We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Irazu to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Irazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall not bad but nothing spectacular either. As expected, basic rooms with typical amenities - the hot water took a long time to come on to the point that it seemed like it was not working but nope... just had to wait a little while. No big deal. The staff were helpful and even assisted us with weighing our luggage prior to going to the airport so we would know if our bags were over the weight limit.

Just know that there is really not much nearby... a few restaurants and a souvenir shop but I wouldn't want to walk too far by myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear user:

We appreciate your comment, and we are glad to know that our staff was able to asist you properly, we always try our best to satisfy our guests.

We are going to consider your opinion and work in giving a better service all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    166
    60
    32
    18
See reviews for
67
116
37
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was close to the airport, and the free shuttle was a great benefit. The free happy hour form 5-6 is not to be missed! I also liked the layout with the outdoor bar. Breakfast at Denny's was okay. The pool looked nice but we didn't end up using it as it wasn't warm enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your gentle comment.

It is great to know that you had a good time here and that you could take advantage of our benefits. We are going to be looking forward your next visit, and hopefully you will get to enjoy the pool this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we decided (a couple) to get to the hotel it was Bigll location, we saw the hotel offers a taxi service to the airport, when we asked at the service, they said that the service is until 17:00 it's not listed on their site, we also registered Bulletin that said the shuttel are all they if you ask, we asked the staff and they said only till 17:00, Breakfast was terrible and the price for late checkout $ 70 + $ 20 taxi, The room was fine and clean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear user:

We want to thank you for your feedback, and we offer a sincere apology if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay here.

Our shuttle is available everyday from 4 am to 11:40 pm, our staff know this information, so we are going to make sure that they give it properly.

Our check out time is at 12 pm, after that time, we can considere our guests special requests or in a differente case, our rate is $15+taxes for every extra hour.

We are going to work in things we can fix in order to offer you a better service day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. This hotel has been the place we have stayed on our first night in Costa Rica and our last night in Costa Rica, always. It is clean, friendly and a great location. The have shuttle service to the airport and the people at the front desk are wonderful. There is a cute little gift shop inside also. There is also free breakfast in the mornings and open bar in the casino downstairs in the evening. We had a blast in the casino. There are always cabs available to go anywhere you would like. And behind the hotel is a small little shopping area with a small store and some restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear user:

We really appreciate your comment, and the fact that you choose us every time for your stay in Costa Rica.

We are glad to know that you get to enjoy all our benefits in every visit. It is always going to be our pleasure to have you back here, and make anything to give you the best experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We Stayed a the Best Western on our way home for 1 night. The staff we very friendly and courteous. The hotel was very well maintained and neat. The grounds were beautiful, with a swimming pool and hot tub in the yard. As mentioned before there was only a Denny's for a restaurant at the hotel, that was where we had a very limited breakfast compliments of the hotel.
The gift shops were very over priced but the staff were helpful and not pushy. Our checkout was quick and uneventful, the shuttle to airport was clean and the driver attentive and willing to help with the baggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are going to work in the things that we can improve.

It is delightful to know that you received a good service, since that is out main goal and we will always do our best to make you as confortable as possible before, during, and after your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central america
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms and suites are spacious and the service is excellent....with beautiful and well kept up grounds. There are numerous decent restaurants within walking distance and free airport shuttle service is provided. With the location about halfway between the airport and the center of town. getting around by taxi or car is very convenient.
The service is first rate

Room Tip: Ask for available options
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear user:

We really appreciate your comment!

We are glad to know that you liked our facilities, location, and benefits, but mostly our service. Our biggest satisfation is to know that our guests are happy while staying here, and remember that this is always your home in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a decent hotel for staying when landing in San Jose before heading out to the real fun adventures in Costa Rica. The only food available is Dennys connected to the hotel, or a subway across the street. That, combined with spotty WIFI in the room is why I am giving this just an Average rating. On the plus side, the pool, hot tub, and workout room are great, the rooms are very clean, and overall the experience was a good one as not our primary hotel while adventuring outside of the city.

Room Tip: Choose an even numbered room to look out over the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

It is good to know that you had chance to enjoy our facilities, and your beautiful view to the pool and gardens. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Irazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.