We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, but that train is noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fleur de Lys to your Saves list
Hotel Fleur de Lys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value, but that train is noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once before a tour, and then again on return. First time we stayed on the 3rd floor and had a balcony, which made the room very pleasant. Second time we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with no windows, which made the room less enjoyable. Nevertheless, the rooms were spotless. The bathrooms were clean, with hot water. The restaurant served excellent food, which was well priced. The staff were friendly. But the train that travels alongside the back of the hotel is noisy. It isnt a problem from about 11pm to 6am, but every blast from that hooter when it does pass by will make you jump.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    114
    49
    10
    5
See reviews for
13
132
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two days at the Fleur de Lys while being in San Jose. We were warmly welcomed and felt on holidays from the first moment on. The entire staff, from receptionists to waiters and housekeeping was very friendly and courteous! It didn't matter if it was about ordering a taxi or getting general information about the city, the hotel's receptionists were always there to help us. Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, the typical "Gallo Pinto" and Costa Rican Coffee were exactly what we needed before starting our day. The room was nice and the bathroom spacious. An excellent hotel if you want to stay in San Jose for a few days and be close to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

With my honey, we stayed here for 1 night at the start of our trip round Costa Rica.
We found this hotel not up to standard it was dirty and the bathrooms smelled of...Ouf ouf.
The beds weren't comfortable, and my main complaint is that some rooms had no outside window.
The food at breakfast time was dreadfull and if you did not get there early no food was left and what was left was cold. The food in the evening was better but very expensive.
We payed a lot of money for this hotel and expected better...

Room Tip: ?? I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose,CostaRica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm a longterm guest at the Hotel Fleur de Lys, having been here since mid-January 2013. Really, it's a great place to stay! Total quality service, with excellent employees, a beautifully remodeled mansion, great food in the restaurant and located in central SanJose, for easy transportation. The owner, has done a great job in restoring the wooden finishes, inside the hotel. The manager, Jordan, will do anything he can to make your time here more comfortable.
I love the buffet breakfest and watching futbol in the small bar(closes at 10 PM).
It's rated 3 stars, but really, it's atleast 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is funky and may not have the shine of a polished hotel, but the staff are superb, and the place is clean and honest. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful, fresh and generous with offerings of fresh fruit, traditional Tico rice and beans and eggs done upscale level, plus yogurt, many kinds of breakfast breads and jams, butter, and cheese.
The staff are very helpful and well mannered. They go all out to assist you with reservations and other necessary help.
There is a rather good restaurant with a Swiss chef who prepares great dishes and satisfying salads made with local and fresh ingredients. They open for dinner only.
The bar is well placed between outdoors and in, and makes for a great place to experience a drink while in the atmosphere of small neighborhood street in San Jose.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious. There are smaller rooms as well, and they are adequate for a good night's sleep.
Yes, and free internet service in the lobby is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: It gets really quiet in the rooms after the commute train had stopped service, which is after nine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for a couple of nights and found it excellent value for money. The spacious rooms were clean and very comfortable and the staff very helpful.
The bar was cosy and friendly and the restaurant was good, serving reasonably cost meals in a lovely colonial room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH-Kriens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rooms with a individual, colonial touch. Quiet quarter garaneeing relaxing sleep.
Excellent restaurant respecting individual wishes. Very freindly personel. All rooms are clean and comfortable. As european travellers we felt safe in the hotel an the region. Very good internet facilities for business purposes.

Room Tip: Spacy rooms especially in the upper floors with view over San José
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.