We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised... in a good way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fleur de Lys to your Saves list
Hotel Fleur de Lys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Esterillos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprised... in a good way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay in San Jose, Costa Rica that was clean, safe, inexpensive, and also close to the heart of the city so we could walk to many things or take short cab rides. Fleur de Lys met all those qualifications, and then exceeded our expectations! The only draw back is the the occasional horn from the train. But other than that we highly recommend this hotel for a downtown San Jose stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    129
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
15
145
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Fleur De Lys 3 nights and then another 3 on my way out of Costa Rica. I loved this place. The rooms are all different, not hugely spacious, but enough, with closets and hangers, hot water all the time. The place is decorated Victorian style. Breakfast is included, huge buffet, traditional Costa Rican food and western, very very good. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful and many spoke decent english. The hotel is in a great location, 1 block from 2 museums, Natural history and one other, can't remember the name, but I walked from one to the next, 3 in total. It's also super close, about 6 blocks from the main shopping road, where you can find piles of shops, cafes, restaurants and a very old Theatre which offers shows and is a museum too. I would totally stay here again, they have a tour spot downstairs in the Lobby where you can organize full day or longer tours and there is a great little bar where you can enjoy a beverage or bite to eat at the end of the day. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice beautiful hotel with very friendly staff! Very clean, nice rooms but a noisy train passing the hotel early in the morning. The food in the restaurant is good too!
For that affordable price the best option for a stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

lovely welcome, friendly and helpful crew, very clean, a bit noisy.. sometime y think the train drive directly through your room ;-).. but in whole a good place to stay..y have the possibility to store some stuff at the hotel and pick it up later.. the restaurant is good and the price are average.. shops are in walking distance

Room Tip: we stayed once in a standard room and once in a master suite... book it via booking.com it is cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for staying at our Hotel and writing a comment about this experience. We are very pleased to see that you like our Hotel even that we have this really folklorique old train passing by. I guess it has to be part of the Towns busy life!

Hope to welcome you again in our house.

Kind regards

Jordan, Director and his staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here with friends in the end of March 2013. I have to say that we really enjoyed it - the room was clean and comfortable. I also liked the fact that they provided free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In general, it offers a very good value for money and I felt safe which I think is very important in San Jose. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Perfect place to start your Costa Rica Tour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once before a tour, and then again on return. First time we stayed on the 3rd floor and had a balcony, which made the room very pleasant. Second time we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with no windows, which made the room less enjoyable. Nevertheless, the rooms were spotless. The bathrooms were clean, with hot water. The restaurant served excellent food, which was well priced. The staff were friendly. But the train that travels alongside the back of the hotel is noisy. It isnt a problem from about 11pm to 6am, but every blast from that hooter when it does pass by will make you jump.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two days at the Fleur de Lys while being in San Jose. We were warmly welcomed and felt on holidays from the first moment on. The entire staff, from receptionists to waiters and housekeeping was very friendly and courteous! It didn't matter if it was about ordering a taxi or getting general information about the city, the hotel's receptionists were always there to help us. Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, the typical "Gallo Pinto" and Costa Rican Coffee were exactly what we needed before starting our day. The room was nice and the bathroom spacious. An excellent hotel if you want to stay in San Jose for a few days and be close to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.