We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“everything we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived around noon and were able to relax at the lovely pool and take a Grey Line city tour that afternoon as an intro to San Jose, as we were only there one night. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. It is outside of the center but there are plenty of taxis out front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello!

It is a pleasure for us to know that our hotel was to your liking and that you got to enjoy our beautiful facilities. Been located 8 minutes away from Downtown turns into a great thing when it comes to relax and rest without the noice of city.

Our staff is very friendly and always willing to help, we are gonna be looking forward your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    157
    58
    31
    18
See reviews for
65
110
37
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location is excellent! Free breakfast, free internet, free calls to US. On site Grey-Lines for day trips that pick you up at front door. On site rental car. On site 24/7 restraurant/room service. Beautiful pool, hot tub and grounds. Massage on site. Honest Maids, Front Desk Employees are helpful and very courteous. Very clean and very safe. Grocery and SubWay sandwiches within walking distance 2-3 minutes. Shuttle to and from airport. Overall experience was great, WILL STAY AGAIN

Room Tip: third floor has a great breeze from the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello!

We are truly pleased to receive your comment, and to realize that you enjoyed so much all what we have to offer. Our best reward is to know that our guests are satisfied while staying here and after that, and it will be our pleasure to have you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms are clean( sheets, shower, john and carpet.) William from the front desk was very friendly and me us fell like if we were long time friends and we just had met, the pool was very clean, jazcuzy also, i used the sauna( private & free) you need to make reservation. Free international calls! Free wifi, free shuttle to airport. The souveneir storevis kindda pricey gringo pricing, theres a super market very close walking distance, its very nice place to stay for couples, families or busines.

Room Tip: Free happy hour 5 -6 in the casino bar! Go directly to the bartender, free shuttle to air port, sau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,

We really appreciate your comment!

It is great to know that you had a pleasant time with us and that you got to enjoy our facilities, as well as the attention from our staff, they always go beyond to please our guests. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall not bad but nothing spectacular either. As expected, basic rooms with typical amenities - the hot water took a long time to come on to the point that it seemed like it was not working but nope... just had to wait a little while. No big deal. The staff were helpful and even assisted us with weighing our luggage prior to going to the airport so we would know if our bags were over the weight limit.

Just know that there is really not much nearby... a few restaurants and a souvenir shop but I wouldn't want to walk too far by myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear user:

We appreciate your comment, and we are glad to know that our staff was able to asist you properly, we always try our best to satisfy our guests.

We are going to consider your opinion and work in giving a better service all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was close to the airport, and the free shuttle was a great benefit. The free happy hour form 5-6 is not to be missed! I also liked the layout with the outdoor bar. Breakfast at Denny's was okay. The pool looked nice but we didn't end up using it as it wasn't warm enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your gentle comment.

It is great to know that you had a good time here and that you could take advantage of our benefits. We are going to be looking forward your next visit, and hopefully you will get to enjoy the pool this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we decided (a couple) to get to the hotel it was Bigll location, we saw the hotel offers a taxi service to the airport, when we asked at the service, they said that the service is until 17:00 it's not listed on their site, we also registered Bulletin that said the shuttel are all they if you ask, we asked the staff and they said only till 17:00, Breakfast was terrible and the price for late checkout $ 70 + $ 20 taxi, The room was fine and clean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear user:

We want to thank you for your feedback, and we offer a sincere apology if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay here.

Our shuttle is available everyday from 4 am to 11:40 pm, our staff know this information, so we are going to make sure that they give it properly.

Our check out time is at 12 pm, after that time, we can considere our guests special requests or in a differente case, our rate is $15+taxes for every extra hour.

We are going to work in things we can fix in order to offer you a better service day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. This hotel has been the place we have stayed on our first night in Costa Rica and our last night in Costa Rica, always. It is clean, friendly and a great location. The have shuttle service to the airport and the people at the front desk are wonderful. There is a cute little gift shop inside also. There is also free breakfast in the mornings and open bar in the casino downstairs in the evening. We had a blast in the casino. There are always cabs available to go anywhere you would like. And behind the hotel is a small little shopping area with a small store and some restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear user:

We really appreciate your comment, and the fact that you choose us every time for your stay in Costa Rica.

We are glad to know that you get to enjoy all our benefits in every visit. It is always going to be our pleasure to have you back here, and make anything to give you the best experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.