We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham. Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stay one night on a business trip, to many young people, to noise, kids running on the hallways screaming. The room to small. But close to the airport. No restaurant around. Front desk Services good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear user:

First at all, thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a comment, that is what make us improve everyday.

We want to apologize if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay. We always try to please our guests and make them feel as confortable as possible. There are three restaurants just next to the hotel. We would like to receive you here again and make sure that you get to enjoy properly all what we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    201
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
90
137
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Irazu for 3 nights in February 2012 as a home base for some long day trips around the coffee plantations and La Poas Volcano. What can you really expect from a Best Western? The hotel was older but in a convenient location close to the malls and highways. Check in staff are very pleasant as are the lounge staff. The free drinks during happy hour (5pm - 6pm I think) were great and not watered down. Loved the Rum Punch! I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice enough and was in a secluded courtyard. I enjoyed the free internet but it would get very busy at times. The room was clean but very old and dated. The free long distance calls were a plus as well, but the phone would cut out often. Enjoyed my daily included breakfast at the Denny's, especially since they served the usual Costa Rican fare. No real complaints other than the dated rooms.

Don't stay here expecting a luxury hotel - it is pretty bare bones but gets the job done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest:

First we want to thank you for your review. It is good to know that our benefits were convinient for you. Also we are going to focus in the things we can improve in order to offer a better experience everytime. We hope to receive you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Costa Rica was our "home base" as we traveled between countries and we stayed @ the BW Irazu 3 times during July. Primarily because there is an airport pickup (caution! they stop @ 11!) and there is a rental car place on site. The grounds are fantastic, the hotel clean and the rooms are very comfortable. They even have safe drinking water from the tap! There is a Denny's that serves breakfast for the guests in the morning for some good old fashioned comfort food. There is a grocery store around the corner so you can buy drinks / ice cream / etc. The pool is clean and warm and the hot tub very cozy. We will stay here again if we're in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear user:

It is great to know that you had a good experience with us. Of course we are going to be looking forward your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I travel quite a bit, and I usually stay in a tier or two above Best Westerns. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. It was quite clean and spacious, and felt safe. The grounds were very nice. And the Wi-Fi was great! The best we had in all of our trip through Costa Rica. Some downsides -- it is a bit out of the way - you cannot walk to down town San Jose. However, there is agrocery store and a couple of good restaurants nearby. Our favorite was "la casa de mi abuela" or "Grandma's House". And,f or some reason, the power went out with some frequency. It came back on, but I would warn against taking the elevator. And you could get locked out of your room for a short period of time. I would stay here again if i were in the area. The pool area was quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that we were better than you expected and that you got to enjoy our facilities and benefits. The electricity was failing because of some issues in the whole city more than in our hotel, but our power source is always ready to start working immediatly. About being locked in the room, you do not have to worry, the lock does not work with electricity, but batteries. We hope to have you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently experienced a living in this good hotel: it's really clean and safe as well, close to the downtown of San Jose, about 10/15 minutes by taxi. All kind of amusements nearby. The staff is friendly, really helpful. The receptionist helped me finding many good places. Rooms are confortable and preety big, enought space with good wardrobe. There's a good swimming pool in the centre of the structure. Free internet connection in a technological room dedicated with pcs. I appreciated breakfasts and dinners in the beside restaurant Denny's (which is the hotel's restaurant). Good the free happy our at 6 pm, there it's easy meet friendly tourists. Good place as Best western always does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your comment, and it is great to know that you could enjoy our hotel and attractions nearby. Our staff is always helpfull and willing to go beyond with our guests. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't usually complain, but we have to here.
Location of hotel in a horrible. Not near anywhere I would want to walk, very difficult to find, not clearly marked, needed to go around traffic circle 3 times, during rush hour.

First room we were given smelled of cigarettes.

2nd room had a swarm of young adults next door running up and down the hallway. Tried to call the front desk, no clear directory on the phone. Dialed 0 noone answered.
Asked the kids to be quiet, they started up again.

Had to go downstairs, was told that there was a group in a swim match and nothing they could do, no floor where there weren't children. Would have been nice if they had dedicated an area without kids for the other people, I reserved in February.

Shower had little pressure. Didn't bother to complain, as I was tired of complaining.

The breakfast included is in the next door Denny's Denny's breakfast was supposed to be ready by 4AM, went in at 4:30AM before taking shuttle to airport, coffee wasn't ready. Can imagine breakfast wouldn't have been either.

Shuttle did come on time and got us to airport at the time we wanted.

Better to have stayed at the Holiday Inn right at the airport. Chose this because of the good reviews. Don't understand them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear user,

First at all, we want to thank you for taking a few minutes to leave a review.

We apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant, we always try our best to give our guests a good experience, so we are sorry if we did not attend your expectations.

Your comment is very important for us, and we are going to focus in the aspects we can improve, to make sure it will not happen again.

We hope that you give us a chance, coming back here to live the experience we want to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel 2 nights. The first night we were in Costa Rica and the last night we were in Costa Rica. We were surprised to how fancy the hotel is without the 'fancy' price. Very nice hot tub and pool. Recommend eating at the Casino beneath the hotel instead of the Denny's attached for supper...much more reasonably priced! The hotel room was very nice and all staff were friendly. A nice place to stay for your night in San Jose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear user,

We are glad to read your comment, and know that you enjoyed our hotel. It is always our pleasure to serve you as you deserve. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#34 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.1 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.