We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fleur de Lys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Fleur de Lys on our first night in Costa Rica and the night before our flight. The rooms were very clean and all the hotel staff was very nice. The restaurant in the hotel has good food, and it's a nice alternative to venturing out into the city for dinner. We were pleased with its location - we could easily walk to the Teatro Nacional and the Museo del Oro (which were the only things we wanted to see in the city anyway). My only complaint is that the beds were a bit hard, and if you're looking for something near the airport it's a bit of a drive, but the vintage ambiance of the hotel more than made up for any of its flaws.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    47
    10
    5
See reviews for
13
115
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice style, the personell is nice and helpful.
Many europeans stay in this hotel, i guess is because the hotel style is what europeans like. The room was simple and clean, though the Tv was kind of old and small.
All in all i recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Fleur De Lys for one night. The room was clean and comfortable and the receptionist was glad to assist us with everything we needed.
The location is also very convenient.
Overall, it was a very good experience for our first night in Costa Rica. We would surely stay there again if we happen to return to San Jose someday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

If you consider yourself a flash-packer, this is the place for you. It costs around 50 dollars per night for a double room with an en-suite, (breakfast included) depending on which Hotel booking website you use. For what you get in the hotel it's 5 star value.

You get a free welcome drink voucher on arrival that you can use in the hotels 'restaurant and bar'. Although on the 'expensive' side considering there's hostels around for between 10 and 30 dollars a night depending on your needs and budget, this is the place you need to get your bearings in Costa Rica. For the price it's a very good hotel, on par with some of the more expensive hotels you might find around Costa Rica (the resort type places). The decor is beautiful, typical colonial, varnished dark wood, paintings of typical things found in Costa Rica etc.

Although we didn't make use of the hotel restaurant for dinner, the breakfast is very good for a 'free' breakfast. A small choice of hot cooked items (eggs, bacon, and a beans/ rice combo) and another small choice of cold items (corn flakes, sliced fruit and bread for toast w/ condiments) with your typical coffee and hot water available. It's by no means a disappointing breakfast, but not really something to say is 10 star amazing as some other reviews state. It's all nice and fresh, and pleasant to start your day.

The hotel staff are very pleasant, and speak very good English. (Unrelated to this review I advise everyone to take comments about English speaking in Costa Rica with a pinch of salt. They are native Latin American speakers, everyone should respect that. Even though they speak good English, it's very beneficial to use the opportunities to practise speaking Espanyol for when you find yourself in situations where you need to use it). The front desk staff are very helpful, willing to provide advice when asked, on things such as which bus to take to get to where, how much and what to see in San Jose.

The hotel itself does deserve five stars. On the outside its a dainty little place, painted in pink down a side street just off one of the main roads in San Jose. Although you class it as a main road, it is also the road you can take to get to the popular things to see in San Jose. The hotel is a few minutes walk away from the national museum, which if you're just spending a day in Costa Rica is great few hours out. It's also a short 5-10 minute walk away from the main shopping and fast food area, but far enough away that it's away from the hustle and bustle.

However, should there be a 4.5 star rating I would have selected that. The hotel is in a prime location, safe, accessible, BUT unfortunately next to a railway line. We were very fortunate not to have experienced the trains due to us religiously using ear plugs to sleep (travelling for 11 months so far, very handy things in rough areas with paper thin walls) which blocked out 95% of all the train noise. however on our last morning were awake early to catch an early bus. Whilst packing our bags we were so grateful we had the ear plugs, the noise of the train horn (which blows very frequently, as if the driver is purposefully trying to annoy everyone around) is loud. If you're a heavy sleeper you should be find, depending on which room you get, if not, BRING EAR PLUGS. They are a god send if you're a light sleeper and will turn the 4 star review into a 5. As for other sounds we cannot comment as we had a room furthest away from reception.

The rooms themselves are brilliant. A good fan (never found it hot enough to warrant a/c) shower, toilet and plenty of space.

All in all a good, clean, safe, friendly hotel, worth the price. Find your feet here before moving on.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here 1 night and it was great. It's right downtown San Jose, 3 blocks from all shops, bus stations and restaurants... Breakfast was delicious, typical Costa Rican breakfast (buffet style). It's a different atmosphere, rooms are named after native Costa Rican flowers...

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows so, if you need one, request one in the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A lesson in customer centred hospitality I find it difficult to fault this flower themed establishment located just minutes from the centre of San Jose. I made the reservation through booking.com and got a fantastic rate which seemed like a steal for what you get. The hotel is sweet, neat and spotlessly clean. There are paintings of Costa Rican birds and flowers on the walls and attractive pieces of sculpture dotted about. The staff are scrupulously helpful and friendly. The beds are comfortable and the shower is great. They even leave you a little dish of free sweeties on the table! Breakfast was spot on; eggs, gallo pinto, fruit, cake and toast buffet stylee. Have already booked for my next foray into San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.