We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 85 hotels in San Jose
SanDiego
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was "jailed" here for 40 hours courtesy of Copa Airlines (flights cancelled over 2 day period, someone "broke" the flight dispatch system...*#*#&@
Was surprised, the nights' sleep was good, king bed, nice linens, and even though there is a casino on the property, it was quiet.
Only downside, the window-mounted AC sounds like a freight train. Am sure glad it has rained hard enough to cool the room off for sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest:

It is good to know that even you did not plan to stay here, you had a quality time with us. We always try to give a pleasant time to our guests and make them feel as confortable as possible.

We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    145
    59
    31
    17
See reviews for
58
105
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a nice airport hotel and typical for a Best Western. Staff was nice and rooms were a bit dated but what is expected for the price. They have a shuttle from/to the airport (look for the guy when exiting the airport with the sign) and it will pick you up in about 10 minutes once you get is scheduled outside. Though I did not use it the pool looked nice. The attached casino is very simple and not worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear user,

We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us. We really hope to have you here in your next visit to Costa Rica and give you an even better experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed there for the past 10 years. My last stay was in January. They do a very good job of keeping the place updated. The pool and Jacuzzi are nice. The rooms are nice with free international calls. They advertise complementary mixed drinks. This was a great feature in the past. This time the bar tender had no idea what I was talking about. I got a manager and he took care of us. Beware of the ladies of the night trying to solicit you. The guard at the entrance is good about running them off. The rental car office on site is a nice plus. The WIFI works great.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the pool with a direct walk out to the pool. All rooms are quiet, which is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear user:

We appreciate your comment, and we are glad to know that you could enjoy our benefits. It is great having you here for the past 10 years, and we hope many years in return.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham. Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stay one night on a business trip, to many young people, to noise, kids running on the hallways screaming. The room to small. But close to the airport. No restaurant around. Front desk Services good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear user:

First at all, thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a comment, that is what make us improve everyday.

We want to apologize if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay. We always try to please our guests and make them feel as confortable as possible. There are three restaurants just next to the hotel. We would like to receive you here again and make sure that you get to enjoy properly all what we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Irazu for 3 nights in February 2012 as a home base for some long day trips around the coffee plantations and La Poas Volcano. What can you really expect from a Best Western? The hotel was older but in a convenient location close to the malls and highways. Check in staff are very pleasant as are the lounge staff. The free drinks during happy hour (5pm - 6pm I think) were great and not watered down. Loved the Rum Punch! I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice enough and was in a secluded courtyard. I enjoyed the free internet but it would get very busy at times. The room was clean but very old and dated. The free long distance calls were a plus as well, but the phone would cut out often. Enjoyed my daily included breakfast at the Denny's, especially since they served the usual Costa Rican fare. No real complaints other than the dated rooms.

Don't stay here expecting a luxury hotel - it is pretty bare bones but gets the job done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest:

First we want to thank you for your review. It is good to know that our benefits were convinient for you. Also we are going to focus in the things we can improve in order to offer a better experience everytime. We hope to receive you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Costa Rica was our "home base" as we traveled between countries and we stayed @ the BW Irazu 3 times during July. Primarily because there is an airport pickup (caution! they stop @ 11!) and there is a rental car place on site. The grounds are fantastic, the hotel clean and the rooms are very comfortable. They even have safe drinking water from the tap! There is a Denny's that serves breakfast for the guests in the morning for some good old fashioned comfort food. There is a grocery store around the corner so you can buy drinks / ice cream / etc. The pool is clean and warm and the hot tub very cozy. We will stay here again if we're in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear user:

It is great to know that you had a good experience with us. Of course we are going to be looking forward your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I travel quite a bit, and I usually stay in a tier or two above Best Westerns. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. It was quite clean and spacious, and felt safe. The grounds were very nice. And the Wi-Fi was great! The best we had in all of our trip through Costa Rica. Some downsides -- it is a bit out of the way - you cannot walk to down town San Jose. However, there is agrocery store and a couple of good restaurants nearby. Our favorite was "la casa de mi abuela" or "Grandma's House". And,f or some reason, the power went out with some frequency. It came back on, but I would warn against taking the elevator. And you could get locked out of your room for a short period of time. I would stay here again if i were in the area. The pool area was quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that we were better than you expected and that you got to enjoy our facilities and benefits. The electricity was failing because of some issues in the whole city more than in our hotel, but our power source is always ready to start working immediatly. About being locked in the room, you do not have to worry, the lock does not work with electricity, but batteries. We hope to have you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.