from rowdy guests and machinery. You can upgrade to a superior room but I found that my second standard room had a fan that was up to the task. It's not overly hot in San Jose but when your room faces the patio the air doesn't circulate as well. Lots of young people in groups stay there in July and they aren't always as well-behaved. Restaurant was nice but over-priced like all meals in Costa Rican restaurants (not "sodas"). Breakfast buffet was wonderful with a great view of SJ from the top floor. Internet never worked.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room with A/C. It's a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was such a beautiful hotel. You can't help but imagine the awesome history of this beautiful, majestic hotel and who all may have stayed their over the years. I had a room overlooking the plaza and just loved my room and view. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Miss Terri:

Greeting from Grand Hotel Costa Rica.

Thank you so much for your positive comment. We feel very proud of our hotel and we are more than happy when our guests enjoy their stay, as you have recently experienced with us. I hope in the near future you will be our guest again so you can enjoy, once more, the unique experience of the Grand Hotel Costa Rica… The only hotel declared Historical and Architectural Patrimony in Costa Rica.

Once again thank you for your nice comments.

Best regards,
Monica Vargas
Marketing and sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here at the start of June and were very happy we did.
The service from all the staff is excellent. Every morning we enjoyed a buffet breakfast and looked out over the city.
We were also treated to views of the incredibly beautiful Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica next door.
There is an okay gym if you need to exercise.
There is tour booking office in the lobby and the lady there was incredibly helpful, even when not selling us a tour.
The decor is beautiful and our room was well appointed. It was also very clean and comfortable.
Our only complaint was the hordes of EF students from the USA get a little annoying. One night, a group of them ran screaming up the hallway and banging on doors. To the hotel's credit, they sent someone up immediately after I called and found the offenders and told them off.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Michael.

Greetings from Gran Hotel Costa Rica. Thank you so much for taking time to write about us in Trip Advisors and share with the rest of the guest your good experience in our hotel, we work very hard in order to satisfy the client needs. Also we are going extend your comments to the other departments who helps to offer you a excellent time. Please don´t hesitate to contact us when you decide to visit again the hotel.

Cordially

Monica Vargas
Marketing and sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.