We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - 2 weeks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great Stay - 2 weeks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from Dec 26 - Jan 9. This will be an in-depth review, so bear with it! Any questions on anything I may have missed, just ask:

Rooms: They are a bit dated, but good for what you do: sleep and shower. A/C was noisy, but worked. Rooms have small balconies, flat screen TV, hair dryers, irons, wifi, and beds were ok. We requested a coffee maker and it was delivered - complete with supplies. We also requested a min-fridge, and received one for a small fee. Always had hot water, maid service was excellent, always had towels and what we needed. Would give the rooms a 4/5 for the hotel class.

Food: We had the included breakfast at Denny's every day. For our needs this was PERFECT. You could get a full breakfast from 4am-10am. They had 4 choices for the included free breakfast, and you could add on extras for what you needed. If you wanted a "regular north American breaky" order the "Costa Rica" breakfast - request the extra egg instead of rice and beans, and order bacon on the side. We had this breakfast for 14 days straight, and never got bored. A couple of days we ordered from the menu, and took the credit that you can use your breakfast coupons for. We never ate lunch or dinner at Denny's - only came one night for coffee/dessert, as there are other options nearby. Special Shout-Out to ALL of the Denny’s breakfast staff who were amazing all the time!!! Across from the hotel is a Subway and buffet restaurant. We never ate here, but it's across the street. Around the corner (just past the hotel casino) is a supermarket, and a small mall. The upper floor had a GREAT restaurant that we ate at several times (there’s a fish tank in the restaurant) - it was amazing, with great prices. Have the chicken burger: amazing deal. In the same plaza there are a number of "food-court-style” places. We had smoothies in the place in the centre, and pizza from the pizza place at the back. All places were great, and local prices, so much better deals. Would recommend eating here. “Sangria” – the hotel’s tapas restaurant was literally built while we stayed here. It opened on our last day there, we didn’t go, but walked by and the food looked good, and drinks looked fabulous. Wished it would have opened sooner. The supermarket had all necessary supplies you needed, at reasonable prices as well. Would give this place a 5/5 for food and options in and around the hotel.

Pool Area: Seriously 5 stars. We were here during a very busy time, and never had problems getting chairs or towels. The hot tub is amazing after a long day, and the pool is nice and cool. You can get drinks from the Casino Bar to bring outside, and you can order lunch from Denny’s from a phone by the pool, and it’s brought to you. Used the pool area almost daily. 6/5 is my rating.

Wifi: I had ZERO issues with wifi for the 2 weeks I was there. It worked great in the room, and great by the pool. Never had any issues, and even used the free computers in the business room to print out some maps. Would give the wifi 5/5.

Car Rental: Used the Alamo car rental place in the hotel for our rental. I pre-reserved online before our stay. The car was not ready on day 1 of the agreement, but was ready on day 2. Since we didn’t have a strict itinerary, this wasn’t an issue for us. Others that had plans to be at other places, had to make other arrangements. Please note that the cars are not on site here, and shuttled over from the airport. Driving here is NOT for the average person. Unless you are driving to a VERY POPULAR tourist spot there are little or no signs on the streets and highways, and all signs are in Spanish. Most cars are manual transmission – ensure you know how to drive one, as it is mostly hills. We drove to MANY destinations from here (Cartago, Manuel Antonio, Jaco, Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls, Tapanti National Park, Barillo National Park, Tarcoles, and many others.) This is no easy feat. Ensure you do your homework and are prepared. If you are not good with directions, get the GPS.

Staff: all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff helped us find a cord for something we needed (even offered to loan us a personal one – which was amazing.). Helped us with directions, places to eat, and everything we needed. The front desk was also where we arranged for the coffee maker and fridge for our room. The maid service was great (we tipped a couple of bucks every second day during our stay), and the grounds keepers were always smiling and friendly. Staff 5/5.

Casino: The casino was fun. The happy hour drinks were served here from 5-6 daily. We went a couple of times with no issues. They have table games (pai-gow, and something similar to blackjack) and lots of slot machines. There is a poker room here as well, spent a few nights playing – the staff were great as they knew my Spanish was limited, would speak bilingual when I was in a hand. They have a tournament that starts each night at 5:30-6 that allows you to win chips to play in the cash games that start around 7-7:30. Cash games are $1/$1 NL. Good crowd, and you can order food and drinks in the room. Slots are both in Colones (local currency) and US$. You have to look for the right ones, or the staff are always happy to help you out.

Concierge: Juan Carlo at the desk for Grey Line is a dream! He was amazing. Anytime I needed directions, he drew me a map with landmarks that were always spot on. We booked 3 tours with Grey Line during our stay: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuga Island Cruise, and Sarapiqui River Adventure and Canopy tour. We booked 2 tours online before we left, and one at the desk for our last day. I will review these tours separately in their proper forum. But the desk was always helpful, and staffed for long hours. It was nice to have there.

Shopping: There is a gift shop on-site. As with most hotel shops: over priced. If you are getting drinks or snacks here you will pay 4x more than at the supermarket next door. Souvenirs are about 2x as expensive as markets, but good quality. Shop around.

San Jose Town: we took a bus to San Hose for like $0.50. You take it across the freeway (go under the overpass), and back drops you off in front of the hotel. It was about a 10 minute ride. You can walk around San Jose easily on foot, and the Mercado Central is about 2 blocks from the bus stop downtown. We caught the same bus at the same stop in San Jose to come back. I also had the PLEASURE of driving here – mostly by accident. It’s a series of one-way streets, with other drivers who mostly don’t obey any form of traffic laws (including signs, lights, or even the lines on the road). Don’t drive here if you don’t have to. Parking lots are hard to find, and there’s limited street parking. Signs are all in Spanish. Take the bus, or a taxi.

This hotel is great proximity to the airport, and the shuttle runs promptly. It’s about 15 minutes for a 1-way trip. The hotel is also in a good location just outside of San Jose if you are going to be exploring this beautiful country – at the intersection of 2 main highways, it’s easy to get anywhere from this hotel by car (if you know where you are going). Would recommend this hotel for anyone. If you have additional questions, please contact me.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool. It was on the north side, and was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Eyeluv2Travel, thank you so much for sharing such a thorough and precise review and for all the praises and recommendations that you have given us. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you appreciated all the services and attentions we have given you.
It is our duty to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and the most comfortable accommodations to guarantee a very peaceful stay with all the conveniences they might need so they could feel more comfortable than in their own homes. Our staff strives to not only make them feel surrounded by a very friendly and helpful atmosphere, but also trying to provide them with everything they need so their stay will be more than what they expected.
It makes us very happy to learn how much you like our pool area and the landscaping since we take much pride in maintaining it as beautiful as it is.
We are going to make sure to mention to our General Manager how helpful and complying Juan Carlos was, we are sure that he is going to be very happy to learn about it.
Once again, thank you so much for all the great things you wrote about us, it was a pleasure to be of your service and the entire team looks forward to your next visit.
Thank you for making us the hotel of your choice.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    184
    72
    37
    19
See reviews for
78
130
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in BW Irazu for a week. The staff in the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet usually. The included breakfast with 4-5 options at the Denny's is a plus, but got tired of the foods after 4-5 days. The free wi-fi is nice but the internet connection was weak and unreliable in the room so I had to go to lobby a few times. There is a supermarket right next to the hotel which is convenient. And the free shuttle bus service to airport is quick and nice.

Overall, I am happy choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ren Z, thank you for writing such a great review.
We are thrilled to learn of how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with the best services and accommodations so they can always be sure that their total satisfaction is going to be guaranteed.
We are happy to inform you that we are actually changing our wi-fi provider so you can rest asure that the connection will be much better from now on. It is a great source of motivation that you were so happy choosing us as your hotel.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back again very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our flight to Toronto was cancelled due to bad weather and Air Canada put us up at the Best Western, Irazu. We were happy to get a free hotel for the night, and certificates to spend $14 for dinner at their hotel restaurant, Denny's. Word of advice, the food was horrible at Denny's. I had the spicy wings which were barely cooked, and had an insipid spicy sauce. The service though was ok and friendly. We settled in for the night, but our alarm went off at 5:45 am (which was not set by us), followed by hammering from construction that started shortly after 7 am, and then housekeeping knocked on our door shortly after 8 am. Really!! So, don't expect a good night's rest unless you go to bed early and get up early.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing inside to the courtyard over looking the pool, otherwise you will be facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Janine S, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take our guests´ comments very seriously because it is a sure way to see what they think of the hotel and its services and what we can do to improve them.
We strive to make our guests feel totally comfortable and satisfied with our services in order to make their stay a wonderful experience. That is why we are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We apologize about the noise of the construction and we are going to share your comments with our brand standard team so they can take them into account and try modify the hours of the construction work. What you can do when you don´t want to be disturbed (so the housekeepers won´t knock on your door and wake you up) is to hang outside your room´s door the "Please Do Not Disturb" sign that are inside each room of the hotel, that way you are definately not going to be bothered at all.
Regarding the food, we are very sorry and we apologize, we hope that you were able to show the staff the undone wings so they could bring you another order well done or change it to another dish of your choice.
It was a real pleasure having you stay with us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica and our last night so we wouldn't be flying and driving in the middle of the night. Our rooms were clean and quiet and the hotel people were nice and helpful. We used the free international calls to call our bank to straighten out an issue so that feature was welcome. I saw some review that complained about the Denny's next door saying it wasn't like the Denny's in the USA. Well yes it isn't. I liked it better. It has much more of a personal feel and the food is nice Costa Rican food. I thought it was outstanding for a free breakfast. It was a real meal that tasted good. The last hotel we stayed at here in the USA gave us bananas and a packaged food bar for our free breakfast. Give me this Denny's breakfast over that anytime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Randy B, thank you for sharing such a nice review about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you found our hotel not only very comfortable but also with a very convenient locationg we like more than to make our guests feel extremely welcome in a very friendly atmosphere.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you agn and with great services. Also, we are very glad to learn of how much you appreciated our costumer service because there is nothiain soon. Happy Holidays!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stay at this jotel on business every couple of months.

If you are looking for exotic Costa Rica…this aint it, but, for comfort, safety, cleanliness, a Dennys attached to it open 24 hours so you can get some normal expected food when you have had enough Costa Rican, great pool, and overall a really pretty place.

It is on the outskirts of San Jose so while you are in a bit of chaos you are quite iscolated as you have a security guard always around, big walls around the paring area.

It's really one of the best hotels in my opinion. Only 10 minutes from the airport outside of rush hours…about 30 minutes during rush hours.

Room Tip: 428 or anything facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Patrkbukly, we appreciate such wonderful comments. It makes us very happy to learn how satisfied you are with our services and how much you enjoy staying with us. As you could see, our location is very convenient because we are not only a short time away from the airport but we are also a few minutes away from downtown San José and other important metropolitan areas so you get to be near everything but at the same time you are not in the middle of the hassle. We strive in providing our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations in order to deliver them with the best hotel experience possible and make them feel totally comfortable.
Thank you for staying with us, it is always a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I took this hotel because it was near of the Costa Rican immigration
In the need to be on time for my renewal ( residency card )
The closed by was the only good point
The bedroom look an hotel in the 1970
Old comforter , bad bed
Dennis around the corner has nothing
To do with one in the US
Only the spelling
It was between average and bad but
I give 3 stars because the staff was
Very pleasant

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear user,

First we want to thank you for your comment, and also we apologize if you experienced some drawback during your stay with us. Most of out rooms were recently remodeled, and we try to keep them very clean and confortable. We hope to receive you back here, and have a chance to give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere and helpful staff. The Denny's was just like home and it even had FREE wifi. It's close to the airport and about a 15 min drive to downtown. The free shuttle was a great benefit. The hotel offers happy hour form 5pm-6pm and it's great to meet people and have some free drinks. I didn't visit the casino or use much of the facilities but everything looked clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear user:

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy most of our facilities and services. We try to go beyond to make our guests feel like at home. Please make sure you come back here soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.