We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fleur de Lys to your Saves list
Hotel Fleur de Lys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is funky and may not have the shine of a polished hotel, but the staff are superb, and the place is clean and honest. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful, fresh and generous with offerings of fresh fruit, traditional Tico rice and beans and eggs done upscale level, plus yogurt, many kinds of breakfast breads and jams, butter, and cheese.
The staff are very helpful and well mannered. They go all out to assist you with reservations and other necessary help.
There is a rather good restaurant with a Swiss chef who prepares great dishes and satisfying salads made with local and fresh ingredients. They open for dinner only.
The bar is well placed between outdoors and in, and makes for a great place to experience a drink while in the atmosphere of small neighborhood street in San Jose.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious. There are smaller rooms as well, and they are adequate for a good night's sleep.
Yes, and free internet service in the lobby is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: It gets really quiet in the rooms after the commute train had stopped service, which is after nine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    119
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
136
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for a couple of nights and found it excellent value for money. The spacious rooms were clean and very comfortable and the staff very helpful.
The bar was cosy and friendly and the restaurant was good, serving reasonably cost meals in a lovely colonial room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH-Kriens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rooms with a individual, colonial touch. Quiet quarter garaneeing relaxing sleep.
Excellent restaurant respecting individual wishes. Very freindly personel. All rooms are clean and comfortable. As european travellers we felt safe in the hotel an the region. Very good internet facilities for business purposes.

Room Tip: Spacy rooms especially in the upper floors with view over San José
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica. We felt very welcomed upon our arrival, were offered help with our luggage, and were provided free welcome drinks from the bar. Our room (Gardenia) was on the first floor which we felt was convenient to access. The room and private bath were clean and sufficient in size and amenities for us. Breakfast was also quite nice, with a variety of fruits, juices, eggs, beans and rice, and other options available buffet style. HOWEVER, be warned if you intend to attempt to sleep past 4:30 AM! The train station seems as if it must be within the hotel (though it's next door), as you can hear not only train horns and engine noise, but people (workers?) talking; The acoustics of the building make it sound as if they are right in the hotel room with you and ignoring the fact that you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Fleur de Lys for one night in a standard room. I was very happy with my stay. The room was reasonably sized for one person with a TV (not many channels though...), a double bed, a fan and a large, if dated bathroom. Everything was very clean, Wifi worked very well in all areas of the hotel, my room was quiet and breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was quite good, consisting of fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, homemade cake, rice and beans, tea or coffee. I was able tomstore my luggage at the hotel for the day, they have a safe at reception and a nice bar where you get a complimentary welcome drink upon arrival. It was maybe 3 blocks from the centre of town, just one to he crafts market and national museum. I would recommend this hotel, even though I did not like San Jose much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEORIA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just spent two wonderful nights (Feb. 27 & 28, 2013) at the Fleur de Lys Hotel in San Jose, C.R. at the end of a busy 10-day Caravan tour. There is no elevator but someone took my luggage up to the second floor - a ramp for luggage would be a plus - but they retained the Victorian House charm when they converted it to a hotel. The management was very helpful, my room named NARCIZO was charming and clean, continental breakfast was very nice and substantial and the entire hotel is totally charming. I am so glad I found this hotel on-line for my final two nights in this gorgeous country. Thank you Fleur de Lys for a great time. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Beverly Brown from Peoria, Arizona, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was disappointing. If you don't get one of the better rooms you are stuck on the ground floor in a room with no windows and in the case of Iris room, a sense of a prison cell!
A tepid welcome from reception, no help with luggage and no water in the rooms. Coming from Guatemala we had expected a better level of service but so far not the case

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.